Why does iOS 8 require 5.7 GB of storage?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Italianblend, Sep 17, 2014.

  1. Italianblend macrumors 68000

    Italianblend

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Fatima
    #1
    That seems like an awful lot...

    my phone is only 16 GB ...
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Bugeyeblue macrumors 6502a

    Bugeyeblue

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #2
    Mine says it needs 4.6 for OTA. either way, that's just lame.
     
  3. rustedrobot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    #3
    yeah, makes me think i'll just skip on this update. i'll have my 6 on friday no biggie
     
  4. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #4
    It's used for installation. Unpacking files etc. You regain the space after.

    Install using iTunes instead.
     
  5. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #5
    I usually take my music off and then resync it. That's 5gb right there that's easy to gain. Or offload photos onto your computer.
     
  6. odditie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #6
    I deleted 12 apps this morning to get myself over 3 GB free in preperation of it, then ended up having to quickly delete 19 more to get myself to the 4.6 GB. I feel bad for anyone who needs 5.7 GB and is on a 16 GB iPhone. That seems tough.
     
  7. Lindsford macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #7
    I was thinking about people with 8gb iPhone 5C's lol.:eek::eek::eek::eek:
     
  8. shenfrey macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
  9. TacticalDesire macrumors 68020

    TacticalDesire

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Michigan
    #9
    I just had to delete Word, Excel, Powerpoint and as few other apps to get myself to the 4.7 that I need.
     
  10. odditie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #10
    I imagine that's not even possible for them...the OS takes a portion, plus 8 GB isn't really 8.0 GB of space when you adjust for bits/bytes
     
  11. iosuser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #11
    On my iPad Air, it says it needs *6.9GB* free to install. Does Apple randomly pick a number of available storage before it lets you install or what :rolleyes:
     
  12. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Downloaded Update + Unpacked Update + Backup of existing OS = 5.7GB
     
  13. Lindsford macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    #13
    Yeah id imagine a couple gbs free after everything said and done
     
  14. EldonChew macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    Use iTunes
     
  15. sviato macrumors 68020

    sviato

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Location:
    HR 9038 A
    #15
    Seems that 5.7GB are needed during the install/unpacking the update. The actual update will add the 1.1GB to your OS size, which on the 5s, seems like it will take up 4.3GB of space - not nice for "16GB" phones :rolleyes:
     
  16. andyw715 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
  17. The Doctor11 macrumors 603

    The Doctor11

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Location:
    New York
  18. lke macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #18
    My iphone 5S 64GB wants 6.8GB to install ios8

    Maybe it will be better to wait for my iphone 6 128GB to have ios8
     
  19. RyanG macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    #19
    why are people so against just using iTunes to update it? problem solved.
     
  20. thomasanderson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #20
    Interesting that there's an ongoing debate about how Apple is shafting it's customers by still selling 16gb iPhones as the base model, & they continuously release software updates that take up more & more space. Classic.
     
  21. APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #21

    It only needed 4.6GB to install on my 5c. And when it was done I was left with roughly the same amount of free space.
     
  22. Bugeyeblue macrumors 6502a

    Bugeyeblue

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    #22
    For me- my computer is an old dog, and I can't even get to it until I get home. Doing it OTA at work would be so nice.

    Edit- actually, I don't think I even have 100mb free on my computer. I'll have to reset my phone, download the update, and restore using iCloud wirelessly.
     
  23. EJ8 macrumors 6502a

    EJ8

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    #23
    Well for me when I go to iTunes and click on "Check for Update" it says I am already on the latest OS - which happens to be iOS 8 b5. I guess I can download the update file and force it but I am remote and that isn't as easy as it seems at the moment.
     
  24. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    That's what I had to do as well due to space on my iPad. Worked ok though.
     
  25. WhiteHawk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #25
    Well, my iPhone 5 and iPad Air updated fine through iTunes on my Mac, few server errors but got it much easier than in the past, and my father's iPhone on PC was fine, but my mother's on the same PC gave an unknown error and got stuck, so had to do a full restore from the back up I'd just done. :roll eyes:

    Had to remove some stuff to get it to install on my mothers phone even through iTunes as there was no room, told her have 8GB wasn't enough.
     

Share This Page