Xcode interface on rMB

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by leftyMac, Apr 3, 2017.

Tags:
  1. leftyMac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #1
    can someone working in Xcode on a 12" rMB show me the screenshots of the interface? I'm thinking of getting a rMB, but I'm not sure if I feel comfortable with the screen realestate.

    currently I'm on 2013 15" rMBP, and I wouldn't mind a dedicated machine for coding as I need this 15" MBP for music and video production, and I don't want to constantly update the OS.

    thanks and cheers!
     
  2. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    If you set it to the 1440x900 scaled resolution you'll be fine. Same as the old 15" Pro or 13" Air
     
  3. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #3
    [​IMG]

    It's definitely fiddly in Assistant Editor view, and I run my rMB in 1440x900 scaled mode. Always have done.
     
  4. leftyMac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    #4
    thanks for the screen capture! how does it perform on your rMB? I imagine compiling takes a lot longer, but have you experienced any lags while coding?
     
  5. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #5
    Compiling and booting the emulator is slow.

    Yes, the code autocompletion lags quite heavily for me compared to my iMac and from what I see every day on other MacBook Pros at work.

    Mine is the lowest 2015 model (1.1GHz) so I'm sure the higher and more recent models perform slightly better.

    That said, the MBP range is clearly better suited for Xcode usage. It is what Apple would refer to as a "professional" application, best run on the range of Macs targeted at professionals within that industry - for this line of work, those are the higher spec MacBook Pros and iMacs.
     
  6. ofarlig macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    I run mine in 1680x1050 or 1920x1200 when using the internal screen. My standard resolution for anything is 1680x1050 but sometimes when doing coding I switch to 1920x1200. 1440x900 (scaled) is way too little real estate to be workable even for web browsing.

    Xcode is working perfectly fine except for some lag sometimes with autocompletion, I do not think it is due to the processor since I have read threads where people with a lot stronger machines get the same problem. Most of the time auto complete works good but then it suddenly doesn't.
     

Share This Page