iPhone X Why dual lenses since iPhone X use only one lens?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by mavericks7913, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. mavericks7913 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Idk if iPhone XR do the same thing but in the photo mode, it uses only one lens! I covered the bottom one and yet if I zoom in, it zooms digitally. What??? Really??? In video mode, it uses both lenses perfectly. Any idea why?
     
  2. Shanghaichica macrumors G3

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    It only uses the telephoto lens if there is enough light. If it feels there isn't enough light it will use the main lens. You can download an app like metapho which will let you see which lens was used for taking your pictures.
     
  3. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #3
    It seems that most people who mention that an iPhone X has a better camera because it has 2 lens are unaware of this situation. They think they’re using the 2nd lens when in reality most of the time they’re not.
     
  4. Shanghaichica macrumors G3

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Photography is all about lighting no mater what camera you use. It’s about lighting and framing a shot. I’d rather have a second lens and have the ability to get better shots in the correct conditions than be limited to a single lens.
     
  5. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #5
    I’m not arguing that having a 2nd lens is a bad thing I’m just saying that in reality the people who area saying a 2nd lens on an iPhone takes better pics are actually getting the same pics, or worse due to a smaller camera sensor, as they would with an iPhone XR.
     
  6. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68020

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    And when situations permit the use of the second lense they’re getting better pics..
     
  7. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #7
    Regarding the point of the OP how can you confirm when using the stock camera app that you’re actually using the 2nd lens?

    I’m in agreement with you but what’s the point of a 2nd lens when you can’t use it when you’d want to?
     
  8. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68020

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    I use a 3rd party camera app as well as the native app
     
  9. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #9
    I use a 3rd party app also to confirm I’m actually using the 2nd lens but how can you actually confirm you’re using the 2nd lens with the stock camera app. Tapping 2x doesn’t actually confirm you’re using the 2nd lens.
     
  10. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68020

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #10
    I agree, it would be nice if you could control which lense is used
     
  11. Shanghaichica macrumors G3

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    Metapho will tell you which lens was used for each picture but obviously that is only after the picture was taken.
     
  12. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #12
    And so that goes back to my original post stating that most posts about the 2nd lens making the x a better camera seem unaware that in the stock app they’re not even using the 2nd lens in many cases.
     
  13. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68020

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #13
    If the lighting is not great I always assume I’m using one lense. Outdoor pics with plenty of sunshine I’d expect to be using the 2nd lense. Not very scientific, I know..
     
  14. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #14
    I switched to an x from the 7plus specifically for the 2nd lens with OIS but after finding out that in many situations I won’t actully be using the 2nd lens unless I use a 3rd party app it made me realize how important that 2nd lens actually was to me.

    I feel like the average user won’t care about actually using the 2nd lens as they do about having a 2nd lens on the spec sheet
    --- Post Merged, Jan 10, 2019 ---
    I guess what I’m trying to say is the stock IOS camera app has a lot of room for improvement lol.

    Ideally they’d add extensions to the actual picture taking experience using third party apps like “lens” similar to hownin iMessage you can use extensions for added functionality.
     
  15. JPack macrumors 68040

    JPack

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #15
    You can't confirm or force the use of the telephoto lens in the stock camera app.

    Apple wants users to trust the Camera app to take the best photo, whether it decides to zoom in digitally or optically. The other part is probably marketing. Consumers believing the phone takes better photos simply because it has a second camera is pretty important. Notifying the user the telephoto lens isn't used indoors much of the time breaks that illusion.
     
  16. Sirious macrumors 65816

    Sirious

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    Interesting. Thanks for the info. I was wondering about what the conditions for the second lens were - and the app is great!
     
  17. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #17
    Would I have to launch that app every time I wanted to for sure know I’m using the 2nd lens?
     
  18. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #18
    Not true. I went outside on a sunny day and yet in photo mode, it uses only one lens with digital zoom. Can you explain it?
     
  19. Shanghaichica macrumors G3

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    The phone probably didn’t think it was favourable to use the the telephoto lens. Generally it’s about light but I have thousands of photos that were taken using the second lens so it does work.
     
  20. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #20
    Then what's the point of making 50mm F2.8 lens for? If I cant use it, that's not good then.
     
  21. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #21
    Exactly. It’s not that you can’t use the 2nd lens it’s that there’s no way to confirm you’re using it without using a 3rd party app.
     
  22. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #22
    Didnt think? Really? Why dont you go outside and then cover the bottom lens while you zoom? The light is subjective that I can just use the bright monitor or indoor light.
     
  23. eyeseeyou macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    #23
    I personally use halide or the moment app or camera + when I know for sure I’ll need the 2nd lens.
     
  24. mavericks7913 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2014
    Location:
    NY
    #24
    Using a third party app is BS. Only the camera app that Apple provide allow me to use it directly without log in.
     
  25. achappy macrumors member

    achappy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2017
    #25
    I have an X and previously had a 7+. My X uses the 2nd camera in far more instances than the 7+ did. I compared the two in several instances before I sold the 7+. I don't know if it's because of OIS or just an improved sensor in the X.

    I have over a 500 pictures taken with the 2nd lens (confirmed via a smart Album in iTunes). I also periodically verify by covering the lens. I have several 3rd party camera apps but I don't use them since I prefer the stock app.

    For me, the X uses the 2nd lens most of the time as long as the lighting is good.
     

Share This Page