Upgrading my Dual 500 Cube to GeForce 6200.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by appleish19, May 1, 2017.

  1. appleish19, May 1, 2017
    Last edited: May 1, 2017

    appleish19 macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #1
    Hey everyone so I ordered a GeForce 6200 based on several recommendations and lots of research for my Cube. Already have a dual 500 MHz mod. I'm looking to get some advice for keeping the VRM board cool and adding a fan. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction research wise flyrod

    I know the cube has a bracket or place for a fan just don't know the measurements.

    Any recommendations for the installation process of the card?

    This is an awesome forum and group of people. Even though I don't post as often as many of you I wanted to mention that.

    Edit not my auction just showing what I bought
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Hrududu macrumors 68020

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Central US
    #2
    The fan slot holds an 80mm fan and up to 25mm thick. I've seen those cards on eBay and long wondered how they do. Looking forward to hearing what you think about it.
     
  3. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #3
    Thanks so much on the fan. I'm thinking about getting a splitter for either the hard drive or video card for power.

    Apparently the video card is new old stock so I'm hopeful it will work well.
     
  4. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #4
    I dont recommend you buy off of these people not only is it much cheaper to buy a PC card and flash it your self. most sellers on eBay use ROMs whose creators specify state for them to not be used in such a commercial setting. the sellers are profiting off of someone else's work without that persons agreement/permission

    note the terms said here http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads
     
  5. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #5
    Didn't realize they were doing that. I will definitely watch out for that in the future. I do respect IP and stuff. Some people just don't care I guess. o_O
     
  6. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #6
  7. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #7
    Just pick up an old AGP PC and flash it your self... even if you factor in the cost of finding an AGP PC its still cheaper then buying a pre Flashed card off of one of those sellers

    also most AGP ATI cards can be flashed in a Mac without needing a PC :)
     
  8. Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #8
    Here is a good source for a complete guide on how to flash under Mac OS X and/or a PC. https://web.archive.org/web/2007110...eowner.com:80/forums/index.php?showtopic=8807
    Unfortunately the Forum is down and you can only search the site via thewebarchive - this place, cubeowner.com, had everything about it, including the installation of the card.

    I don't know if googling for cubeowner and 6200 installation will help...

    Here is the list of all saved cubeowner pages under thewaybackmachine https://web.archive.org/web/*/http://cubeowner.com/*

    There was a user, flyproductions, who even worked on geting new cards from the desktop G4s to work in Cubes, where a smaller version of the desktop cards existed for the PC, but the Mac ROM of the bigger version had to be changed for it.

    Here is a look at the partly clickable old knowledgebase of cubeowner.com https://web.archive.org/web/20160519052110/http://cubeowner.com/kbase_2/
     
  9. appleish19 thread starter macrumors regular

    appleish19

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    #9
    Really useful, thank you. :)
     
  10. JRDN macrumors member

    JRDN

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    #10
    I did end up buying one of these cards from the seller that you linked and have been using it successfully in a cube with no problems for some time now. I did have to remove the temperature sensor kext in leopard to not get a long hang when it boots though.

    Something else I noticed, when using DVI I could only get 1368x768 (something like that) but on VGA I could get 1080p.

    Tried my BFG 6200 and that exhibited the same behavior. Tried both in my Sawtooth and same thing. So, if you want 1080p you'll have to use VGA. Not an issue but it took me a bit to put it together. I tried installing ResX and another resolution changer and couldn't get higher output from DVI.

    I contemplated getting an AGP system to flash the card that needs it. I would also have to get a combo board AND a PCI graphics card to do it... In the end an OOB working 6200 is worth it for me.

    You will have to tape pins 3 and 11 to get it to work in your cube.
     
  11. Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
  12. flyrod macrumors 6502

    flyrod

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    #12
    I think that was the most extreme card that would fit in a cube. I think it was basically a 9800 built on a 9700 card. Then an upgraded and relocated VRM for power, and some cooling tricks too.

    Someone posted a while back that cubeowner was not down intentionally and that it would be back up. Doesn't look good though...
     

Share This Page