[TUTORIAL] Disable auto boot on new Macbook Pros

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jessejarvi, Oct 30, 2016.

  1. jessejarvi, Oct 30, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016

    jessejarvi macrumors demi-god

    jessejarvi

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #1
    Disable boot on power source and boot on lid open by running this on terminal:

    sudo nvram AutoBoot=%00


    Enable it again by running

    sudo nvram AutoBoot=%03



    -----
    Feature removed by apple on latest firmware, doesn't work anymore.
    Bonus: Boot chime control
    sudo nvram BootAudio=%00
    sudo nvram BootAudio=%01


    More about the boot audio thing later.
     
  2. Marshall73 macrumors 6502a

    Marshall73

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
  3. jessejarvi thread starter macrumors demi-god

    jessejarvi

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #3
    Yep
     
  4. AdonisSMU macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #4
    Soo all that hollering and nashing of teeth for nothing.
     
  5. rockstarjoe macrumors 6502a

    rockstarjoe

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Location:
    washington dc
    #5
    You are a champ! I don't even own the new MBP but this will cheer up a lot of folks. Nice work.
     
  6. BentBird macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    #6
    I was wondering when I first read about this - was it only disabled on power on, but still occured on a restart?
     
  7. fs454 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles / Boston
    #7
    So you could theoretically enable the 2016 MBP behavior on other models?
     
  8. Marshall73 macrumors 6502a

    Marshall73

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    #8
    Going to be the first thing I do when my new pro arrives. Booooong!
     
  9. chrisrand macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    #9
    Have you actually tested this on a new MacBook?
     
  10. simonmet macrumors 6502a

    simonmet

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Location:
    Sydney, New South Wales
    #10
    How do you even know this? :):D

    Is there any way to patch in a new sound?
     
  11. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #11
    Thank you for posting that!!
     
  12. jessejarvi thread starter macrumors demi-god

    jessejarvi

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #12
    Probably no.

    Not possible to patch another sound.
    Permanent until nvram reset.
     
  13. Janichsan macrumors 6502a

    Janichsan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #13
    Short question for clarification: is my interpretation correct that the first of these commands disables the boot chime, while the second enables it?
     
  14. ncbetz macrumors 6502

    ncbetz

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    #14
    I have two questions:
    1. Could I enable AutoBoot on my older Mac?
    2. Can I have both the chime and AutoBoot on my new Mac?
     
  15. pshifrin macrumors 6502

    pshifrin

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #15
    I tried the audio commands and no "bong". Are we sure this works?
     
  16. jessejarvi thread starter macrumors demi-god

    jessejarvi

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #16
    What’s the build number of macOS you’re running?
    1. Propably no.
    2. Yes.
    Yes.
     
  17. pshifrin macrumors 6502

    pshifrin

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #17
    16B2657
     
  18. lobo1978 macrumors regular

    lobo1978

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    #18
    Oh man you spoiled a headline news with virtually all IT tech website - they are sooooo lame to not figure it out.

    You are champ!

    Kudos or should I say kiitos!

    You brought back, and I quote: "iconic Mac startup chime" - haters will be sooo disappointed.

    :p:D:p:D
     
  19. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
  20. Floris macrumors 68000

    Floris

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
  21. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #21
    Nice find, I don't need it because I ain't gonna get one of these but well done.

    Rhetorical Joke: What's the code to make the Apple Logo glow again? :p
     
  22. dk808 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    #22
    So how do you turn it on if there's no power button?
     
  23. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #23
    TouchID sensor also acts as a power button.
     
  24. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #24
    It turns on automatically when you open the lid.

    Ninja'd: I believe the right side of the OLED is also a power button.
     
  25. AceFernalld macrumors 65816

    AceFernalld

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #25
    Checking back in to say the chime isn't working for me either :(
    13" non-Touch MBP with build 16B2657
     

Share This Page