Resolved AirPort Extreme Replacing Time Capsule as Router

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by willmtaylor, Jul 12, 2016.

  1. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #1
    My wifi has been giving us fits as of late, and I'm fairly certain it's not the signal from the neighborhood node nor my modem, so that left my 2009 2TB Apple Time Capsule as the culprit.

    My Aiport Extreme showed up today, and I've had no issues with XBox, iPad, iMac, iPhones, etc. since setting it up.

    Now, what's the best way to keep my TC regularly backing up our iMac? What settings do I need to change? Would USB or Ethernet be better?

    Thanks
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    The best solution would be to set the "Wireless" tab to off, the "Internet" tab to DHCP, and the "Network" tab to Off (Bridge Mode). Then, connect an Ethernet cable from a LAN port on the Extreme to the WAN port on the Time Capsule and it will become simply an NAS on the network.
     
  3. willmtaylor thread starter macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #3
    Thank you. That's exactly what I ended up doing. Somehow my backups become corrupted in the whole ordeal and I had to start a new one, but it all worked out and is backing up just fine again.

    Thanks.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    No problem! I love how with the Time Capsule you can use accounts like a regular NAS as well. Report back if you have any questions.
     

Share This Page