Windows 8.1 flop

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Trebuin, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. Trebuin macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #1
    I don't know why, maybe it's all the work software that only runs on windows but I'm upgrading to 8.1 today.

    So far, none of my three computers at home can upgrade. One HP, one iMac, one Macbook, all the same error, boot partition needs to be repaired after update. This is the official off the update store page, not iso or download. If I cannot upgrade them, I'm downgrading them all to windows 7 on bootcamp as that's the only way I'll be able to keep the software up to date before windows 7 no longer is updated.

    Anyone seen a workaround yet? I need to reinstall it again to get more details.
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    So far, my white box desktop PC seems to be progressing through the upgrade fine. Have yet to upgrade my work laptop.

    B
     
  3. Trebuin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #3
    It looks like the boot loader may have been corrupted with the install:

    Running bcdedit gives me:

    Windows Boot Manager
    Normal

    Windows Setup
    identifier {random-hash}
    Nothing else is included

    Windows Boot Loader
    Mostly normal except:
    custom:17000077 352321653
    Custom:250000c2 1
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Wild. Were you using a custom partition scheme on any of these boxes?

    B
     
  5. Trebuin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #5
    Nope, but installing windows 8 over windows 7 created a boot issue that had the boot loader look like this:

    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    identifier {bootmgr}
    device unknown
    description Windows Boot Manager
    locale en-US
    inherit {globalsettings}
    default {default}
    resumeobject {1f20452f-f2af-11db-9299-adf714858873}
    displayorder {default}
    toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
    timeout 30

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier {default}
    device unknown
    path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description Microsoft Windows Vista
    locale en-US
    inherit {bootloadersettings}
    osdevice unknown
    systemroot \Windows
    resumeobject {1f20452f-f2af-11db-9299-adf714858873}
    nx OptIn

    The issue was the devices and osdevices were labeled as unknown after the install when they should have been labeled as boot. This has not been fixed for some reason and again, using official Microsoft upgraded. This is going to take a bit of today. I have a sim in a few hours and I'm taking the kids to the pumpkin farm after that so I may not finish until late tonight.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Good luck. My upgrade on the desktop seems to have completed fine so it's not a universal problem.

    :(

    B
     
  7. Trebuin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
  8. TPadden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    #8
    All three of my computers, including a 2013 MBA, updated without a hiccup. I know this doesn't help the OP at all but his thread title indicated the sky was falling :rolleyes:.
     
  9. Y So Jelly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    #9
    Upgrading 7 -> 8 on bootcamp could be problematic because one uses UEFI and the other has emulated BIOS..

    not sure about other models but the 2013 Air supports Windows 8 through UEFI only.
     
  10. Yaboze macrumors 6502a

    Yaboze

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Location:
    The Garden State
    #10
    3 (2 PC's and 1 Mac) machines, including a MBP bootcamp partition running Windows 8.0 were updated perfectly.
     
  11. Sym0 macrumors 6502

    Sym0

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    #11
    So what's the process to update Windows 7 to 8.1 on rMBP bootcamp???

    Also, does it affect VMware??

    Has anyone tried out the native retina resolution with the new 200dpi scaling in 8.1?
     
  12. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Upgraded fine on my PC. Massive improvement over 8.0.
     
  13. biebel228 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    #13
    I recieved error code 0xC1900101-0x20017 several times in a row upgrading an Imac w/bootcamp.
     
  14. kingofmyworld24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    #14
    I had a feeling there would be come hiccups with this upgrade.

    I did a little searching and I think installing from a dvd might be a way around this error.
    I don't have time to test it now but if anyone here does please give it a shot and let us know if it works!
    Also, let us know what version of boot camp you are running and what windows version you are upgrading from.
     
  15. Trebuin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #15
    So this may be because I started with windows 7 full, upgraded to windows 8, then tried upgrading to windows 8.1. I may have to check into installing windows 8, then upgrade windows 8 to windows 8 using the key, then upgrade to windows 8.1. I won't be able to do this anytime soon, though. I was hoping to avoid this.
     
  16. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    3 attempts to upgrade from Windows 8 to 8.1 so far.
    All failed after the actual upgrade during the reboot stage. System was returned to previous installation (Windows 8).
    3 different error codes - but similar to each other.

