APFS support enabled in High Sierra for cMP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Squuiid, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. LightBulbFun macrumors 6502a

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #76

    seems like 10.12.6 will happily RW to the APFS volume, but oddly 10.12.6s DU says its case sensitive, im pretty sure i explicitly formatted the disk as case insensitive in the 10.13 installer...

    upload_2017-8-8_18-1-23.png
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #77
    Yeah, I think this is a bug. Which makes APFS is a very risky file system under Sierra. Even DU can't identify it correctly.
     
  3. eksu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #78
    No I never do any in place conversions.

    I create a bootable usb, and when it launches I first go to disk utility and format my selected disk as an APFS volume. I then leave disk utility, and install from the usb onto the newly formatted drive.

    Make sure you've updated your firmware first.
     
  4. Pavo macrumors newbie

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    #79
    I can boot fine off my PCIe M.2 SSD that is APFS
     
  5. Factionrider macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #80
    Another working flashed 4.1, everything went really smoothly. Def not ready to use it as my main OS but this is cool.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #81
    If I'm remembering correctly then case-insensitive APFS didn't exist until 10.13. The older Disk Utility is presumably reporting it as case-sensitive because it doesn't know any better.

    Edit: Apparently I'm not remembering correctly! This blog says that it came in 10.12.4.
     
  7. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #82
    When system can't name the card correctly but Geekbench can. Please send this as a bug to Apple so that they implement proper card identification. Now that they officially supported the use of the RX 580 (and so on) and eGPU, they will need this feedback from users.
     
  8. h9826790, Aug 8, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #83
    Yeah, I realise it's OK to "format + clean install", but can you "convert" the current bootable partition into APFS without clean install?

    Also, may I know if TRIM work properly on 3rd party SSD?
     
  9. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #84
    Took the plunge and updated my cMP to High Sierra beta 5.
    It has a single SM951 and it was upgraded to APFS when I did the upgrade. No prompts, it just did it.

    I ran trimforce and despite it appearing to run as normal TRIM was not enabled.
    It would seem as though TRIM does not work on APFS volumes with 3rd party SSDs. Or perhaps it's just PCIe SSDs.
     
  10. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #85
    see this thread -> https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/macos-high-sierra-10-13-trim-working.2058880/

    it appears to me as if TRIM is not supported on 3rd party SSDs as soon as the volume is formatted with APFS.
     
  11. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #86
    Crippling features again. They should list it on the macOS website as one of the things that make it the "most advanced OS in the world" alongside the crap GPU drivers and old APIs.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 9, 2017 ---
    - I'm seeing reports that Carbon Copy Cloner and Suped Duper can't make bootable back ups of APFS volumes at the moment.
     
  12. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #87
    Updated my B4 to B5 by running the full installer. Firmware was updated but all the options in DU for converting to APFS remain greyed out. Even tried running the conversion from Recovery. Still no go. Zapped the PRAM but still nada. Disk is still HPFS+.
     
  13. Pavo macrumors newbie

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    #88
    Well it auto converted my HFS+ install to APFS after it flashed the new firmware and it looks like TRIM isn't supported on PCIe SSDs as of right now or its a bug.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #89
    So, you upgrade the OS, but not clean installation?
     
  15. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #90
    GM isn't out yet, I'd hold fire on judgement until then. We know that APFS supports TRIM, and trimforce still exists in High Sierra, so no reason to get upset just yet.
     
  16. Pavo macrumors newbie

    Pavo

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2017
    #91
    No I did a clean install but formatted the drive as Mac Journeled and after install it was APFS, so I am assuming it auto converted itself during install.
     
  17. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #92
    I would bet 10 forum bucks it won't change. Generally when we see these things show up even in beta...takes Apple a couple of years to relent.
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #93
    I am wondering if TRIM Enabler can do anything about it (in case the official release still no TRIM) :p
     
  19. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #94
    Just to confirm: before High Sierra and the new firmware update, could you do that already? (without any hacks I mean)
     
  20. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #95
    I'm not really a fan of stuff like that. Either I have a binary I can leverage, or I'll edit the KEXT myself :)
     
  21. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #96
    APFS couldn't boot on cMP before this firmware update.
     
  22. FrancoisC macrumors 6502

    FrancoisC

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    #97
    Yup, this part I know ;) I’m talking about booting from the pcie m.2. Is it a sata or NVMe?
     
  23. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #98
  24. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #100
    After updating the firmware, I find I can no longer boot a ML volume I have on on dedicated internal disk. It gets most of the way through the boot just before the graphics load and then it restarts with a grey crash screen. DU doesn't find any corruption. Time to dig out DW. Sigh.
     

Share This Page