APFS support enabled in High Sierra for cMP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Squuiid, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. h9826790, Aug 14, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017

    h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #151
    Can you please also send a bug report to Apple to tell them fix the TRIM issue, add NVMe and USB 3.0 boot into the firmware, also add native driver support for all new Nvidia cards? It seems they only listen to you, I submitted lots of report and they never fix anything in a week. The "to-fix list" of cMP is quite long actually, please ask Apple to fix all of them by next week.

    Last but not least, There is at least one more bug in the 5,1 firmware. The 4,1 firmware can work with the Sonnet Tempo SSD PCIe card flawlessly, but the 5,1 firmware may hang the boot manager. Can you ask Apple to fix it as well? Million thanks in advance!
     
  2. LightBulbFun macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #152
    care to share what bug you found? :) I need to test if my USB bug is still there
    (I wish apple would give a change log on this sort of stuff LOL)

    I can confirm that I also got the firmware update on my flashed 4,1 and I was able to install it no problems :) it did the same *CLICK* Power off and reboot at 80 percent as last time btw
     
  3. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #153
    So.
    Apfs driver for efi is embeded into corestorage container for apfs volume. Firmware of mac needs to be updated to be able to load this apfs drover from corestorage container.

    I found they have added thos support to firmwares that got released alongside 10.12.4

    Btw, apfs.efi is signed, to prevent things like thunderstrike(3rd party efi driver loading on recovery boot)
     
  4. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #154
    • How odd they do not update this with the Appstore Updates. I have seen package installers downloaded into /Library/Updates, but they do not appear to be used. You cannot run them individually.
     
  5. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #155

    That's very unfortunate... I'd like to upgrade to APFS, but my main boot drive is a Samsung XP941 PCIe-SSD. :( I wonder if this will be fixed in the final version...?
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #156
    At least we know that we can format it to APFS and boot from it at this moment. Of course, "convert" will be much easier, but at least the "external" SSD won't be unbootable.
     
  7. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #157
    Yeah, I read more and noticed that. However, I hope TRIM support gets added, and I hope someone can notify Apple about allowing these Macs to boot from NVMe drives. AHCI PCIe-based SSDs are few and expensive. I was lucky to get my 256GB 941 used for $110.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 14, 2017 ---


    BTW, do you think that the RX Vegas will be supported in classic Mac Pros? I wonder if I get one of those instead of the RX 580 that another user here recommended I get to replace my GTX 1060.
     
  8. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #158
    I had to install from a standard SATA location with the full installer to upgrade the firmware, my SSD on a PCIe card could not do the firmware upgrade. It started but just exited.
    APFS is working with trim on all SSD dives, but I still have the Disk Sensei Trim Enabler running, which might be doing it.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #159
    Just downloaded the PB, the new firmware is in it. As you reported MP51.0084.B00. I'm still on 10.12.6 because of my GPU.

    TinyGrab Screen Shot 8-15-17, 12.08.44 AM.png

    Lou
     
  10. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #160
    This is no longer the case since DP5.
    I have an SM951, with no other drives installed, and it converted to APFS just fine.
     
  11. frou macrumors regular

    frou

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #161
    they are probably too power-hungry to run off 2x 6pin connectors.
     
  12. PowerMac G4 MDD macrumors 68000

    PowerMac G4 MDD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Location:
    At the intersection of Conch and Coral.
    #162
    Yeah, after seeing the specs, I'm sure you're correct. This is kind of annoying, because it's a good GPU for the price and will have great OSX support (since it's going in the iMac Pro).
     
  13. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #163
    I'm quite sure that there will be Vega BIOS editor in which you could downclock and undervolt GPU in Windows and use it happily with two 6 pin connectors.
    There is also pixlas mod for "hardware" guys
     
  14. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #164
    I updated mine with the new firmware and it still doesn't solve the lack of converting to APFS on any of my drives without formatting. It's a fail for me.
     
  15. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #165
    Weird, what drives do you have installed?
     
  16. weckart macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #166
    A mix of SATA spinners and SSDs; all internal. Nothing unusual. Feedback has gone to Apple. Hopefully I should get a corrected firmware within a week.
     
  17. Squuiid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #167
    LOL
     
  18. justperry macrumors G3

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #168
    I literally spilled my coffee after reading this, you sir won the internet today.:)

    I got notification, see below, as you can see there's an EFIcheck.dump file, it's all gibberish even when I open it with a hex editor.

    Screen Shot 2017-08-14 at 20.35.46.png
     
  19. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #169
    Just to confirm:
    - I turned off Disk Sensei and confirmed, it removed its Trimenabler KEXT
    - I did the sudo trimforce command and rebooted
    --> NO TRIM
    - I reenabled Disk Sensei and rebooted
    --> TRIM IS BACK
     
  20. LightBulbFun macrumors 65816

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #170
    im curious where did you find that dump, do you have a path to where i might find it on my own system? also what does "show report" show? do you have a screen shot? :)

    I also noticed that the picture, shows firmware of a MBP9,1 (2012 non retina MacBook Pro 15 inch), not a Mac Pro 5,1...
     
  21. Demigod Mac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    #171
    Now in the MP51.0084.B00 club. Any idea what this revision changed?
    (Hoping this won't be routine until HS is released...!)
     
  22. frou, Aug 16, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017

    frou macrumors regular

    frou

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #172
    We're most likely in the final period during which the cMP hardware will get any attention, so I hope they refine the firmware many times before High Sierra is released!
     
  23. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #173
    I'm gonna assume this is a joke ;)
     
  24. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #174
    Of course, but still worth a try, just in case Apple really listen to him, haha :p
     
  25. Daze513 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    #175
    OK so about APFS, I have installed the latest DP6, ran Disk Sensei to get trim kext in place, then ran Trimforce. Right now i have the latest build, the latest firmware, and trim on my samsung SSD.

    However, it will not let me convert my SSD to apfs. I have tried via an install usb, via recovery, and via disk utility in the actual os. None of them give me the option to convert.

    Any ideas that can help me?
     

Share This Page