What are the options for 10GbE on Mac Pros?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pastrychef, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. PowerMac84 macrumors newbie

    PowerMac84

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #51
    SmallTree drivers together with hacked Intel x520 or x540 cards (Dell or original Intel) are working fine with High Sierra. By the way AMD 570/580 are also natively supported by High Sierra. Feels like a better Mac now. Everything just working after upgrading to High Sierra. Less hacking.
     
  2. fivesunnydays macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    #52
    Does anyone know of a 10GBE base-t (RJ45) rather then fibre card by solar flare i can try in an old mac pro? I dont fancy hacking an intel card quite just yet!
     
  3. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #53
    If you don’t want to hack an Intel card you could just buy a SmallTree card from them directly. It’s essentialy an Intel card with official Mac support.
     
  4. fivesunnydays macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2017
    #54
    Im looking for a SolarFlare second hand as do not want to pay outrageous amounts
     
  5. Squuiid, Nov 21, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2017

    Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #55
    I'd still say that hacking an Intel then is your best bet. SolarFlare don't seem to cater to Mac any longer.
    From the rather dated, but unfortunately latest, SolarFlare macOS driver:
    https://support.solarflare.com/index.php/component/cognidox/?view=categories&id=1795

    Solarflare 3.3 Mac OS X driver package - 21 November 2013
    ======================================
    Package Version: v3.3.4.6349

    Overview
    --------

    This is the Solarflare 3.3 Mac OS X driver installation package for
    Solarflare Server Adapters.

    Supported hardware platforms
    ----------------------------

    The drivers, utilities and applications contained in this package
    support the following adapters:

    - Solarflare Onload server adapters:
    - Solarstorm SFN4112F SFP+ Server Adapter
    - Solarstorm SFN5111T 10GBASE-T Server Adapter
    - Solarstorm SFN5112F SFP+ Server Adapter
    - Solarstorm SFN5121T 10GBASE-T Server Adapter
    - Solarstorm SFN5122F SFP+ Server Adapter
    - Solarflare SFN5322F SFP+ Precision Time Synchronization Server
    Adapter
    - Solarflare SFN6122F SFP+ Server Adapter
    - Solarflare SFN6322F SFP+ Precision Time Synchronization Server
    Adapter

    - Solarflare Performant server adapters:
    - Solarstorm SFN5151T 10GBASE-T Server Adapter
    - Solarstorm SFN5152F SFP+ Server Adapter
    - Solarstorm SFN5161T 10GBASE-T Server Adapter
    - Solarstorm SFN5162F SFP+ Server Adapter
     
  6. Kris Kelvin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    #56
    Another option is to go for a NIC from Chelsio. They are high quality, there's usually a few affordable ones on eBay and Chelsio provides fairly mature macOS drivers (including for High Sierra). Supported cards in the most recent driver (1.16.45b1 from October 2017):

    T6 Adapters
    -----------

    - T6225-CR
    - T6225-LL-CR
    - T6225-SO-CR

    T5 Adapters
    -----------

    - T580-CR
    - T580-SO-CR
    - T580-LP-CR
    - T520-LL-CR
    - T520-SO-CR
    - T520-CR
    - T520-BT
    - T540-CR

    T4 Adapters
    -----------

    - T420-CR
    - T440-CR
    - T404-BT
    - T422-CR
    - T420-SO-CR
    - T420-LL-CR
    - T440-LP-CR
    - T420-CX

    T3 Adapters
    -----------

    - N310E
    - N310E-CXA
    - N320E-GEN2
    - S310E-SR
    - S310E-SR+
    - S310E-CXA
    - S310E-CR
    - N320E-CXA*
    - S320E-CR*
    - S320E-LP-CR*
    - S302E*
    - S320E-CXA*

    *Only port 0 (first port) supported.
     
  7. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #57
    Doesn't Sonnet Tech make these cards for the Mac Pro?
     
  8. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
  9. connorpb7 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #59
    There are plenty of the solarflare cards on ebay (sfp+) for $55 or less. I have one in an Akitio Thunder2 PCIe Box and it works very well with the solarflare drivers. I'd imagine as others have said that their 10GBASE-T cards work great too.
     
  10. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #60
    I haven't tested any of the RJ45 10GbE cards because I'm not sure if my NAS has built-in driver support for them. Plus, the SolarFlare card has been working great since day one and I don't have any need to replace it. As a matter of fact, I got another one and installed it in to a second hackintosh.

    The drivers are old but they continue to work fine in High Sierra. I don't imaging that NIC drivers need much updating.
     
  11. slynn1324 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    #61
    Could you tell me what you are using for a dac / sfp+ transceivers with your solarflare card? I picked up the same one on eBay and some transceivers from fs.com and can’t seem to get a link on the card - not in the network settings or the light on the card. The switch end of the cable shows a link. I tried the card in a Linux server to the same results. Both Mac OS and Linux find the card and the diagnostic utilities work - but just shows cable unplugged - making me think the card is not liking the transceivers I have. Any guidance is much appreciated. Thanks!
     
  12. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #62
    Hi.

    I just picked up some pre-made Cisco SFP+ twinax cables from eBay for cheap...

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/SFP-H10GB-...272588&hash=item41ac1ca3ce:g:AgMAAOSwqrZa4Lot
     
  13. Solarex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    #63
    @pastrychef
    Thanks for sharing your information! I arrived to this thread when I was Googling for a 10Gb solution to direct-connect my Mac/Hackintosh to a FreeNAS I'm building. Do you need a special crossover cable to directly connect two computers without a switch (similar to RJ45 crossover cable)?
     
  14. pastrychef thread starter macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #64
    No, I just used a standard twinax cable. Something like:
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Cisco-Genu...673198&hash=item43e011be91:g:yl0AAOSwNgdZnveL
     
  15. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #65

Share This Page