Apps that WON'T work on Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'macOS' started by o0samotech0o, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. o0samotech0o macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #1
    Thought it would be useful for people to put up what they know.
    Devs also welcome.

    Mods please sticky.

    ---------->For Mac Application reviews, check this out!<-----------


    WHEN REPORTING APP PLEASE SAY:

    1. What the App is
    2. Whether
    • it simply won't work
    • it will work but is buggy
    • it will work but only with rosetta installed
    3. Any additional info (fix dates, links)




    KNOWN


    Reader Notifier
    SafariStand
    SafariBlock
    Shimo
    Skitch
    SmartScroll
    Sonos
    Sophos Anti-Virus
    Split&Concat
    Sticky Windows (dammit, I love this app... :( hopefully a fix soon.)
    TinkerTool
    Xmarks for Safari
    Wuala
    Worgroup Manager
    All WireTap Versions (FIX SOON!)
    WindowShadeX
    WideMail
    Wakoopa Tracker
    Vuze
    Undercover
    TiVO Desktop
    Times
    RealVNC
    OnyX
    Parallels 3.0 (4.0 works fine)
    OneSwarm
    NX Client for OSX
    NodeToad
    Nambu
    Menumeters (pref pane doesn't load)
    Max
    MailTags
    magnifique
    Linkinus
    Line 6 Monkey
    FLIQLO 1.1 screensaver
    Reunion 9 (The makers are advising people to hold off installing till their update/fix)
    ArchiveMac (getting fixed)
    PlayBack 1.0.4
    DataBackup 3.05
    Multi-clutch
    iStats menu (getting fixed)
    MacSpeech Dictate
    Inquisitor (Installs but doesn't show in safari prefs)
    Glims (Installs but doesn't show up in Safari prefs)
    SuperDuper! (Being fixed in 2.6)
    CS2 (PPC App)
    CS1 (PPC App)
    Americas Army 2.5 (PPC App)
    xmarks 1.2.1
    Cyberduck
    ElectricSheep Screensaver
    LiveScribe Pulse Smartpen Software

    May have stability issues

    MS Office 2008 (Really SLOW)
    CS4 (will be updating after SL, most likely)
    Yasu
    What Size
    TextMate
    Squirrel
    Speed Download
    Reunion
    Plex
    Boxee
    Bowtie (some skins don't work)
    Butler

    FIXED!
    CandyBar
    Little Snitch
    CS3 (They won't be updating it for SL issues. UPDATE: Turns out to work fine on SL) Official Statement

    ---------->For Mac Application reviews, check this out!<-----------
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    CS2 and CS3. :p

    May as well add CS1 to that list; it's entirely PowerPC, I believe.
     
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    Really? CS3 won't work on SL? These are things I haven't really worked out myself so that's news to me. No doubt old news, but news all the same.

    TS you better not be handing out wrong information again because at some point you're doing more harm than good. This thread implies differently. If you don't know don't make crap up. I think it's possible it won't work but it's equally possible it will.
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Yes. Everyone still using it is fricktastically ticked off. :rolleyes:

    http://9to5mac.com/adobe_nixes_slcs4

    Trust me, I wouldn't talk about compatibility unless I KNEW. It's just too important.

    Hey, their trials will work, though. :p
     
  5. Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #5
    As far as I can say, it seems they didn't test CS3 on Snow Leopard, so they expect some issues. But there's no sentence stating that CS3 WON'T work in Snow Leopard.

    As for me, Dreamweaver CS4 sucks big time already, it's full of bugs.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    I know, hang on a tic. I'm finding threads from our forums.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=763766
     
  7. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #7
  8. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #8
    Then I also question Photoshop Elements 6, which is what I use on my MacBook Air.
     
  9. besler3035 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #9
    Well, seeing that I was using the original CS version until I upgraded to Leopard, I'm going to bet that any version that has ever worked with OS X will be fine. Won't work perfectly, and will certainly require Rosetta, but it will work.
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Ah, because it's Universal Binary? Question to ask is: Is there a newer one? If so, I'd venture a guess that they'd tell you to upgrade. :(
     
  11. Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #11
    As for sticking this thread, I really hope they won't. A moderator should create a new thread and take care of that one. Unless a couple of people come here and say "Yes, I tried, it doesn't work", and eventually we get an official response, how can you go ahead and edit your post, writing that CS3 and CS2 won't work, based on the discussions between... three people who have not even given it a go...
     
  12. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Because Krafty says it doesn't work, she's mad as heck, and CS1 and CS2 can't possibly work because they're PowerPC.
     
  13. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    Indeed, it's a nice idea and all, but I don't really see that it's going to work out too well.
     
  14. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #14
    No I do not think because an app is UB that it should work. I am asking if elements, the latest elements, works.
     
  15. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #15
    But I thought that Rosetta was there so you can run PowerPC apps on an Intel machine. So, why wouldn't they work on Snow Leopard if you select the Rosetta install?
     
  16. Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #16
    I'm sorry, I don't know who Krafty is.

    Now I see the kid has edited his post, saying that DW CS4 is buggy, based on what I wrote. The only thing is that I was referring to Leopard :)

    Coming back, I attach this PDF. Now, we need at least two users to come and confirm, based on their actual experience, that it works/doesn't work, and give additional details if there has to be given.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    Oh, IS Rosetta still there? Where did I read something about it either not being there or being optional...

    I have no idea. If it's still there, I guess CS and 2 might work, but if Adobe isn't doing anything for compatibility of CS3, would you think that either of them would run any better?

    I did not know that Rosetta was still there. Nice; now I'll still be able to use some things.
     
  18. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #18
    Okay now I question your post. DW CS4 doesn't work or is buggy? So you're saying all this time they've had to make sure their latest version of their own software works and CS4 is purportedly buggy? This thread is a good idea providing the OP can refrain from taking and posting bad info.
     
  19. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #19
    From what I've heard (I've not used Snow Leopard yet), Rosetta is an optional install. So I guess we should list the applications that work with Snow Leopard, and those that work with Snow Leopard with Rosetta installed.
     
  20. o0samotech0o thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #20
    I added an official statement from adobe, that says that CS3 may not work, but if it doesn't, they won't be updating it for that.
     
  21. Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    #21
    Yes, it is. Check the reviews. I'm sure I read one somewhere (you'll certainly find the link in this section), with a screenshot, and there was this "Run in Rosetta mode" option, or something like this. So yes, it is there.

    Check my post. I said it is buggy on Leopard. He misunderstood me, and I'm not surpirsed...

     
  22. Zw42a macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #22
    Wow, no compatibility for CS3 is just something I can't understand.. I know they say they won't be doing updates but I still hope they will.
     
  23. o0samotech0o thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    #23
    Give me some time to figure out what i'm doing.

    I've now got a section for ones that simply won't work, and ones that will work but with bugs, and ones that'll only work with rosetta installed.

    If you suggest anything else i'll be sure to think about it/add it.
    -Sam

    Sorry for the mistakes. Please make it clear, if you are reporting,

    1. What the App is
    2. Whether
    • it simply won't work
    • it will work but is buggy
    • it will work but only with rosetta installed
    3. Any additional info (links, Fix dates)
    Thanks guys.
    -Sam

    All up and running. Any apps?
     
  24. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #24
    I was playing around with the SL developer release, I believe the one right before the GM. Unless it was changed,
    Rosetta is there. Self installs if you need it. You don't need the disk for Rosetta install.

    Doesn't mean all the apps will work though, as certain older elements of the system were replaced with Leopard and Snow Leopard.
     
  25. cuestakid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran

Share This Page