Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

spinedoc77

macrumors G4
Original poster
Jun 11, 2009
These forums have always been a bit on the slow side, especially after the white on off white re-theming that happened several months ago. But for the past 2-3 weeks it's been simply awful. When loading a new forum page I get waits of 5-10 seconds sometimes. The page will look like its fully loaded, but then just sit there for several seconds.

This is consistent with every time I load a page, reply to a post, go to a different page of a thread, etc. My suspicion is the wait time is from ads being loaded, but I'm not tech savvy where I can investigate that.

This is on the latest edition of Chrome, IE11, and Edge browser tested on a surface pro 3, surface pro 4, my home desktop with an i5, a couple of my work PC's and a couple of atom tablets.

Please tell me this is a work in progress or a known bug. The forums are bordering on being unusable they are so slow. I'll help in any way I can if you need any logs or to test my setup.

Edit: I also wanted to add that responding to posts is awfully slow. Specifically typing and editing inside the response box is very slow and lags very badly. This is in addition to the slow loading of the forums.

Reactions: Peter K.

Cancelled
Jul 12, 2016
I have noticed this as well, specifically on my iMac and MacBook Pro, which Safari is my preference. However, my iPhone SE has had little issues on wifi and LTE.

Eric5h5

macrumors 68020
Dec 9, 2004
It's all fine here. No lag with typing, no waiting when loading forum pages. Primarily using Safari. Note that my internet speed is pretty bad, but the forums are mostly text so it's not much of an issue.

--Eric

Peter K.

macrumors 6502a
Nov 6, 2012
Philly / SoCal / Jersey Shore