Acrobits Softphone - SIP VoIP Phone for iPhone

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by acrobits, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. acrobits macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #1
    Acrobits Softphone is a new SIP softphone in App Store.

    Features:
    • call recorder and player, seamlessly integrated into the call history
    • comfortable and super-smooth user interface, fine-tuned specially for iPhone
    • very easy configuration
    • support for multiple SIP accounts, with easy switching
    • iPhone phonebook integration. Easy to call anyone in your contacts via SIP
    • contacts search function, which searches in the contact name and also in phone numbers
    • add new contact to the iPhone phonebook
    • fancy quickdial screen with 12 one-touch dial slots supporting drag and drop editing
    • excellent sound quality, using G.711 audio codec
    • support for incoming calls (the application must be in the foreground)
    • ability to generate DTMF tones while in call, to control various PBX features or automated systems (both audio and RFC2833 standard)
    • speakerphone support
    • detailed call history, with intelligent call grouping for an easy overview
    • support for sip:username URLs in phonebook
    • configurable RTP port range
    • SIP Proxy support, VPN support
    • STUN server support, automatic service discovery using DNS SRV queries
    • quick import of accounts from major VoIP Providers, like Gizmo5, Voipcheap, TerraSIP and others
    • phone number resolution. We present the phone numbers in a convenient format with grouped digits, display the flag and country name and even region/city name for some countries, including USA
    • handles sip: links in web pages
    • available in English, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Czech and Slovak localizations

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Questions, comments, experiences, feature requests, bug reports etc. are welcome in this thread.
     
  2. taimur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #2
    Just bought this, is that rapid tone when dialing normal? can any one compare this to isip?
     
  3. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #3
    The rapid tone (silent short beeps) is normal, it's played during the "Trying..." phase. Sometimes it can change into ringing tone, but if the SIP server doesn't send "180 Ringing" response, it will keep playing until the remote party picks up.
     
  4. taimur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #4
    Great app, i but i find the rapid dialing a bit odd to figure out how the rings are going through? any chance this can be changed?
     
  5. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #5
    Definitely, the next version will have the standard ringing tone and we'd like to add support for custom ringing tones/messages in the release after the next.
     
  6. taimur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #6
    Thanks, may i also suggest a better icon? contacts list in First name, Last name order (or according to iPhone preference) and a button that displays the keypad instead of the left swipe?

    I've been comparing this to other SIP apps and it is on par! :)
     
  7. gLaDiAtOr73 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
  8. taimur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #8
    You can use any sip providers with them and have multiple accounts. Such as voipbuster.com or any voip services that supports SIP (and they all do).
     
  9. taimur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #9
    Hi,

    I see an update last night to the app, can you tell me whats new in it?
     
  10. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #10
    Acrobits Softphone - SIP VoIP Phone for iPhone

    Acrobits Softphone version 2.4 has been released. The new features are:
    • Push Notifications for incoming calls, currently supported for Gizmo5 accounts and some Asterisk configurations. The moment you quit Acrobits Softphone on your iPhone, our server registers on your behalf and starts listening for incoming calls. When the call arrives, it responds with Ringing and sends a Push Notification to your iPhone. If you click "Answer" button, Acrobits Softphone is started and the server redirects the call to your iPhone. Note that you must have a wifi connection to be able to answer the call (this is Apple restriction, not ours)
    • Web Access to your call history. It's possible to open the history in a browser on your desktop computer or notebook, search for calls, listen to recorded conversations and download them to your disk
    • Editable call history. It's now possible to delete calls or whole groups of calls from the history.
    • Troubleshooting tools. Experienced users now have access to SIP communication log, with an option to send the log to Acrobits for analysis.
    • Fixed connection problems with several VoIP operators (Broadvoice, 1und1, freephonie,...).
    Note: Because of changes (bugs?) in the new firmware 3.1.1 for iPod Touch, Acrobits Softphone now requires an external microphone to be connected, otherwise audio (even playback) will not work.

    We are looking for translators to different languages, esp. Chinese, Japanese, Turkish, Portugese and many more. Ideally, the translator should have some VoIP and computer experience.
     
  11. qai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #12
    One way audio and other troubleshooting

    I'm experiencing a problem with one way audio. Is this something that you have a suggestions to resolve? I am registering to my Asterisk server. I'm using a config that works well with my other softphones outside of the firewall. Maybe it has something to do with using Domain vs Proxy (What is the difference). I do seem to get two way audio when connecting on the inside of the firewall but it appears somewhat odd... like if I call the echo test feature (which negotiates a call from the softphone to the server only) then I get one way audio. I can hear the echo test instructions yet when I speak it doesn't hear me, hence doesn't repeat anything. When I call another extension I can get two way audio, yet I'm certain that it needs the called party to initiate audio before it will allow audio to be recognized from the acrobits phone (Don't quote me on this, but I recall something similar to this experience). When calling another extension the audio path is from softphone to server to extension, the server stays in the audio path. I've set my rtp port range to the standard asterisk range of 10000 - 20000, and am using port 5060. All these are forwarded correctly through my firewall. I can register within seconds. I have had a working asterisk system for a few years now so am wondering if there is anything unique to acrobits that I need to consider.

    P>S> This is an urgent request, please respond asap if possible..

    Thanks.
     
  12. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #13
    We should be able to help you with that. The latest version of software does have troubleshooting functions. If you go into settings in the app, then tap on preferences there is an option to Log SIP traffic. Please turn that on. Then restart Softphone and make a call that recreates the issue. Then go back to settings, tap on SIP Log and tap on Send To Acrobits. Once you have done this, please contact us at support@acrobits.cz and we should be able to help you.
     
