Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cyroz

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 16, 2016
NJ SLC WA OR CA USA!!
Hey everyone. I'm not exactly sure where I should have posted this but figured since its PowerPC, some of you fans that have G5 hardware around maybe be able to take a shot at this. Hopefully this section should be okay.

I was looking to see if there is anyone here who is familiar with programming on PowerPC. First ill explain I'm no expert or programmer. but I do have some common knowledge. I'm NOT asking for anyone to do any magic for me I am just curious if this is possible, or if anyone can break down the process of how to load a rom from disk on a powermac G5.. I guess what I want to do is convert this to a bootable iso if at all possible.

I was interested in finding software recovery for a Xenon Alpha kit which was an Xbox 360 alpha. I have found a remote recovery which installs and updates the machine. but unfortunately you need to have a running version in order to use it. Now at this stage I haven't been able to find those recoveries disks and not even sure if one exists. I did some poking around and noticed the exe for the remote recovery should contain all the files that is needed to boot into the Xenon Launcher Menu... if you extract the exe the file contents are as follows...

one the left are the folders... the right is file contents..
XBOX - Xapi.dll
xbdm.dll

XBOXFLASH - connect.dll
xam.dll
xbase.dll
xnet.dll

XBOXROM - /000/xboxroma_1mb.bin

XDKSAMPLES - Dolphin
SceneViewer

XSHELL - banks
data
images
media
sounds
default.exe

each folder contains some files and I am curious...would it be possible to load this via a disk? what is required to load a rom? I am curious what process the machine goes through.