Why Apple Should Be Scared

Discussion in 'iPad' started by zenio, Feb 4, 2011.

1. zenio macrumors 6502

Here's what Fortune is saying, about Androids Superiority over the Very Limited iPad.

"Why Android Honeycomb should have Apple scared"

" it's not until you actually see Honeycomb up close and play with it on a device like Motorola's Xoom that you realize just how limited the iPad experience remains "

http://is.gd/o9ayFV

2. ConnorTurnbull macrumors 6502

I'm a writer for iPhone.AppStorm and I recently finished an article on just this topic. Honeycomb is excellent but I reckon Apple has some good things for iOS 5: widgets are a must if they want to really compete.

3. Androidpwns macrumors regular

I wonder if certain sites will appeal to Google to have Fortune's own comments on Honeycomb to be taken down? After all... doesn't it border on trolling? ;)

4. sracer macrumors 603

sracer

I don't see why the tablet form-factor will be any different than the smartphone arena. Apple's iPhone UI has always been far more limiting than Android's. But that hasn't stopped the growth of iPhone sales. Apple has promised this same limited UI to be available on their notebooks/desktops.

The iPod lagged in features when measured against offerings from established companies. That too didn't seem to hurt iPod sales.

People don't primarily buy Apple products because of the spec-sheet... but because of the whole package of what they offer.

I suspect that Apple was scared at how well the iPhone took off but how hampered sales were due to AT&T-exclusivity. They had to sit and wait for the clock to wind down while Android handsets were able to be sold without such limitation.

If the currently available Android tablets are any indication, it appears that Android tablets can only be competitively priced against the iPad if they are tied to a data plan contract.

5. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member