Apple Seeds First macOS High Sierra 10.13.1 Beta to Developers

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #51
    10.13 feels like an alpha a bit, maybe 10.13.1 will feel like a beta..
    --- Post Merged, Sep 27, 2017 ---
    TM won't work on APFS even if the drive is an SSD. I lost my TM data testing this theory out and had to start from scratch back to a HFS format.
     
  2. mudflap macrumors regular

    mudflap

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #52
    Why? I thought older versions of macOS have the problem as well?
     
  3. jclo Editor

    jclo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #53
    Of course not. But that *is* a feature that's coming in an update, and it's one that some people look forward to, so I can't avoid it. No new emoji in this update, though, and I can promise not to mention them again until they launch.
     
  4. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
  5. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #55
    If I run this, will it show in the App store update and going forward would I be on the Developer schedule?
     
  6. Spectrum macrumors 6502a

    Spectrum

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #56
    This week...I finally upgraded my office Mac mini from Snow Leopard to...El Capitan. :)
    (Shock: I quite like it!)
    So I guess I'm not really in the "early adopter" crowd. Enjoy High Sierra all!
     
  7. FCX macrumors newbie

    FCX

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    #57
    If the TM storage volume is HFS+ (as it has always been), you can run backups of APFS (and HFS+) volumes to it. Just don't reformat your TM storage, and you can back up whatever you like. Which you now know from experience. ;)
     
  8. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #58
    That's how it should work, yes.
     
  9. jonnysods macrumors 603

    jonnysods

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    There & Back Again
    #59
    This is the update I'm waiting for. Way less bugs in the .1 releases.
     
  10. Elijen macrumors 6502

    Elijen

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    #60
    You are right. I didn't know that.
     
  11. mithion, Sep 27, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2017

    mithion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2016
    #61
    I can't say for sure what the issue is for exchange, but I came across a thread that suggested Exchange 2016's switch to NTLM over HTTP2.0 is what is causing issues. There's an option to enable HTTP1.1 from the server side which supposedly makes everything work. But my colleague and I determined we don't want to enable legacy stuff. Since exchange 2016 has been out for a while, it's apple that needs to fix their client. What I don't understand is that the iOS mail client works fine (minus the bug that patched today in iOS 11 but that's a different issue I believe). Why isn't the macOS client working?

    EDIT: Here's the thread I've been reading https://social.technet.microsoft.co...d-apple-mail-and-safari-only?forum=Exch2016CM
     
  12. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #62
    What???
    It works, I have a samsung pro in my 2012 MBP, works.(Even Trim works)
     
  13. flexiboy1912 macrumors newbie

    flexiboy1912

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    #63
    been on it for months and not a single crash very stable as it has been for lots of others
     
  14. haddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    #64
    Fair enough but the GM release of High Sierra is working really well on my machines....Macbook Air,27/21''iMacs. The APFS has made a definite improvement in the finder speed and [touch wood] is stable.
     
  15. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #65
    I agree, I'm actually wondering if messing with it by running betas will F it up.
     
  16. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #66
    Yup, I actually APFS'ed all my external data SSD's which I hope I don't regret. So far ok, but I wish I knew not to do the TM one too. Seems kind of odd that Apple didn't get that function ready for this release simultaneously.
     
  17. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #67
    If you're concerned about potential issues and have only one system, then don't run betas. Usually the 10.x.x betas are much less issue-prone than 10.x betas, but I've still had issues occasionally.
     
  18. originspast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    #68
    It's because iOS uses ActiveSync, I guess.
     
  19. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #69
    Thanks, I'm well versed on the topic and am backed up to kingdom come. I got it. I have been running High Sierra since June. I was pretty much saying that tongue in cheek.
     
  20. R3k macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #70
    They’re putting work into unifying macOS and iOS which is great. And modernizing their file system. And bringing sorely missed features from the defunct aperture into the photos app. All good changes.
     
  21. stiligFox macrumors 65816

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #71
    There is some rumor that APFS relies on firmware contained in Apple OEM SSDs for error correction - 3rd party SSDs don’t contain this firmware and could lead to eventual data loss.

    https://pikeralpha.wordpress.com/2017/07/04/do-i-use-apfs/
     
  22. ElCani macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #72
    This happened to me. I installed the public beta a couple of weeks ago and was left with a basically unusable machine, particularly Safari. Rogue Amoeba was trying and failing to update Instant On, but I didn’t realise that it was the cause of the general slowness. Ended up restoring from TM and didn’t upgrade until yesterday (after updating all third-party apps). Everything working fine now.
     
  23. LarryJoe33 macrumors 6502a

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #73
    Nice, thanks, it worked.
     
  24. fizzyfizz macrumors member

    fizzyfizz

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    TQ12 - UK
    #74
    Anyone else having problems with the updated Photos app? It's running really slow on my 2011 MacBook Air. The previous version ran fine.
     
  25. Mattstrete macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    #75
    I was being facetious.
     

Share This Page