All Devices Updated Apple Maps

Discussion in 'iOS 13' started by Aussi3, Jul 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #776
    That's what I've assumed, too, but figured I might as well give it one last shot. I know they have driven our area, as my daughter texted me excitedly when she saw the Apple mapping vehicle in front of the house. They have no excuse!
     
  2. CLS727 macrumors regular

    CLS727

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2018
    #777
    Hello, does the new maps have a developer API into the 3D lidar data? to export topography as a mesh?

    Google Maps does this currently but charges fees based on how much data you're extracting. And their 3d data sucks
     
  3. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #778
    To my knowledge, Apple has not yet made their 3D data generally available. Here is a link to the MapKit documentation on Developer.apple.com: https://developer.apple.com/documentation/mapkit#topics
     
  4. dany20mh macrumors member

    dany20mh

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Location:
    Gaithersburg
    #779
    I wish they would add traffic reporting to the map so you can report accident or traffic along the way.
     
  5. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #780
    ...and it doesn't even have to be that complicated. I'm still surprised even Waze doesn't offer "quick buttons" right on the map itself that you can tap easily when reporting a few things (traffic, car on shoulder, cop, etc.)

    Something less distracting than going into a second menu. I understand the detail is helpful, but most of the time, I'm okay just knowing there is a car on MY shoulder or a cop in the area (either side is irrelevant in most cases...hidden or not), and that there is traffic coming up (don't really need to know how fast it is moving all the time).
     
  6. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #781
    Or how about enabling a Shortcut called “report traffic incident” that you can do with Siri (with prompts for “stopped vehicle”, “hazard”, “police”, etc...?). That would be killer. By the way, you can do that with Waze now.
     
  7. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #782
    I know Waze has the “speak to report” thing...I’ve never tried it. I listen to my music too loud in my car. But Siri integration would be nice.

    Have it at least bring up the prompt and then one tap to submit it.
     
  8. G1Ravage macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Location:
    Queens, New York, USA
    #783
    Waze on CarPlay is lacking a bunch of functionality anyway. I e-mailed Waze recently, and they responded saying they were looking for ways to improve Waze on CarPlay.
     
  9. baihan8 macrumors member

    baihan8

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    Hacienda Heights, CA
    #784
    I'm having this weird thing with the split view where the maps alternates between the full route overview and a closer view. I've attached some screenshots from my commute this morning. The first three screenshots received no special input, the last screenshot was when I re-routed to a Starbucks.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. G1Ravage macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2018
    Location:
    Queens, New York, USA
    #785
    Once or twice in the past I experienced something similar. It only occurred if Apple Maps had zoomed out to show me a crash or other event ahead in my route, but then I made a turn or failed to select whether to stay on the current route or not. It would glitch out, and stay zoomed out unless I was about to make a turn or something. Hasn't happened in a while.
     
  11. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #786
    Yes, this happens when there is a marked hazard or construction ahead. Once you pass it, it zooms out again. I think your re-routing to Starbucks - which is a separate destination and presumably was close(r) by caused Maps to zoom in, just as it does even in Overview as you approach your destination.
     
  12. Alan Gordon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Location:
    Dawson, GA
    #787
    Here's a weird update to my story regarding one of the corrections I submitted:

    A DQ Grill & Chill opened up in my county in the past couple of weeks. The week before opening, I submitted a report (on 12.4 beta) to add it, and about a week and a half later (much slower than usual), they added it with the correct address, but in the wrong city, and on top of a pre-existing Dairy Queen in that city.

    I have yet to see a notification about it, but I noticed today that they have in fact moved the location of the DQ G&C I submitted to the correct city, but once again, instead of putting it where I positioned the location marker on the map, they put it in the wrong location. They put it on top of one of the governmental courthouse buildings.

    So far, none of my other corrections submitted, many of them on June 6th, have not been corrected.

    Though done last week, I submitted a correction for one restaurant that should have been mostly an easy fix, since it basically consisted of a name change and addition of hours, which I provided by a screenshot from their website. As it exists, one quick look at the name of the restaurant might make a person suspicious... at least the part about it being a "Meixcan" Cantina anyway. ;)


    My thinking is that they're probably busy working on corrections from New Mexico Westward, as I had been getting updates made within a few days instead of this long, and they were doing a much better job of it.

    Heck, I recently helped a bank employee make a very important correction via Apple Maps Connect on June 6th, and it took six days for them to update it on the Maps app, and they didn't add all the information she submitted.
     
  13. one more macrumors 6502a

    one more

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Location:
    Earth
    #788
    Apple could do it via voice (Hey Siri), so we would not even need to touch the phones.
     
  14. jmontana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #789
    Hey remember this one? I had to go there again yesterday. Checked Apple Maps and it gave me the correct directions! Cross-checked it against Google Maps and it was identical. Not sure when they updated it, but they did. I was never notified.
     
  15. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #790
    I check it regularly actually...hah...but was only seeing if they added the POI back...and they haven't as far as I can tell.

    Did you type in an address?
     
  16. jmontana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #791
    Yes, I used the direct address from my calendar appointment.
     
  17. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #792
    But the last time, did you do the same? I thought you picked the POI (which was placed in the wrong spot to begin with). Or did the appointment address somehow synch with the POI info and the POI won out?

    I just answered my own question...when I type in the address, Apple Maps still brings up the wrong location for the pin. The address must cross reference with the POI database so it can show the additional info associated with that. Even though we corrected it, this layer is still being updated...it happened with my NYC office as well.

    Pic below shows my marked favorite on the left (so I could check it) where the building actually is. On the right is the POI that popped up when I simply asked directions to the street address. Still in the wrong spot.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. jmontana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #793
    yeah I've always gone with the address. The good news is it no longer tries to route me via Duxbury Ct, through a ravine and the woods! :)
     
  19. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #794
    Yeah...the same thing happened to me. Physical address was updated but the marker remained in the incorrect location. But not for this long. I have to image it will be corrected fully with new Maps data.
     
  20. gwhizkids macrumors 601

    gwhizkids

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    #795
    Picking somebody up at JFK right now. The detail on the terminal interiors is incredible, right down to baggage claim locations. Is this new?
     
  21. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #796
    Not sure about JFK, but other airports I have checked have been incredibly detailed. Flying to Newark tomorrow.
     
  22. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #797
    Someone at Apple Maps is reading this thread...hah!

    Did my usual check of Maps to see if there was any expansion and checked “Coastway Bank” since it was still in my search (not the address).

    Look what came up as the POI...correct spot right at the front door!

    [​IMG]
     
  23. jmontana macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #798
    Nice! But shouldn't I have gotten a notification about it in Maps? That's the most frustrating part to me. I feel like when I submit reports, it's like a black hole.
     
  24. TotalMacMove macrumors 6502

    TotalMacMove

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Location:
    Texas
    #799
    I really wish my 4runner had car play after going through this thread
     
  25. MozMan68 macrumors 68030

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #800
    I got one for one I made a week ago a few days after...was a notification in the middle of the night. I just happened to notice it on my lock screen but would have missed it normally amongst my notifications.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page