  13. qai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #14
    Great response time.. when I said urgent I didn't expect such a quick response. I'll be sending you a sip debug within the next hour or so.

    One warning I am seeing from my asterisk servers sip debug (when I'm offline and your server is keeping the connection active.. nice feature btw) is "SIP/2.0 501 Not Implemented" message. Could the source of this 501 message be coming from inclusion of rinstance= in the to header??

    Also, another oddity is that your server is connecting in on port 56542.. I would have expected port 5060.
     
  14. gloss macrumors 601

    gloss

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Location:
    around/about
    #15
    The SIP phone is quite cool, but I'm getting unusual call quality issues when calling into other VoIP phones on my work network. Unable to duplicate these issues from EyeBeam or a Polycom phone. I'll go ahead and create a SIP log and send it along to you guys - hopefully it's something fixable!

    Sound quality to regular landlines is great, though, and my outbound call quality even to the aforementioned VoIP lines is excellent.
     
  15. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #16
    Go ahead and send us the log but please contact us at support@acrobits.cz when you have. I can go ahead and tell you that the next version of Acrobits Softphone (available in the next week or so) will enable you to prioritize the audio codecs used and disable ones you don't want to use. That way you will be able to tweak the sound quality on your own.
     
  16. budwilliamson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    #17
    push function and asterisk

    My Acrobits Softphone works with my Asterisk server. I turned push on. It did not seem to work, but a day later, an incoming call resulted in receiving a push message on my iPhone. However, I tried to answer the call but it did not work. I did some packet tracing and noticed that the Acrobits server registered with my Asterisk server when I turned the Acrobits iPhone app off. When a call came in, as soon as I got a notice and tried to answer, the Acrobits server sent a "moved temporarily" notice to my server, but it did not allow my iPhone to pick up the call. After that, for some reason, the Acrobits server stopped registering with my Asterisk server even though I still had push turned on.
    Are there any instructions available or is any other help available for getting the push service to work with an asterisk server? Thanks.
     
  17. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #18
  18. zx9r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #19
    I've tried a number of SIP apps on my iphone and have settled on Softphone at this time. Use with Gizmo and Broadvoice services. Tried Siax, Siphon (next best if you JB), iSip, and a couple others.

    I like the interface (though the background would be nice to turn off or have some other choices) and mostly that it is single function and just focuses on calls. Many others try to combine messaging, proprietary contact lists, etc which I would rather use other dedicated apps for.

    My two complaints are:
    1) if you are on a call and any iphone message or call comes in it will drop your call instantaneously. I realize this is an iphone sw issue that can't be helped until apple allows apps to run in the background. I just loaded Backgrounder to see if this will help with the problem.

    2) Although the sound quality is good on my end, the people on the other end of my calls are complaining about a serious echo of their own voices. So much that I can't use it most of the time I'd like to. Can anyone suggest how to start troubleshooting? I've changed some router port forwarding setting to try to help but so far it's the same. I have the problem on both Gizmo5 and Broadvoice so I know it's not associated with the service. I also have an ATA to a landline phone for Broadvoice that doesn't have the issue. So I know it's somewhere between my router and this app. Any way to change codecs or anything to see what might help?
     
  19. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #20
    • When you receive a GSM call or SMS while using Acrobits Softphone the call is suspended; if you reject the call or dismiss the SMS, you'll return to the VoIP call and you can continue talking.
    • Acrobits Softphone uses the echo suppression built into the iPhone. In Softphone, if you go to Settings, Preferences and Voice Processing you can verify that it's on. Also, try turning the volume down just a touch; even one notch can make a big difference when it comes to echo.
     
  20. Goldfrapp macrumors 68040

    Goldfrapp

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #21
    If my girlfriend in Canada and me in the States install this on our iPhones, can we call each other for free?
     
  21. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #22
    That actually depends on your SIP provider. Acrobits Softphone is actually a softphone client for SIP VoIP. What that means is that most SIP providers will work on the Softphone. Check out our list of verified VoIP Operators. The great thing about that is this: Say you have three SIP providers. One you use for calling the U.S., one you use for calling Canada and one you use for calling Europe. With Acrobits Softphone, you could set up all three of them and switch back and forth whenever your call destination changes. Most SIP carriers also allow calls within their network for free. For example, if you both you and your girlfriend were using Gizmo5 on Acrobits Softphone, the call would be free. Another benefit of Gizmo5 is that they are currently supported for call answer for Push Notifications on Acrobits Softphone. That means when you receive a Push Notification for a call through them, you can answer it on the Softphone instead of having to call the person back. I recommend checking out some SIP provider's rates, a lot of them have great introductory offers (e.g., a certain amount of free calls, great rates for international calls, etc.).
     
  22. zx9r macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    #23
    Thanks for the reply.

    I'll check into it again, but in past cases the other line was dropped when a GSM call came in but maybe I didn't select "ignore" quickly enough.

    I've tried with Echo on and off. Didn't seem to make any difference. I'm going to try to reduce the mic gain next to see how much that helps.
     
  23. taimur macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
  24. acrobits thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    #25
    The new update should be out any day now. It's just waiting on Apple's approval.

    Also, I know everyone is excited about AT&T allowing VoIP over their GSM network. That won't be on the next update. Apple first has to update their developer agreements. As soon as Apple has done that, we will submit a version of Acrobits Softphone that works over GSM.
     

Share This Page