8 gb RAM in the OLD unibody macbook...

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by budfoot, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. budfoot macrumors regular

    budfoot

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    So, what's stopping this from happening now? I would think we'd soon get a software update or EFI update allowing all the older uMB to run full on 8gb.

    Anyone going to try?
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    If they issue a firmware update, it may be available, but for now....we wait.
     
  3. rgarjr macrumors 603

    rgarjr

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Location:
    Southern Calif
  4. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #4
    B..b...b...but Snow Leopard will let us have 16 Billion GB!1111!!11 :p:cool:
     
  5. budfoot thread starter macrumors regular

    budfoot

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    Not when i'm trying to run 3 servers in VMWare for a customer demo...
     
  6. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #6
    Not for me, I have 4gb and its still not enough. More RAM is ALWAYS welcome. Also the apps you use will allocate more RAM to it and spread out more when you have more RAM, making overall experience much faster.
     
  7. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    It'll crash. Maybe Apple will up date the EFI and allow the limit to go up to 8 GB.
     
  8. apeacock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #8
    Has anyone looked at what 8 GB of laptop DDR3 costs? I'm going to be buying the new macbook and just checked - you're looking at about $700 for 8 GB memory (compared to $60 for 4 GB...). These prices are from NewEgg.
     
  9. jjahshik32 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    #9
    Just wait a few more months to 6 months. 8GB of RAM will cost what 4GB of RAM costs now.
     
  10. apeacock macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #10
    That is probably true...

    I'm still going to get my 4 GB ram upgrade now, and then if prices come low enough I'll jump to 8 GB - there isn't much of a need though, aside from virtual machines at this point.
     
  11. iLog.Genius macrumors 601

    iLog.Genius

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #11
    If the 13-inch "MacBook Pro" supports 8GB, would Apple be that sly not to allow the 2.4 and first late-2008 MacBook Pro's to support 8GB? I wouldn't put it pass them but if they don't, that would be such a bitch move...
     
  12. crazyxzer0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #12
    16 exabytes! :D


    from what I remember from ifixit teardown, the slots can support the 8gb, just needs to have the proper updates to run it.


    edit:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #13
    Even if it did work, two sticks of 4GB DDR3 So-DIMM PC3-8500 RAM will run about $700 (US) right now.
     
  14. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #14
    Well, of course they'll fit, same DIMM class=same size (unless it's performance RAM with built in heat sinks, etc)

    It's a firmware issue, no doubt.
     
  15. LemmycautioN macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    I have a first gen MBP 2.8. I had read the ifixit report that it's possible for it to support up to 8 gigs of RAM, but I heard from other sources that it won't support any more than 4. I went to the apple store and tried to order RAM, just to see what kind of RAM they try to sell me when I select my model. I found the only 15" 2.8 unibody MBP and selected it and the RAM they set me up with is the 8 gigs, (2 4gigs) - so my question is, what the hell is up with that? Is this a mistake on their end? The only unibody MBP that apple linked with the 4 gigs total package was the unibody 2.4 gig (the least expensive of the 1st gen unibodies; it has a few differences besides the processor also).

    The Apple website says :

    "Memory sold by the Apple Online Store is guaranteed to be compatible with your Macintosh."

    they only have one option for non-2.4ghz unibody MBP's and they are all linked with the 8 gigs ram package
     
  16. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #16
    It was stated at some point that for the 15.4" models, the 2.53 and 2.8 support 8GB, but the 2.4 doesn't
     
  17. xraydoc macrumors 604

    xraydoc

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #17
    IIRC, 6GB is the "unsupported" maximum RAM limit for the unibody MacBooks (i.e., 13" MacBook non-Pro).
     
  18. elmancho macrumors 6502

    elmancho

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Location:
    Paris, France
    #18
    Do you think there going to give a firmware update or just drop it for the very first MBP's ( I have the 2.53 model and Id love the possibility do add 4G more ..)
     
  19. mclaycast macrumors newbie

    mclaycast

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #19
    well when snow leopard comes out that will have the firmware updated to support 16 billion GB (around that). Then just get 8gb if you can afford that.
     
  20. pytanie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #20
    I always thought that the max ram limit was a hardware issue rather than software. How can you guys be sure that the motherboard supports up to 8gb?
     
  21. G.T. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #21
    Really? Cause Leopard already supports much more than 4GB just the laptops can't get more, like the mac pro can have 32GB of RAM officially.
     
  22. MrPeanut macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #22
    Exactly, i dont see why you should fill apples already bulging pockets because they can't manufacture something cheap enough for anyone.
     
  23. auzziteen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    #23
    Update???

    Will it now work with snow leopard can someone try for us
     
  24. NeGRit0 macrumors 6502a

    NeGRit0

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv
    #24
    Probably a dumb question, but im going to ask anyway...

    I have a 2.4 Penryn Blackbook, with snow leopard could i finally get above the 4GB I have long since upped it to?
     
  25. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #25
    Pretty sure the 4GB is a hardware limitation.
     

Share This Page