tvOS 11.2 beta

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Agent2015, Oct 30, 2017.

  1. Agent2015 macrumors 6502

    Agent2015

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Location:
    Sonoran Desert
    #1
    Apple just released tvOS 11.2 beta to developers. Among the fixes listed in the release notes (should make some people happy):

    - automatic mode switching to native frame rate and dynamic range of video content with Apple TV 4K

    - support for switching Apple TV 4K display output to SDR for apps that are GPU-bound when running in HDR

    Remember people, this is beta!
     
  2. Outdoordude01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
  3. mlabonte21 macrumors member

    mlabonte21

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    #3
    Sounds good!

    Am I understanding this right-- will this be true 24 hz for movies then?

    Will this effect Apple TV 4 as well?
     
  4. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
  5. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    I'd say we need proper audio passthrough, rather than decoding and re-encoding the audio every time. Proper audio passthrough would also pass through atmos, if your source has it, so that would work for you.
     
  6. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Of course. Atmos being metadata can't be sent as PCM. It has to have passthrough.
     
  7. Jayderek macrumors 6502

    Jayderek

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    100 times this. I'm happy the auto switching is available, but adding this for audio pass through would make this box pretty much perfect for me.
     
  8. oneMadRssn macrumors 68040

    oneMadRssn

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    Right. :)

    I don't Atmos speakers, and don't really have plans to get any anytime soon. But I would still like proper passthrough.
     
  9. Menel Suspended

    Menel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
  10. Broken Hope macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    #10
    Even works for Netflix, started a film up and it switched to 1080P 24.

    You have to set it to match HDR and Frame rate and verify the resolutions supported first in the video settings.
     
  11. Hanterdro macrumors regular

    Hanterdro

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #11
    How fast is the switching? Can you do a video please?
    Does it also switch the resolution? From 4k down to 1080 if the movie is only in HD?
     
  12. Broken Hope macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    #12
    It will switch as fast as your TV does, it just sends the signal to your TV at the resolution/colour depth it's programmed in rather than internally scaling everything to max resolution/HDR.
     
  13. WordMasterRice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #13
    Does it offer different settings for frame rate and HDR? My projector supports HDR but the picture is generally too dim so I end up turning it off, however I'd still like to have it automatically adjust frame rate.
     
  14. Broken Hope macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    #14
    Yes you can choose to match HDR/SDR or Framerate as 2 separate controls.
     
  15. WordMasterRice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #15
    Oh man, this is amazing. I really can't believe that Apple actually listened to this.
     
  16. JWort93 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    #16
    From what I have seen, yes it does. It looks like the Auto-Dynamic Range, and Auto-Frame Rate are separate settings.
     
  17. Solver macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #17
    The “What’s new” screen seems a little, blank
     
  18. Broken Hope macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    #18
    With them supporting Atmos in the future they will have to support proper bitstreaming, then all my complaints with the Apple TV will be gone.
     
  19. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #19
    What makes you say that? I’d have thought we’d just get the streaming friendly non-hd version of Dolby Atmos
     
  20. ZEEN0j macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #20
    Wow. Totally buying one now. My tv has judder free 24p via 60p support. But some apps get bad framerate drops for some reason when I have auto motion on but all sliders to 0. With this I can just let the Apple TV handle it. My biggest issue was the forced HDR on SDR content. It's funny, I was talking about this yesterday on how it was an issue. Great job apple
     
  21. WordMasterRice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #21
    It still requires bitstreaming because you can't send the Atmos metadata without bitstreaming.
     
  22. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #22
    Me too. I'd buy one and it would be able to replace 3 streaming devices I use now. Can't wait!
     
  23. andrewstirling macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #23
    Aww ok. Didn’t realise that.
     
  24. stringerhye macrumors 6502

    stringerhye

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #24
    I can't wait to try this as the public beta. When does that usually come out?
     
  25. Jayderek macrumors 6502

    Jayderek

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #25
    should be tomorrow or Wednesday worse case
     

Share This Page