Well.. Its August! Who's got their credit cards ready??

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jjahshik32, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #1
    Well its August 1 now! Whos getting geared up for the new Mac Pros?

    Personally, once the new Mac Pros are released, I'm going to head to the local Apple store to see what the discounts are on the Nehalem based Mac Pros.
     
  2. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A306 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Well we still have 8 more days to go, and thankfully the MP launch falls right after my next paycheck so I'm good to go!
     
  3. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I've been savin up for a while and can't wait!
     
  4. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #4
    I'm pretty much decided on the base quad core model. It will be my workstation for the next few years while I work on my BA (the real fun there starts January) and hopefully I'll be able to start doing paid work here in the next few months. I've been pinching pennies from a $9/hr job all year for this. Now all that is left is to see who will sell me 4x2GB of RAM the cheapest.
     
  5. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    OWC and TransIntl will be your best bet for cheap RAM. I think TransIntl may be a little cheaper, but if you do the OWC RAM rebate, it might end up being cheaper.
     
  6. keewe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #6
    gonna buy the 6 core machine (even if the price it over the octacore... -.-)

    still dont know that to do with the RAM. 2x8GB might be to expensive right now, but i dont waste the slots with 2x4.
     
  7. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #7
    Will the MP still work correctly if one were to mix up RAM modules by different vendors? For example, having 2x8GB via Apple, and then later adding 2x8GB by OWC?
     
  8. tmricks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Location:
    Louisiana, United States
    #8
    Once as I sell my PC then I have my eyes set on the quad core. I am probably going to do what jjahshik32 is doing and look into the prices of the Nehalem Mac Pros.
     
  9. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #9
    Not if you match the specs.
     
  10. strausd macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    #10
    From OWC:

    OWC p/n OWC8566D3MPE8GB 8GB modules require that all installed modules be of this same matching part.

    Sounds to me like, at least for the 8GB module, it has to be from OWC. And I'm pretty sure its the same thing for the 4GB.
     
  11. odinsride macrumors 65816

    odinsride

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    #11
    Have cash in hand to buy a 6 core...just counting down the days
     
  12. RubbishBBspeed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    #12
    I'm waiting for my tight ass boss to stop walking with a squeak and release the lump of coal that by now must have turned into a diamond and sign my purchase order for my new Mac Pro and two screens.
     
  13. trankdart macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
    #13
    6-core ASAP

    I too am clicking on an order for a BTO 6-core as fast as I can when the online store starts taking orders, and I too will do so even if it's priced with diabolical evil, as I expect it will be. I just hope they don't get so backed up in China with 6-core MP orders that it takes weeks to ship.

    I have my vanishing last-of-its-kind developer discount to apply...it expires in December and they ain't selling them any more. It's worth $500 off the current MP. If they make it worth less (or make it worthless) on the new ones, I'll make my displeasure known, but I don't see they have any reason to do that (even though I was somewhat surprised to see that the developer discount was $0 on the iPad, which was not released until after Apple had stopped selling developer memberships to the public).

    Then I'll pull the cards and extra drives out of my venerable (but fully operational) early 2006 MP 1,1 and recycle it for however many gift-card pennies Apple's junk dealer will give me for it. It's not worth hassling with ebay.
     
  14. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #14
    That's what I've read too.

    But seriously, can anyone truly confirm this?

    Edit: Sorry, I don't mean to hijack this thread but I need to make sure I don't needlessly waste money on RAM when the Mac Pro arrives. Anyway, I think I found a good enough confirmation by other users at Apple's own discussion forums:

    http://discussions.info.apple.com/message.jspa?messageID=9506388

    Seems like you really can't mix vendor specific RAM modules. However, I'm glad to learn that OWC actually offers a rebate for trading in your Apple OEM RAM, which is quite nice. I'll definitely be getting rid of my 3GB Apple ram right away! :)

    For those interested and not in the know, heres the link to OWC's trade in rebate offers page:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/trade-in-rebate

    Edit 2: Maybe I'm being hasty about the rebates though. Is it correct that Apple will not cover your machine under warranty if it is not using the original Apple RAM? If so, then perhaps its not a good idea to trade in your RAM afterall...
     
  15. Block macrumors 6502a

    Block

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #15
    Mac Pro is coming at the wrong time for me :( should have delayed it another few months!
     
  16. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #16
    boooo!!! *hissssss* boooo!
     
  17. ValSalva macrumors 68040

    ValSalva

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Burpelson AFB
    #17
    So it's available for preorder on the 9th. I wonder if the rumored iLife '11 will be preinstalled. I'm sure the majority of Pro users don't use most of those apps but it would still be nice to have.
     
  18. apolloa macrumors G3

    apolloa

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Location:
    Time, because it rules EVERYTHING!
    #18
    Not that I will buy one anyway, but I couldn't as I have FINALLY got my iPhone 4!!!!!! woooohoooooo, AND I LOVE IT.... sorry, I'm excited.

    I thought I heard pre-orders start tomorrow?? I've been eyeing up that Core i5 iMac 21".... hmmm, really should control myself as my laptop is only a month or so old!
     
  19. chrono1081 macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #19
    MMMMMMEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!

    Its going to be like Christmas on August 9th! Not only does the new ZBrush come out but I'll be ordering my Mac Pro :D
     
  20. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    I have to wait til September so I can purchase the 27" cinema display with it.
     
  21. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #21
    I'm ready to purchase the 5870 if it is available on the 9th.
     
  22. parakiet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    #22
    i have it rdy..

    ..but for a great hackintosh

    if everything goes terribly wrong that great box will become a win7 machine with only cs5 :eek:
     
  23. sOid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    #23
    Why the 9th? I thought Apple didn't announce a specific date?

    Anyway, my credit card is polished and ready!
     
  24. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #24
  25. jamesedward macrumors member

    jamesedward

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #25
    I'm in!

    Cash money, ready..

    I have a budget of £2500 for the desktop. i was looking at the quad core, I think any different will be far to much. But given the estimated £560 for upgrading what and where would you spend it on?

    I was thinking memory, but not sure where from? needs to be uk.

    and graphics card.

    any thoughts??
     

Share This Page