Carrier AT&T eSIM

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by internetrando, Oct 30, 2018.

  1. internetrando, Oct 30, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2018

    internetrando macrumors regular

    internetrando

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    I have chatted in with AT&T technical support twice. They are refusing to activate my eSIM because of implementation issues and problems with Visual Voicemail.

    Joy.

    "Wait for a software update early next year" was my last response. I figured that I would let everyone know to not be surprised if you got all excited for nothing.
     
  2. Tinytsax macrumors newbie

    Tinytsax

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    #4
    Luckily mine is already activated. And vvm works well. Maybe it’s an issue for some?
     
  3. Bobhill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    #5
    Not an issue for me either. Really weird.
     
  4. goudok macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    #6
    How did you activate?
     
  5. Tinytsax macrumors newbie

    Tinytsax

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    #7
    I went to the store, got an esim and they swapped my sim to esim. All works fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Bobhill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2018
    #8
    Activated mine in a store last week. I’m using att esim and Verizon physical sim and both are exactly what I expected/wanted. Don’t understand the issue. I did have an issue with visual voicemail at first but then I called my voicemail and everything appeared under visual voicemail after.
     
  7. Tinytsax macrumors newbie

    Tinytsax

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    #9
    Mine works fine. I didn’t even have issue with vvm. Everything showed up immediately
     
  8. techiegirl macrumors 65816

    techiegirl

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
  9. tl01 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #11
    What did they give you when you got the esim? Did they give you the qr code to scan?
     
  10. KamiQuazi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    #12
    That’s what the esim looks like if you can now find one.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. tl01 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #13
    That’s what I thought. Okay. And I assume they have stopped giving them out now. Such a bummer! Thanks!
     
  12. Tinytsax macrumors newbie

    Tinytsax

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2018
    #14
    What kamiquazi posted. I’m sure they stopped after today tho most ppl at stores didn’t know even know what they were.
     
  13. AnthroMatt macrumors 6502

    AnthroMatt

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #15
    No problems here either.....
     
  14. bluechair1984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #16
    So, what happens if/when you decide to get another phone? Can you transfer that eSim to another phone?
     
  15. minicard macrumors regular

    minicard

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    How much extra do you pay for esim? I am on att and if I were to add esim, how much extra would it cost?
     
  16. AnthroMatt macrumors 6502

    AnthroMatt

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    #18
    You have to pay $5 + tax for the eSIM itself, then you'd need to pay for another line of service as well...so whatever that costs.

    I just took my work SIM and stuck it into my phone and use the eSIM for my line, so there is no real setup of a new line for billing in my case. Not sure if anyone has reported success with a new activation. I think the lucky among us that have it working already had two phones with service and are just looking to use one device.
     
  17. batman75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #19
    Most stores that have given these out have given them for free. Others have charged $5 for the SIM and $30 activation fee. One time fee if at all.
     
  18. E3BK macrumors 68030

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    This is what the delay is - they are trying to figure out how to charge for this and make sure it's implemented company wide. It's not a technical problem as users of the Physical dual Sim and eSIm users in the EU are working just fine. EE in the UK is activating them now. US carriers are just using this as an excuse.
     
  19. Buddhake macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    #21
    Just grabbed an eSim cart at my local ATT shop. The manager didn't know that they even had them till I asked about it. They have received no training but sold it to me for $5 because I knew what to do with it (I am entering the SIM number into Premier on my own). They are out there and in the stores, so go ask about it!
     
  20. batman75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #22
    You can change the sim assigned to your line on the AT&T portal without help from an aT&T rep?
     
  21. Buddhake macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2016
    #23
    You can on a business plan that has access to Premier portal, yes. I'm going to go in there now and see if it works. Wish me luck.

    UPDATE: It Worked! :)
     
  22. Jordan921 macrumors 601

    Jordan921

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #24
    Was thinking about going to grab an esim yesterday too.
     
  23. batman75 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    #25
    Why would they be able to charge extra for this beyond the one time activation cost? It’s not a service.
     

Share This Page