    0xC1900101-0x40017
    0xC1900101-0x30018
    0xC1900101-0x20017

    It seems I'm not alone. There are many complaints to MS already on these failures.
    It's possibly connected to dual graphics, I suspect.

    Another outstanding MS release :D
     
  17. kingofmyworld24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    #17
    What upgrade method did you use? Try another method to see if it will work (dvd, usb, store, etc). Let us know what happens.
     
  18. Trebuin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #18
    same issue.
     
  19. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #19
    Lol, I used the update through Microsoft store (seeing as the official line was that no iso would be released - now overturned it seems).

    It seems that these problems all existed in June for the preview but they don't seem to have fixed them.
     
  20. kingofmyworld24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    #20

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com...-pc-back-to-the-way-it-was?forum=w81previtpro

    After reading that, it seems like choosing not to preserve your apps or files might help. Also, I read on another site that you should unplug everything except your mouse and keyboard while installing. If that doesn't work, try installing from a dvd.

    Dang, I didn't know there wasn't an iso!
     
  21. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #21
    I think MS has now backtracked on the idea, presumably as a result of complaints/comments, and an iso will be forthcoming. So at least a clean install will be possible if that's the case.
     
  22. desertman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    #22
    No problem to upgrade on my iMac with Parallels, too. I was actually quite impressed by the download speed of the almost 3 GB upgrade file.

    However, I'm still searching for the massive improvements.

    For example, it is supposedly now possible to arrange tiles on the start screen according to my needs and likings. Already this small task is not working for me. The second group of tiles on my start screen consists of 5 medium size tiles which could fit perfectly fine into one single column (five rows is the default). Windows 8.1, however, decided to arrange them in two columns with three tiles in the first and two tiles in the second column (see attached screen shot) - and it is not possible to drag the tiles from the second column under the third tile of the first column; when I do this they simply flop around but insist of being in a 3 + 2 combination.
     

    Attached Files:

  23. Trebuin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #23
    Still no joy on getting the install to work. I've troubleshot one of my notebooks down to an audio driver incompatibility…works with windows 8, but not 8.1 apparently. I deleted the audio driver to see if I can get it to install.

    As far as bootcamp goes, it just seems that there is no boot target for the setup once it initially reinstalls.

    ----------

    Here's the error Log:

    Code:
    2013-10-18	16:22:10:121	 904	67c	Report	WARNING: PostReboot: Failed to update the history status: 0x80248FFF
    2013-10-18	16:22:10:184	 904	cd0	Report	REPORT EVENT: {5158A545-01E5-432E-90F8-7DE189E05E01}	
    2013-10-18 16:22:10:121-0700	1	204 [AGENT_INSTALLING_FAILED_POST_REBOOT]	101	{807050CF-9EC6-4235-8E96-019018A64F93}	1	c1900101	WSAcquisition	Failure	Content Install	Installation Failure Post Reboot.
    2013-10-18	16:22:10:184	 904	cd0	Report	CWERReporter::HandleEvents - WER report upload completed with status 0x8
    2013-10-18	16:22:10:184	 904	cd0	Report	WER Report sent: 7.8.9200.16715 0xc1900101(0x20017) 807050CF-9EC6-4235-8E96-019018A64F93 Install 101 Unmanaged
    2013-10-18	16:22:10:184	 904	cd0	Report	CWERReporter finishing event handling. (00000000)
    What windows is seeing is, finished downloading and initial setup, reboot for full setup.
    Windows has rebooted, but no setup functions have been performed.

    Again, this leads me to think the boot scheme is messed up.
     
  24. Trebuin thread starter macrumors 65816

    Trebuin

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Location:
    Okinawa, Japan
    #24
    I'm finding more sources with similar errors mentioning UEFI partitions needed.
    http://forums.evga.com/tm.aspx?m=2041114

    Windows 7 apparently does not do this install so Y So Jelly seems to be on the right track.

    Options:

    1) Convert partition scheme to UEFI without destroying anything
    2) Fresh install from windows 8, UEFI partition, upgrade to Windows 8…so I can use my legal key if this still works, then upgrade to windows 8.1.

    If anyone can get option 1 working, let us know.
     
  25. jredecop macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #25
    Have the same problem. Upgrading from 8.0. I know I'm not helping any but just letting others know there's definitely a problem. Running bootcamp on early 2013 rMBP 15".
     

Share This Page