Assumption 6S+ will come with 2GB Ram

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by leebroath, Sep 12, 2015.

  1. leebroath macrumors 6502

    leebroath

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
    #1
    I have an inclination that the 6S+ will come with the 2GB Ram and the 6S will stay with 1GB

    Anyone else think this may happen with the phones?

    I'm not too sure but aren't people with a Plus able to Multitask and people with a 6 not
     
  2. dugbug, Sep 12, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2015

    dugbug macrumors 65816

    dugbug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Florida
    #2
    I seriously doubt they produce two versions of the A9. that would cut yield benefits and force Apple's hand in terms of allotment adjustments.

    In my opinion they are the same chip and its 2GB. Typically apple spends the extra silicon on cpu/gpu enhancements for higher performance at lower clock. Given the die shrink they may have gone for 2GB (hopefully)
     
  3. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #3
    *A9 and with the iPad Pro having 4GB and the iPad Air 2 having 2GB I think we'll see 2GB in both of these.
     
  4. leebroath thread starter macrumors 6502

    leebroath

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
  5. nepalisherpa macrumors 68020

    nepalisherpa

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    From my understanding, RAM is embedded in A9 so I doubt that Apple would produce two different versions of A9. So, either both will have 2GB or both will have 1GB (which I hope is not the case).
     
  6. iamMacPerson macrumors 68030

    iamMacPerson

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    AZ/10.0.1.1
    #6
    Idk, they put out a new A8 for the Apple TV and iPad mini 4 with 2GB in the package. I highly doubt though that they would put 2GB in one phone and only 1GB on the other. Most likely the A9 is just a repackage of the Air 2's A8X, meaning the RAM is moved into the SoC and the CPU die has shrunk. Expect it to be a 1.4 or 1.5GHz tri-core ARMv8 CPU, 8 core (four high, four low) GPU and 2GB of RAM.
     
  7. Appl3FTW macrumors 601

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
  8. Orangeman13 macrumors regular

    Orangeman13

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #8
    How do you know???!
     
  9. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #9
    LOL, No.

    Irrespective of inclination or assumption.
     
  10. Appl3FTW macrumors 601

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #10
    Do your research. 2gb confirmed by apple across the board.
     
  11. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    Source please. Apple have never directly confirmed RAM specs yet.
     
  12. Orangeman13 macrumors regular

    Orangeman13

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    #12
    Exactly :rolleyes:
     
  13. stu.h macrumors 65816

    stu.h

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Location:
    West Midlands, England.
    #13
    They confirmed it last year, what's your source? Link?
     
  14. leebroath thread starter macrumors 6502

    leebroath

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
    #15
    1min 15sec in

    Marques has the new iPhone 6S in his hand and states there is still 1GB Ram
     
  15. eclipxe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #16
    He said "as far as I know it's still 1gb ram" - he didn't confirm it - he just said he hasn't heard otherwise.
     
  16. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #17
    His annotation at that point says 2GB. No-one has actually confirmed or denied this.
     
  17. dugbug macrumors 65816

    dugbug

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Florida
    #18
    Huh he just says 'as far as I know...' And shows footage from hands on
     
  18. leebroath thread starter macrumors 6502

    leebroath

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
  19. Ledsteplin macrumors 6502

    Ledsteplin

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Florence, AL
    #20
    2 gb RAM confirmed by Apple customer service. Both 6s and 6s Plus!
     
  20. skwood macrumors 6502a

    skwood

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Tonbridge, UK
    #21
    While I personally believe they both feature 2GB of RAM, the only way we will know is when a teardown has been done on an actual 6S or 6S+.
     
  21. Ledsteplin macrumors 6502

    Ledsteplin

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Florence, AL
    #22
    OK, but I doubt Apple customer service would lie about it. They just found out themselves earlier today.
     
  22. leebroath thread starter macrumors 6502

    leebroath

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Location:
    Scotland
    #23
    I do now hear he said 'as far as he knows' apologies
     
  23. einmusiker macrumors 68030

    einmusiker

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #24
    isn't there an app that can tell us ram usage?
     
  24. Appl3FTW macrumors 601

    Appl3FTW

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #25

Share This Page