Why Macbook Pro 2018 consuming so much RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Orgildinho, Nov 22, 2018.

  1. Orgildinho macrumors newbie

    Orgildinho

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    #1
    Hi, how should I run my MacBook pro smoothly? I used to have Mid 2011 Macbook pro, lately, that Mac got very slow when I work on Lightroom (especially when was using the adjustment brushes). So I just updated it to Macbook Pro 2018, I see it fast but not what I expected. I don't understand why 40% of my ram is working when the Macbook pro is only running the Safari. Even when it is idle still consumes 30% of my ram.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    The more RAM you have, the more MacOS will use to improve performance. As long as the memory pressure isn’t high and the system isn’t paging to disk, that’s fine.
     
  3. 1096bimu macrumors 6502

    1096bimu

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    #3
    Because empty RAM just sitting there does not benefit you in any way.
    Monitoring your RAM usages is just senseless, you can't really draw any conclusions from such information.
    Also adjustment brush isn't helped at all by RAM.
     
  4. leman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #4
    As already said above, just looking at RAM usage is pointless. What is more relevant to use as the user is the memory pressure graph. If its green or occasionally yellow, you are fine. If it starts getting red, thats when you know you have not enough RAM.
     
  5. Tommy c macrumors 6502

    Tommy c

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Location:
    Pocono PA
    #5
    Yea, I learned this as well. Memory pressure.
     
  6. Trebuin macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #6
    At least Apple does that right. Microsoft messed that up royally with Vista. Their script would run during the boot & the boot process wouldn't complete until the ram was filled. :|
     
  7. RobbieTT macrumors 6502

    RobbieTT

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    You probably meant this but to be clear, a small amount of paging to disk is also fine. MacOS is very good at maximising memory performance and space when using 'unused' RAM for caching purposes it can hold the data that it may need quickly in RAM, whilst paging-out the associated/subsequent data that would not benefit from the speed. In that way the OS can optimise the performance of the 'unused' RAM in a similar fashion to the in-use memory.

    Most of us were introduced to the necessary evil of page-outs in the days of anemic RAM capacities, dubious multitasking and slow HDDs. With even closed applications making use of the purgable RAM cache on a just-in-case basis and multi-gigabit SSD speeds becoming more common, the humble page-out is not what it was.
     
  8. pshufd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #8
    I remember that. They did eventually fix it.
     
  9. OriginalClone macrumors 6502

    OriginalClone

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    #9
    What does Vista have to do with Microsoft’s current OS or the current Mac OS?
     
  10. AustinIllini macrumors demi-goddess

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #10
    Vista and macOS both use/used RAM in an unexpected way for those accustomed to Windows 7-10. Of course, macOS is doing it purposefully and Vista was just broken.
     
  11. Trebuin macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Central Cali
    #11
    It’s was actually intentional for Microsoft...they just didn’t understand the impact it would have on higher end systems.
     

Share This Page

10 November 22, 2018