upgrading from 1.1.3

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by shayne88, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. shayne88 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #1
    upgrading from 1.1.3
    I want to upgrade to the new software version but then it would need to be jail broken again is this possible is it even advisable .

    I am new to this and I know the phone is old but I don't see myself buying a new i phone I just want to be able to add some more applications.

    can some one be kind and sort of walk me through this.

    I have a desktop running win xp and phone version software is 1.1.3. model number a1203

    kind thanks in advance
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
  3. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    I thought I'd seen everything. That's worse than one of our ex-members who insisted on staying at 2.2.1.
     
  4. Abyssgh0st macrumors 68000

    Abyssgh0st

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    R.I.P. The Spaz

    And wow, 1.1.3? One of my ex girlfriends had 1.1.2 on her iPod Touch (like 6 months ago, bet she hasn't updated it) and I nearly feinted.
     
  5. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #5
    jeeze I know i must seem a dinosaur but I live in china and well some things just work that way . help help help being eaten by a dying regime
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    Lol :D
    I wonder if he had an old iphone 2G sitting there for years or if he really kept using it with 1.1.3 all this time without updating?
     
  7. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #7
    too be honest I have been using it this whole time with no idea it could be upgraded the guy I paid to jail break it when i bought it from the states said it was a huge no no so i never really gave it much thought. by the way iphones and the new Google phones to bu one here in china they add another two hundred usd to their selling price but you cant get all the functionality out of them due to the fact that their telecoms here is *****.

    by the way do any of you hear much information on the expo? just asking because I dont think many foreigners will attend.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Wow, finally someone that listened to the advice not to update or your will not be able to unlock or JB your device after a firmware update thru itunes:D
    This bro held out for years while others cant do it for days after an update is out and they "accidentally update" :D
    Good job man.
    With the iphone 2G things are alot simpler and easier now. Its hacked/pwned for life so you will always be able to JB and unlock it. Especially now that Apple stopped putting any more updates for it.
     
  9. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #9
    ya ya ya mock me if you must. :p

    another question for you all, once updated and broken will it automatically find the telecom my sim card is connected to?

    and thank you for your information.

    keep in mind i am behind the great firewall
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Yes, after you update the phone is going to have the itunes with the usb wire logo on the screen telling you to plug it in to activate.
    Shut off itunes and then run redsnow.
    On the option checklist select "install Cydia" and "unlock"
    Then once you're done with redsnow and the iphone restarts it will connect to your carrier like before with no probs.
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Ah the 2G days! I wish they were back with a hardware hack similar to the one the 2G has, jailbreakable at any point.
     
  12. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #12
    i hope the OP didn't put you on ignore, because you've answered all his questions. He's golden.
     
  13. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    My buddy list has grown to 3 people... aggie being one, now AppleJuiced
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Lol :D
    Thanks bro, you rule.
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    I hope not :D
     
  16. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #16
    you lot are a lot more helpful then the members over at modmyi.com :D funnier too
     
  17. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #17
    one more thing after following all the preceding steps and i want to add apps is it an easy thing to do ?
     
  18. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    Yes, just use Cydia to do so.
     
  19. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #19
    Yes, you can install cydia and itunes apps.
    Official itunes apps work fine on JB and unlocked iphones. You just sync thru itunes or download thru the appstore icon on your phone.
     
  20. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #20
    You guys and lady's are the best !

    thanks a lot in the process now hope it works and also hope it improves the call signal as ever since i have had this phone it has dropped calls or people cant here me perhaps its china telecom problem but have never had that problem with my nokias
     
  21. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #21
    Good luck bro.
    I never heard of signal problems on unlocked 2G iphones. Complains usually come with 3G and 3GS models unlocked with blacksnow.
    It most likelly has to do with your carrier.
    Let us know how it went.
     
  22. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #22
    damn it redsnow doesn't recognize the downloaded soft update ispw
     
  23. shayne88 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #23
    sorry for being so daft about this whole thing and I do really appreciate the help.

    now my phone doesn't work, pulling hair grinding teeth !! wringing hands
     
  24. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    When you download it off the site make sure when you save the file to end in .ipsw and not in zip format.
    iPhone1,2_3.1.3_7E18_Restore.ipsw for example.
    Redsnow will only recognize IPSW files.
     
  25. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #25
    Dont worry, calm down :D
     

Share This Page