Universal Clipboard Nightmare

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Lorenzo92_, Jan 6, 2017.

?

Universal Clipboard works well with your Mac / iPhone?

  1. Works well

    21 vote(s)
    42.9%
  2. Works sometimes

    13 vote(s)
    26.5%
  3. Works sometimes and hangs my iPhone during paste process.

    15 vote(s)
    30.6%
  1. Lorenzo92_ macrumors newbie

    Lorenzo92_

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #1
    Hi everyone,
    I have an iPhone 7 Plus, with the iOs 10.2: i'm a tech addicted, and also a technician.
    Ok, i have tried to use the universal clipboard, and.... really, wow, so bad implement function.

    In fact, the copy / paste function, works.... well, in my tests, 3 time of 10.
    The times that it works, when pressing the 'Paste' button, (copying from a Mac and paste to an iPhone) iOs will become unresponsive and hangs for at least 5-6 seconds. Also, sometimes it will hangs even before pressing the 'Paste' button.

    I have tried with a MacBook Pro late 2016, and with a MacBook Pro 2015 and with 3 different wifi network, by copying simple text.

    It's only me??
     
  2. TouchedByAl macrumors member

    TouchedByAl

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Location:
    Salt Lake City
  3. Lorenzo92_ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Lorenzo92_

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #3
    Today, i have restored my iPhone 7 Plus, and the same problems.
    It doesn't works, hangs the phone everytime.
     
  4. Samppaa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #4
    I haven't even got it to work at all, like not once.
     
  5. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
  6. CTHarrryH macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    #6
    Needed a category for never works - I got it to work once - one way but never again.
     
  7. Lappen71 macrumors regular

    Lappen71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
  8. Lorenzo92_ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Lorenzo92_

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #8
    How?
    Can you tell us your configuration?
     
  9. Mcmeowmers macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    #9
    Surprisingly it fixed handoff for me. Before handoff would only work if I was actively tethering a data connection. Universal Clipboard works all the time for me now as does handoff!
     
  10. twinlight macrumors 6502

    twinlight

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    #10
    I had forgotten about this feature. Tried it on my iPad and pasted on my iPhone. Worked fine.
     
  11. Lappen71 macrumors regular

    Lappen71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #11
    You don't need any specially configuration.
    Wifi on,BT on,logged in with your Apple ID on all your devices.
    It's very hard to look for what's wrong when there is no more settings.
     
  12. Lorenzo92_, Jan 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017

    Lorenzo92_ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Lorenzo92_

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #12
    sorry, i mean the hardware configuration.
     
  13. Lappen71 macrumors regular

    Lappen71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #13

    Aha :D

    iPhone 7+ ,MBPr 13" late 2014 ,iPad mini 4
     
  14. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #14
    I never used this feature. How to trigger it?

    And I guess the stuff you could copy and paste between iOS and Mac OS X is limited.

    Or I can say this feature never works for me. ;)
     
  15. twinlight macrumors 6502

    twinlight

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    #15
    I guess anything you can copy can move over to another device under your apple id. As long as its close by each other and within a short timeframe. No way that you copy something on your phone and your girlfriend pastes it on the ipad at home or your you trying four hours later on your mac...
     
  16. Lappen71 macrumors regular

    Lappen71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #16
    You copy paste of course :rolleyes:

    Images,videos,pdf-files work
     
  17. itsmilo macrumors 65816

    itsmilo

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2016
    Location:
    Europe
    #17
    Never even got Hand-Off to work nor did i really see a workcase for me. So to my surprise this doesnt work either ;)
     
  18. Lorenzo92_ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Lorenzo92_

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #18
    I think that maybe the problem is related to the Wi-Fi or router configuration..
    7 people here, has indicated that works well without problem..
    I have tried another Wifi today, and the same issue...

    I have three people here with an iPhone 7 and 7 Plus, and have the same problem..
    I'm asking how people here, are getting works without problems.
     
  19. iTom17 macrumors 6502a

    iTom17

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Location:
    Eindhoven, the Netherlands
    #19
    It worked flawlessly for me during the beta period of iOS 10.0 and macOS 10.12.0, but after that the problems started. Trying to paste something would hang my phone, and after waiting for a bit it does not paste anything. Then I try it again, but it would paste what I copied earlier on the phone itself.

    Fortunately this doesn't occur all the time: usually it just works, but sometimes, especially when I want to copy/paste text + images it doesn't. Very strange, but not too bad.
     
  20. Lorenzo92_ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Lorenzo92_

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #20
    Yes, it's the same problem that occurs to me, thanks for having explained well.
    We have to open a bugreport for Apple?
     
  21. bcave098 macrumors 6502

    bcave098

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Location:
    Northern British Columbia
    #21
    I've never used it before but tried it now. If I copy on my iPhone 6s, it will paste fine on my iMac (late 2013). But if I copy on my iMac, and try to paste right away my iPhone will freeze for about 20 seconds, then when it lets me paste it will only paste the last thing copied on the iPhone.
     
  22. Lorenzo92_ thread starter macrumors newbie

    Lorenzo92_

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    #22
    Is apple aware of this?
    Ps: same problem.
     
  23. ardchoille50 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    #23
    I've only tried using it twice and it worked as advertised on both occasions.
     
  24. Lappen71 macrumors regular

    Lappen71

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    #24
    How should he know? Please send feedback to them.

    http://www.apple.com/feedback/
     

Share This Page