What is everyones job?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by tktaylor1, Apr 4, 2011.

1. tktaylor1 macrumors 6502a

tktaylor1

I am a freshman in college and this morning I was talking with one of friends about majors and I decided to change mine. I wanted to be a nurse since pretty much middle school. I know I won't be happy being in the medical field. I am just trying to get some ideas. I know I might want to do something in the technology field, I don't know. Can you list your job and what exactly you do. I don't care that much about the salary. Thanks

2. macquariumguy macrumors 6502a

I'm a developer. For the last 12 years I've been coding policy administration systems for an insurance company.

3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Many people who major in something don't wind up doing anything related to their degree. I know for a long time I did not, then I did and now I'm technically not. Point being is if you want to do something in technology or design I think the degree matters. In other words, I don't know many graphic designers that majored in biology. (no debate on whether formal education matters as a whole).

What do you want to do with computers? Programing? sell them at Best Buy? Fix them?

4. imaketouchtheme macrumors 65816

Nice. I did that for a while; now I sell phones at Best Buy. :D

5. tktaylor1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

tktaylor1

I really want to be a graphic designer but I am scared to go down that road. I know I don't want to sell them at Best Buy.

6. 7on macrumors 601

7on

I'm a graphic designer.

Be prepared to sell your soul and push pixels. That's all companies want nowadays. They don't hire you for your design expertise, they want to point at the screen and bark orders at you. Anytime you have a unique idea that you know would boost the brand, you always get a higher up that thinks it should have more marquees and blinking text. Or worse, glossy buttons and aqua ui circa 2003.