Will 2016 Macbook run El Capitan OSX 11.11

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Polarised, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. Polarised macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    #1
    Can you help me please?

    Will a 2016 Macbook run El Capitan?

    I have two programs that I need to use daily that don't run on Sierra.

    If it will work, how can I install El Capitan?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Probably not.
    You could find out for sure by trying to install El Capitan. Another test would be to boot to an external drive that has El Capitan already installed. If that boot is successful on the new MBPro, then there's a good chance that you can set up an El Capitan boot. If it doesn't boot, then the answer is "no", not possible. I have every expectation that you will not succeed, probably because the various hardware drivers (kexts) are not available on El Cap to support the newer hardware.

    What are those two apps do you need to use? There may be other solutions.
     
  3. Quddy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    You mean 10.11? It should work fine. The early 2016 rMB (I have one) launched with El Capitan. I only recently upgraded to Sierra.

    Not sure how to get it though. Check the App Store or maybe someone has the file already. Then you can create a bootable USB drive to install it clean (will wipe all data).

    I'm not that familiar with macOS yet as I use Windows with Bootcamp mostly for now.
     
  4. Cristim74 macrumors member

    Cristim74

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    #4
    Il will definitely run MacOS 10.11. My 2016 rMB purchased about 4 months ago came with it preinstalled.
     
  5. polee macrumors 6502a

    polee

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    #5
    Think you cannot install El Capitan if you was not on your system in the first place...
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    If the first 2016 MacBooks came with El Capitan, it's possible to go back without an issue. Internet recovery will probably install Sierra, however, so it'd be necessary to have a USB installer to backdate.
     
  7. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #7
    Ah, right. I misread your OP, assuming that you meant the current, just-released Late 2016 MBPro. Those shipped with Sierra, and you can't expect it to run El Capitan.
    A 2016 MacBook may ship with Sierra now, but should still run with El Capitan, assuming there have been no changes to hardware since March 2016.
     
  8. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8
    Hah... you can't possibly expect Apple to refresh a computer more than once a year!
    Seriously though, the MacBooks haven't changed since they were released in spring.
     
  9. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #9
    (nods in agreement)
    There's also the idea that some posters will refer to a MacBook generically, when they really mean a MacBook Pro.
    That makes a big difference right now, when one is looking to perhaps downgrade the OS.
     
  10. Mike Boreham, Dec 8, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2016

    Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Just for general info.
    If you boot from the Recovery Partition (cmd+R) and "Reinstall OSX" it will download and install the version that was last installed on the machine.
    If you boot from Internet Recovery (opt+cmd+R) it will download and install the originally supplied OS for that machine, in this case El Capitan.
    This is why Apple's Prepare for Sale instructions specify erase and reinstall with Internet Recovery, since we are not meant to sell macs with a later OS than the original (though of course it happens all the time).
     
  11. thadoggfather macrumors 604

    thadoggfather

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #11
    its really just a matter of if you have el cap in your purchase/download history in App Store

    if you don't, there's always other ways but fortunately I had it in mine, for reloading el cap on my 2015 rMB since os Sierra made it a PITA
     
  12. Polarised thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    #12
    Thanks guys!

    I have sourced an updated version of the application that runs on both Sierra and El Capitan so my tech problems are fixed (…for now!)
     

Share This Page