Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

r_stranger

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2019
Hello. I'm new to the iPad Pro, and I'm looking for an app that excels in vector illustration. I have Affinity Designer for MBP, and I do like it. However, I keep hearing how the iPad version is very buggy and crashes without saving work, so I hesitate to spend the $20.

Are there any worthy alternatives to this app? I do simple line drawings in an overall flat design. It's essential that I'm able to edit my pencil/pen nodes to transform curvature, etc. Also, I would need to be able to load an image on a separate layer so that I can trace it.

Any ideas or recommendations? If there is an alternative, hopefully it would also play well with Affinity desktop version. Maybe this is a long shot, we'll see. Thanks so much!

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Vectornator is a nice free app that also has a Mac version. Since it's free all you'll be spending is time if you try it out.

For demanding work, I do think you should probably just get Affinity actually. I've only heard positively about it also on iPad, and Affinity Photos works great on iPad Pro as well as macOS, but I have no experience with Design.

Vectornator is really quite nice though, and I've used it a fair bit for UI design.

There's also Adobe apps, but eh. Not really my cup of tea - I think Full Illustrator will be coming at some point though, similar to how they're doing Photoshop now, so that could be cool

r_stranger

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 26, 2019
Thanks casperes, for taking the time to reply. I'd never heard of Vectornator, and I'm glad you mentioned it. Certainly looks promising, and I'll spend some time with it once my Apple Pencil arrives.