What was the first Apple product that people started lining up for?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by dontwalkhand, Aug 5, 2012.

1. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

dontwalkhand

So what is the first Apple product that people started standing in line for? I kind of vaguely remember that even before the iPhone people stood in line for iPods, but for some reason it just doesn't sound right, I don't exactly remember iPods being THAT popular.

I've been using iPhones since 2007, iPods since 2003, and Macs since even before that.

2. Weaselboy Moderator

Weaselboy

Staff Member

The first product I can remember that really generated lines was the first iPhone. If there were lines for iPods, I never saw them (not saying it did not happen).

3. rockyroad55 macrumors 601

rockyroad55

I want to say iPhone since that was the product that really stunned a lot of people.

4. wvuwhat macrumors 65816

wvuwhat

My first Apple product I bought was the first iPhone.

There were lines at the Tyson's Corner store.

I went in wanting the phone and ended up walking out with a laptop and iPhone.

Before that, I couldn't speculate.

5. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

I'm pretty sure it was the first iPhone. I don't remember hearing about lines for any other products before that. Also I think the iPhone was one of the first apple products to be announced more than a couple days before it was available which probably contributed to the lines since more people were able to know about the release date without sitting on sites like macrumors all day.

6. Huntn macrumors G5

Huntn

7. fireshot91 macrumors 601

fireshot91

That there were.

I remember the first being the iPhone. I have no idea before that.

8. ixodes macrumors 601

ixodes

I don't give a flip... those are some crazy people standing in line :)

Apple provides us with a world class online store with the best ordering and shipping service.

Why people stand in line, reveals a lot about them. :eek: