Beeping After RAM Upgrade?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jgelin, Dec 21, 2015.

  1. jgelin macrumors 6502a

    jgelin

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    #1
    Hello All,
    I have recently endeavored to take apart my Late 2013 iMac and upgrade the RAM and the HDD to an SSD. I have gotten all of the pieces out and then put it back together. When I put it back together on power the machine just beeps once, then 5-6 seconds pass, then it will beep again. It does not seem to be getting through POST to boot. Please, any advice would be of most help, I am so frantic right now it is not even funny. I can try to put the old chips in there but the ones I have should be Mac compatible from PNY...

    i don't know what I did wrong and now I feel terrible. :(
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    Make sure the RAM is seated correctly it can be a bit tiugh to get it right in the slots failing that put in the old RAM and see if it works if it does then it's your new RAM thats the issue for whatever reason. You could try one stick at a time you may just have a faulty stick of RAM.
     
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    The most obvious is the ram you are using is not functioning, whether its not seated correctly as Samuelsan2001 stated or incompatible or defective. Your best bet is to see if its seated, then remove one sim memory cards and replace it with an old one. See if boots up. Replace the the new memory card in the iMac with the recently pulled new memory, see if its boots. Then use your old memory.

    Basically, work through identifying if one or the other new memory sim cards is causing the problem, if that's not successful, then replace the new ram with the old ram completely and reboot, then contact the retailer where you bought it
     
  4. jgelin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jgelin

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    St Petersburg, FL
    #4
    Thank everyone for your help! I took it apart 2 times to see if the seating was the issue. I then decided to look up reviews for the RAM I bought from Best Buy. The reviews for it were one star for most Mac users, and I found the reason was even though it says it's Mac compatible it runs at 1.5volts instead of 1.35.
    I went to my local computer store and got a G.Skill Ripjaw 16GB kit. Put it all together again without the screen. Got Mac sound and it's currently restoring from time machine!!
     

Share This Page