What do you do to keep your relationship strong?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by mscriv, Feb 24, 2010.

1. mscriv macrumors 601

mscriv

For those of you that don't already know or haven't read my signature, I'm a professional counselor and love doing marriage and relationship counseling. So, with that in mind I thought I would ask the following question. What are some of the things you and your partner do to keep your relationship healthy and strong? I think it's fascinating, educational, and inspirational to hear what individuals do for each other or what couples do together that helps maintain their relationship. Please don't be shy and know that there is no good or bad answer, it's your relationship not someone else's.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

One of the things my wife and I try to do consistently is keep the lines of communication going and be intentional about making a good portion of that communication genuine and positive praise for each other. The advent of texting has made this much easier in that we can bounce affectionate and loving messages to each other at random times of the day for no specific reason other than seeking to encourage, support, or express emotion to each other. A new thing we recently started is that I send her a daily email during the work week, so 5 of 7 days a week. This email is simply a list of characteristics/qualities about her that I love and appreciate. It's the same email every day with just something new added to the list and a brief explanation or commentary about it. The email is always entitled "What I love about you" and so far I've been consistent for almost a month now. If this sounds confusing, then here's an example. Number 17 on the list is: