APFS support enabled in High Sierra for cMP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Squuiid, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #51
    Just realise APFS kext actually exist in 10.12.6. Wonder if it can really handle the APFS partition, may try it later today.

    Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 15.52.24.jpg
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #52
    Just found out APFS conversion only available on "Internal" storage, that means all PCIe SSD, or SSD / HDD mounted on the a PCIe SATA III card cannot be converted to APFS.

    I will now try to connect my backup HDD to one of the internal SATA port and then boot from it.
     
  3. eksu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #53
    I just reinstalled High Sierra with APFS on my 2009 4,1. Some other quick observations:
    • If you're not getting the firmware update, it's because you need to launch the full 'Install MacOS High Sierra Beta' application.
    • Although Recovery HD is not shown at boot when holding alt, you can still get there with ⌘R.
    • Trying to set up a Time Machine disk, I realized that the Mac Pro is now using Mobile Time Machine.

    EDIT:
    Very unfortunate.
     
  4. h9826790, Aug 8, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #54
    I am still testing what's the limitation.

    At this moment. I cannot convert any boot volume (both internal and external) via disk utility (in recovery partition). But the conversion is available for internal non bootable volume.

    If I format the drive but not convert, then all external drive (including USB drive, SSD, etc) can be format to APFS.
     
  5. eksu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #55
    Can you, instead of a conversion, create a High Sierra USB installer and then proceed to format a PCI SSD and install on top of it?
     
  6. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #56
    Now some performance benchmarks! :)

    I don't expect any difference in disk to disk copy. The duplication process on same disk will be nice to have even if that's not a true duplication.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #57
    Re-run the installer doesn't allow (or prompt) for APFS conversion either. No matter I choose the HS beta internal HDD, "external (SATA III card)" Sierra SSD, or internal pure data HDD.
    Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 17.59.39.jpg Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 17.59.52.jpg Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 18.00.04.jpg I may boot to HS recovery, format the backup boot drive or the Windows SSD (internal SATA port) to APFS by using disk utility. And then perform a clean install, but it will take a while, I may not have that time tonight.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 8, 2017 ---
    You convert to APFS when running the beta installer?
     
  8. mattspace macrumors 6502a

    mattspace

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #58
    is the icon for the SSD a new detail in the OS or is that a custom icon you've added?
     
  9. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #59
    On my test system, the SSD was converted to APFS without any indication that was happening.
     
  10. Squuiid, Aug 8, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2017

    Squuiid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #60
    Just did the above on both my 2010 5,1 cMPs and updated to the latest firmware. All working perfectly in Sierra.
    Will await to do a clean install of High Sierra, with APFS, when it reaches GM.

    UPDATE: Not sure what the hell is going on here...

    Did firmware update on my macOS cMP and it took fine. Checked in System Profiler and it was correct. I then moved the macOS SSD over to my other cMP and re-ran installer to update the Windows Mac. Update took fine and I then went and checked in System Profiler again and it was indeed updated. Flickering light, long tone, progress bar, etc. All normal. It was even ready to start the HS install upon boot.

    I then reinstated the Windows SSD and now both dxdiag and CPU-Z report the firmware as being the old one, MP51.88Z.007F.B03.1010071432 10/07/10
    Any ideas? How is this possible?!

    Can someone who has updated run Windows and see what version is listed?
    Perhaps this 'firmware' update isn't firmware at all and just a boot patch on disk?
    Or does Windows expose a 'different BIOS'?

    UPDATE 2: Do a PRAM reset to fix this! Thanks to h9826790 for the suggestion.
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #61
    There should be an option when you install HS. I don't have this option. You didn't see this either but the OS do that automatically to you?

    APFS-UG-1.jpg
    --- Post Merged, Aug 8, 2017 ---
    I do that myself, just allow me to identify the correct SSD much quicker. And looks better IMO.

    Screen Shot 2017-08-08 at 20.10.03.jpg
     
  12. oeyvind macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    #62
    I just did a fresh High Sierra beta install on my Mac Pro, looks like the boot drive will be APFS by default... my test drive is a SSD on a PCI card... :)

    APFS volume works on 10.12.6
     

    Attached Files:

  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #63
    PRAM reset?
     
  14. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #64
    Boom! You nailed it. Thank you very much!
     

    Attached Files:

  15. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #65
    Yes, the installer automatically converts to APFS. The checkbox is now removed.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #66
    I don't have that checkbox, but the installer didn't convert my 10.12.6 partition to APFS during upgrade. did you perform a clean installation?
     
  17. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #67
    Upgraded from Sierra 10.12.6. I don't believe you'll get the APFS conversion if you have any spinning disks in the computer at the time. My test system had only an SSD in it.
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #68
    Possible SSD vs HDD issue.

    Anyway, I am allow to convert data only HDD in disk utility. But not allow to convert my boot drive into APFS.

    Possible reason.

    HDD + 10.13 = no APFS conversion (during OS upgrade and 1013 disk utility)
    SSD + 10.12 = no APFS conversion (from 10.13 disk utility, but may auto convert during upgrade)
    SSD / HDD + no OS = yes APFS conversion (from 10.13 disk utility)
     
  19. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #69
    The release notes do say that it's not possible for an HDD-only system to get an APFS conversion. The unknown is what happens in a system that has both HDD and SSD.
     
  20. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #70
    BTW im not sure if this was in the old firmware as well and iv yet to do extensive testing but,

    I noticed if im at the boot picker and i have my High Sierra USB installer showing up, if I then un plug it and plug it back in it fails to show up, but if i plug it into another USB port it shows up fine, but then if i unplug it from that USB port and plug it back in it also fails to show up, seemingly nullifying the USB ports ability to detect the USB stick or something...

    im just wondering if anyone has ever noticed the same? its probably just a one time thing or a quirk with my model of USB stick but once im done installing High Sierra to an APFS formatted HDD, ill investigate the thing a bit closer (resetting the PRAM and the like) and testing if it still happens

    just figured id make a quick mention of it :)
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #71
    Fusion drive is a kind of SSD + HDD system, and reports shows that it can convert to APFS without issue.

    However, I didn't see any successful case to run a bootable APFS HDD yet. Few members (on the HS forum) report that their HDD fail after conversion (done in recovery partition). But that was pre beta 5, so may be Apple intentionally stop users to do that in this version.
     
  22. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #72
    I have a bootable APFS HDD on a 2012 iMac but it's one I created using an early beta installer. I haven't even tested that machine with the latest beta 5 so I have no idea what it'll do now.
     
  23. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #73
    I am able to boot High sierra on my Mac Pro from an APFS HDD, I formatted the drive beforehand in disk utility to APFS, and OS X installed just fine to it and the Mac Pro booted from said HDD with no issues :)

    upload_2017-8-8_17-29-35.png
     
  24. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #74
    May be I do the test now.
    Thanks, I am just about to do the same thing (purely for test purpose), you save me 2 hours :D

    So, when you boot back to 10.12.6. Sierra can read / write the APFS partition, but cannot check / first aid via disk utility, right? Also, is it correctly identify it as a case non-sensitive file system?
     
  25. haralds macrumors 6502

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #75
    Formatted the drive, which is attached to a PCIe SATA card. Then installed fresh. Booting and rebooting worked. Then restored using CCC. You need to install first because the shipping version of CCC cannot make AFPS bootable yet.
     

Share This Page