[Win 10] PowerOff on Update

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Coto, Oct 27, 2016.

  1. Coto macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #1
    So, my MacBook Pro was installing a Windows 10 Update (Bootcamp) and unfortunately the battery went out and the computer had to stop. Whenever I try to start it up on Windows, it's just a black background with the blinking white underscore (Like this in the beginning: ). They keyboard doesn't work at all. Pressing the CAPS LOCK key doesn't open the green LED light on the key.

    The next thing I tried, was using an external keyboard. Didn't work. Windows did not identify the keyboard and it didn't do a thing.

    I thought about booting into Safe Mode, how ever I haven't been able to do so. Tutorials show that I should Shift + click on 'Restart' in Windows, however I am not able to boot into Normal Mode in the first place. Another thing suggested is to take a Windows Recovery CD and try from there, but I don't have a Windows Recovery CD...

    I am able to access the BOOTCAMP partition drive from Mac OS and see files. Nothing is deleted from what I can see. All my files are still there.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. craig1024 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #2
    If I can remember right spamming f8 on windows boot should bring up start up options but I'm not sure if that changed in windows 10.
     
  3. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #3
    Boot to the recovery partition or a recovery disk and go back the last system restore point.
     
  4. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #4
    Which recovery partition? Can you be more specific?
     
  5. craig1024 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #5
  6. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Before making important changes that might lead to serious problems, like a driver or windows update, Windows creates a System Restore Point. This allows you to "undo" the changes in the event they cause problems (or failed to complete in your case) by restoring to the last System Restore Point.

    There are a couple of ways to roll that back in Windows, but since you cannot boot up Windows, you have to boot to something else to perform the restore. So boot to the Windows recovery partition on the hard drive, your system restore disk, or the installation media and roll back to the last System Restore Point from there.
     
  7. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #7
    How do I boot to the "Windows recovery partition on the hard drive"? The only partitions I have on my Macbook are "Macintosh HD" and "BOOTCAMP" (and the Mac OS recovery one). Do I have to re-download windows and boot from the burnt usb?
     
  8. craig1024 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #8
    I think that only pcs that shipped with windows 10 have the recovery partition so you will have to make a USB which has the windows recovery feature on it.
     
  9. ActionableMango, Oct 31, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2016

    ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    Hold down F8 while Windows is booting up, but that won't work if your Win10 is using fast boot. In that case you'll need to use one of the other two methods I mentioned, so hopefully you made a recovery disk or you have your installation media.

    If you can't do F8 and you didn't make a recovery disk and you don't have your installation media, there are other options but it's going to get a lot more complicated.
     
  10. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #10
  11. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
  12. craig1024 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    #12
    It could be because it's a mac although I don't know why that would make a difference you might have to reinstall.
     
  13. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #13
    I really don't wanna re-install the whole thing again...
     
  14. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #14
  15. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #15
    Hmm... For some reason the "Choose an option" is missing when I reboot from the USB Drive... I don't remember how I managed to even get to my screenshot.. ^ o_O Maybe I changed some files/folders on accident.. But it takes me to the screen that it asks me to select a language -> ask for my Windows product key [+ "I don't have a product key"] -> Select your OS (Windows 10 Pro OR Windows 10 Home) -> Take you to the partitioning etc...

    How could I get the previous menu to show up instead?

    [The screen menu is something like this:]

    [​IMG]
     
  16. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #16
    After clicking Next on that screen, you should get an option to repair your machine.
     
  17. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #17
    Okay got that!

    Can you explain to me how to "specify which Windows installation to use"?
     
  18. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #18
    It's been awhile since I had to done anything similar to this, but you should see a window that allows you to select the install. It may not say "C:" or similar, but will list the installations it finds.

    I wonder if it's not finding it as it doesn't have the bootcamp drivers. What if you run through the bootcamp wizard to create the installation media?
     
  19. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #19
    Are you talking about this? What should I do with it? [​IMG]

    (It did recognize/show "Windows 10 Home" and "Windows 10 Pro" when I clicked "I don't have a Windows license key": [​IMG] )
     
  20. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #20
    That's the installer, not the repair. If it's not giving you the option for repair, you'll need to reinstall.
     
  21. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #21
    But I am able to get to the 'Choose an Option' -> 'Advanced Options' page.

    By the way, is there a way we can chat more efficiently, like skype? If not, we can keep discussing here.
     
  22. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #22
    Sorry, I don't do Skype and such.

    There should be an option to repair your PC. Check the displayed dialog boxes carefully. If all you get is to install/upgrade, then it's not finding your installation.
     
  23. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #23
    Are you talking about [​IMG]

    or

    [​IMG]

    ?
     
  24. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #24
    The bottom one ("repair your computer") is what you need.
     
  25. Coto thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    #25
    Well, that takes me to [​IMG]

    and clicking on Troubleshoot gets me to here:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page