APFS support enabled in High Sierra for cMP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Squuiid, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. Daze513 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #26
    Identical machine here update went through without any prompt for firmware update. Can I install again
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #27
    Well, I have cMP 5,1 with Dual X5677s and an MVC flashed Gigabyte GTX 1080. So, I can not use the 10.13 Beta because no Nvidia Web Drivers. But, I tried the firmware update, and it worked:p MVCs EFI worked just fine. The only odd thing that happened was that both my optical drives opened for a brief time, then closed. Other than that no issues.

    TinyGrab Screen Shot 8-7-17, 4.56.23 PM.png

    Lou
     
  3. Raunien macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #28
    @flowrider Hi Lou, was wondering if you saw any change in the ramped up PCIE fan issue upon cold boot that's been a problem forever?
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #29
    ^^^^No, I use Macs Fan Control. Fans have never been an issue for me.

    Lou
     
  5. LightBulbFun macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #30
    yeah the optical drive ejecting is pretty par for the course, glad to see everything is still working :)

    IIRC thats a bug with the 4,1s SMC, and the SMC has not been updated on any Mac Pro, just the Boot ROM but its worth testing out still for those who suffer from the bug (I run a flashed 7950 in my MP and cant say I have ever noticed the bug ever so I cant test that sadly)

    BTW a word of warning to everyone, this new EFI update will probably break the 4,1-5,1 firmware updater apps ability to downgrade back to 4,1 firmware. I have not tested it, but I have a good understanding on how this stuff works and safe to say it probably wont downgrade to 4,1 firmware without some patching, but in this day and age i cant see a good reason for someone wanting to downgrade back to 4,1 firmware :) I do also wonder if the Mac Pro firmware restoration CD on apples website still works with this firmware update LOL
     
  6. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #31
    That is normal behavior. It is the failsafe mechanism for bad/corrupt/interrupted flash which can be recovered with Apple's firmware recovery disc.
     
  7. Raunien macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    #32
    Ah yes, that's correct. My stupid mistake. Thanks!
     
  8. Auggie macrumors regular

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #33
    What are the available "EFI video card"(s) that would initiate the firmware update?

    Just completed my OS HS upgrade released today and of course no update to the firmware with my Radeon 5870. I'm curious if the firmware update would automatically be initiated if an EFI video card is subsequently installed, or if there is a manual way to update to the latest firmware...
     
  9. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #34
    Could also be it needs a stock Apple card. I have a flashed Radeon HD 7970 - might not recognize that despite the fact it has EFI boot.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 7, 2017 ---
    How did you apply the firmware update? When I tried to load it, it did not want to. Perhaps it is my drive configuration. There are two files with the firmware updater.
     
  10. LightBulbFun macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #35
    any EFI64/EBC Mac (Flashed) video card should work with a screen hooked up to it that displays boot screens :)

    the card does not have to be an Apple OEM one, my flashed 7950 worked fine and so did @flowrider MVC card for example :)
     
  11. Daze513 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #36
    I just tried a second install on a mirrored OS disk I have and so far no prompt for the firmware update. Did the OS update first,then the firmware? Or was it firmware first, then os?
     
  12. LightBulbFun macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #37
    the firmware update does not happen if your upgrading from one DP to DP5 via the Mac App stores update tab

    you will however get prompted to update your boot rom if you download the latest High sierra beta App installer and launch it, or make a USB installer and boot from said USB installer and go to install :)
     
  13. eksu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #38
    This is the first firmware update from what, October 2010? I wonder what else could be packed in, potentially support for the last two unsupported Westmere Processors.
     
  14. Daze513 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #39
    Damn I don’t have paid developer access though... guess ill wait around for a download somewhere else
     
  15. leon771 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Location:
    Australia
    #40
    It is nice to dream of other goodies packed in there, but I'd predict that it is no more than the ability to recognise APFS.
    I can't see Apple spending the time paying someone to add functionality to these machines.
     
  16. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #41
    As stated above, I can't use High Sierra because of my GTX 1080, so I'm still on Sierra, 10.12.6. I downloaded the full Public Beta from the App Store and started the update process. I then got the Firmware Update box and proceeded, shut down, waited for the pulsating power LED and restarted. The firmware update was applied and the Mac restarted. When I reached the desktop, the 10.13 Beta was ready to be installed, but I declined.

    Lou
     
  17. Daze513 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #42
    Any one have a link to download just the firmware version. Or the dp5 install app?
     
  18. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #43
    Ok, figured it out and got it to work:
    1. The App Store Update from a previous beta does not seem to trigger the FW update, it has to be the current, full installer.
    2. I ended up booting of a regular spinning Sierra drive connected to the main SATA ports to initiate the install.
    3. RTFM, I had forgotten how you have to let the system shut down and then press the Start button until you get the flickering light and special tone. If you get the primitive funky progress, you are in business.

    My non-standard Radeon card with EFI flash and older machine (mid 2010 5,1) was not an issue.

    I have two High Sierra partitions, will try APFS conversion on the throw away one next.
     
  19. theitsage macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    #44
    NVMe boot is still not possible with new firmware. I've tried cloning as well as clean install.
     
  20. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #45
    Mac EFI GPU is a requirement to get firmware update.
     
  21. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #46
    Now trouble converting my sample drive. I had removed CoreStorage. Added that back in and APFS conversion became available on the menu, but failed. Might have to format and restore.
     
  22. ricosuave macrumors 6502

    ricosuave

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my mac
    #47
    I have a 4.1 flashed to 5.1, is it safe do the firmware update? Will I still be able to run Sierra?
     
  23. h9826790, Aug 7, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #48
    Yes, the firmware is safe for 4,1.

    Yes, after firmware flash, Sierra is fine (Not sure about older OS, but should be OK). I fact, this firmware must compatible with Sierra, otherwise, the installation can't even complete.

    Yes, the firmware still allow to boot with non flashed graphic card. (Mac EFI GPU is a REQUIREMENT during firmware update)

    At this moment, it seems apart from adding APFS support, Apple do zero improvement or add zero extra artificial limitation to the cMP. Not much to celebrate, but nothing to worry about as well.

    Same as Flowrider, I use the official but free way to do it. Go to Apple beta programme webpage to download and install the beta tester software. At the end of the installation, the software will automatically open Appstore and go to the HS public beta page. Download the HS public beta 5 from there. Run it, it will prompt you a firmware update is required. So, I just follow the procedure to shutdown.

    After that, I re-installed my self flashed 7950, then keep pressing the power button until the beep sound (took quite a few seconds after the normal "don" sound, should be depends on how many hardware installed). Firmware update normally. After that, the Mac reboot back to Sierra desktop and continue the beta OS installation, but I cancel it from that point. Shut down, and re-install the non-flashed R9 380. I have no intention to run that beta OS as my daily OS at this moment.

    Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 13.56.15 copy.jpg
     
  24. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    SELL $BTC
    #49
    Apple isn't going to do that. They barely want to support new machines with decent drivers and third party peripheral support.
     
  25. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #50
    Not an expert on the EEPROM, but I'd expect there to be little in the way of free space. I doubt Apple would add anything but what they'd said they'd add.

    From looking at my machine under Windows (dxdiag) it looks like the previous firmware was compiled/released 7/7/2010
     

Share This Page