Will Unibody MacBook run Snow Leo 64 bit?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by germinator, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. germinator macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #1
    Title says it all.
    I cannot find any confirmation on whether the MacBooks will run Snow Leopard in full 64 bit mode.

    Anyone?
     
  2. bcburrows macrumors 6502

    bcburrows

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Bristol
  3. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Every generation of MacBooks since the original Core 2 Duo will be able to run it in 64 bit mode.
     
  4. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
  5. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
  6. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #7
    I'm not arguing. Snow Leopard is still in the beta stage and IMHO has quite a way to go yet. It's just not currently supported, that's all.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  8. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #9
  9. walnuts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #10
    Isn't the whole point of 64-bit accessing larger amounts of RAM? So, with most macbooks shipping with 2GB and all maxing out at 4GB, isn't a 64 bit macbook not worthwhile, even if the processor is capable? Would there be any benefit to macbook owners?
     
  10. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #11
    64 bit doesn't mean more RAM, it means more address space for each individual process. You can have 32 GB of RAM and use ten 32-bit applications using 3 GB each and have some spare RAM. With 64 bit, a video editing application running on a machine with 1 GB of RAM can map a 2 hour video in MiniDV format = about 21 GB completely into virtual memory and let you edit it.

    In addition, 64 bit means sixteen 64-bit integer registers instead of eight 32-bit integer registers, which makes some applications a lot faster, even when they don't use much memory at all.
     
  11. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    +1. It opens up the world of 64-bit arithmetic. Question is, which apps will use it?
     
  12. Peace macrumors P6

    Peace

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Location:
    Space--The ONLY Frontier
    #13
    Almost all Apple apps will be utilizing the 64 bitness come October. It's up to the other companies like Adobe and Microsoft to come up with the other software.
     
  13. germinator thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #14
    Its the graphics chip....

    I know that the C2D processor is 64 bit. But at the time the newest MacBook was released, there were some news about the NVIDIA graphics chip not being "64 bit". That and the fact that no Snow Leopard build supports the MacBook in 64 bit mode yet looks suspicious to me.

    Could it be possible that Apple will support the MacBook in 32 bit mode and the MacBook Pro in 64 bit mode in SL? As a way to differentiate the pro from the consumer machines (same as omitting the FireWire port)?
     
  14. morrisman1 macrumors 6502

    #15
    the macbooks use the same chipset as the macbook pros dont they? its just that the macbook pro has an extra graphics processor. Apple wouldnt disable 64bit on a machine so new, that would make many people angry. Very angry.

    Lets hope that Rambo doenst have a macbook, cause we dont want him angry do we?
     
  15. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #16
    Our graphics cards are not "64-bit" or "32-bit" items. Besides, we have a 128-bit bandwidth (excluding 9400M).
     
  16. viperguy macrumors 6502

    viperguy

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
  17. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #18
    Exactly what I said. SL has a long way to go before it is released. Making any kind of guesses at this point is fruitless.
     
  18. germinator thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #19
    Precisely...

    But I want to know whether it is safe to buy a MacBook today. I would be pissed if it were not supported in 64 bit mode in SL.

    That's what this forum is about, otherwise I would have asked this question on Apple Discussions.
     
  19. elfxmilhouse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Northeast USA
    #20
    then just wait
     
  20. viperguy macrumors 6502

    viperguy

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #21
    Don't get us wrong, we're not being rude.
    We just don't know that answer since no one has info on that as of right now.
    But personally I don't see why a MB wouldn't run it ok, especially if we consider that Apple is making an OS that's supposed to be more responsive and take advantage of multi core processors instead of adding lots of new features.
    I'd say it will run even smother than Leopard is running right now, but take that just as a personal guess
     
  21. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #22
    Of course. My two year old Macbook will run it. I'm pretty sure all Intel machines will run it.
     
  22. Benguitar Guest

    Benguitar

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    #23
    Yes

    Yes a UniBody MacBook will run Snow Leopard.

    If you don't believe us, go ask Steve.
     
  23. althage macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #24
    New Unibody MacBooks and older ones too...

    will support up to 6 Gigs of ram by using one 2 gig stick and one 4 gig stick with using Leopard. I imagine when using SL 8 gigs will work fine though.
     
  24. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #25
    I think it's been figured out that the RAM limitation is not in software, but in firmware/hardware with the MB vs MBP--> artificial differentiation between "consumer" and "pro" lines.
     

Share This Page