Battery health--should I be worried?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hoffmant, Aug 15, 2009.

1. hoffmant macrumors member

I've had my 13" MBP for a couple of weeks. Coconut Battery tells me that I've had 7 cycles, but it lists the battery health at only 97%--5304 mAh capacity, while the original capacity was 5450.

My black MacBook had close to 200 cycles and always read 100% health or better.

I did a calibration last night, and it's still reading the same results.

Is the 97% health & reduced capacity after 2 weeks something to be concerned about?

Thanks!

2. theclipper macrumors newbie

I'm a newbie wondering about this as well. I have only have my MBP a little over a week. I did the calibration a few days ago. Coconut Battery is only listing my capacity at 95% (5229 mAh). It says I have 10 load cycles. I'm not sure if this is normal or not. I just want to make sure I get the most out of my battery.

Thanks!

3. Whackintosh macrumors 6502

Whackintosh

This seems to be a repeating thing. Ihave a 2008 UMBP that I got in early July as a refurb, and two different batteries have dropped significantly over just a handful of load cycles. This makes me wonder whether or not the batteries are absolutely fine and it's just a software bug making the machine read them strangely. I'll be bringing my machine in for a check-up next week (Apple phone support have no idea what could be causing this and have asked me to bring it in to a service center) and will report back here with nay info I learn from it.

4. hoffmant thread starter macrumors member

I would appreciate any report you can give. The closest Apple store for me is nearly 2-hours away--I bought mine online.

Thanks.

5. NC MacGuy macrumors 603

NC MacGuy

You probably have something wrong with your MB. 100% after 200 cycles? That's great.