WiFi connected however I get a "there is no internet connection message"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Krenar, Aug 28, 2016.

  1. Krenar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    #1
    Hey guys, I've got a 15" MacBook Pro mid 2012, running OS X Yosemite.

    I have recently had an issue using WiFi on this MacBook, it will connect with a network, and have either full bars or 3 bars, however it will still give me a message of no internet?

    If I connect to the same WiFi in the same place with a phone the WiFi works perfectly however the MacBook will only work if I'm a metre away from the router and this is very annoying as you could imagine.

    Would love to have some kind of feedback from you knowledgeable people and see what the issue could be!

    Hope to hear from someone soon!
    Have a good day
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    Have you tried the basics? Ie delete the connection and reconnect?
     
  3. Krenar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    #3
    Yeah I've tried these, still no luck sadly!
     
  4. VAGDesign macrumors 6502

    VAGDesign

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Location:
    Greece
    #4
    Google PRAM reset and try it. Most of the times this solves the problem.
     
  5. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #5
    Have you tried making a new admin account and trying to connect (do not sign into iCloud on this account)

    Doing this will tell you if it's software or hardware related
     
  6. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    Just as a test (nothing more), can you use an Ethernet connection to your router to see if you get a working connection to the net that way?
     
  7. Krenar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    #7
    Ive tried this too, i couldnt figure out what to done once i followed the instruction i found online, didnt seem to find the option on my mac as it was written online? sorry for the late replies was on holiday!
    --- Post Merged, Sep 2, 2016 ---
    This works, i dont have an issue when in next to the router when im using wifi either, however if i take roughly 5 steps away from the router it doesnt want to work! so confusing! my phone connects fine at the same distance
    --- Post Merged, Sep 2, 2016 ---
    Ive tried this aswell, no luck either!!
     
  8. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #8
    Is it tied to one particular location (ie Wifi transceiver), or does it have the same issue in multiple locations (school, work, McDonald's, Starbucks)?
     
  9. Krenar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    #9
    So far ive seen that it seems to be an issue with home Wifi's ive tried in three different homes and ill be able to connect when im close however when i take a few steps further my Mac cannot connect but my phone seems fine at the exact same distance and further.
    Mcdonald's works fine, maybe because i happen to be closer to the router by chacne?
     
  10. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #10
  11. Krenar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    #11
    I see, im not really comfortable in doing this however i still can connect through wifi however i need to be really close, if the antenna cable has become loose/disconnected wouldnt it just stop working all together?

    im going into apple in a few days to get my headphones replaced, hopefully i can find a member of staff friendly enough to have a look or something. unless someone else here has nother idea?
     
  12. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #12
    OK. If you are taking it in a few days anyway just have them check it out.

    And loose cables can cause all sort of issues. Like providing a weak signal. But, the Apple guys should be able to figure it out.
     
  13. Krenar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    #13
    I see! you think theyll have a look at it even though its not covered by any insurance or apple care?
     
  14. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #14
    You will have to make an appointment and pay. But, they will sometime just do an look see for free. Plead poverty.:rolleyes:
     
  15. Krenar thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    #15
    haha, well im going to the apple store next to my university so they hopefully will understand haha. thanks awnyway!! i guess its only right if i update the thread if i find out the problem ahha
     

Share This Page