Beta 5 fails on MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Killerbob, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #1
    I had Beta 4 running fine on my MacBook Pro 2014, and this afternoon I download Beta 5 and it started the update process. However, when I came back to the laptop, it was still on a black boot screen, with the Apple logo, and the progress bar at 100%. I let it sit for a while, and finally turned the laptop off using the power button. I started it up again, and it kind of goes straight to the progress bar at around 80%, and then up to a 100, and then it hangs. I have let it sit for a long time.

    I have now restarted into Recovery mode to check the disk using disk utilities, and all is fine. However, when I boot again, the progress bar goes to 100%, and then the laptop hangs.

    What's going on???
     
  2. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #2
    I’m in the same exact boat. This is super frustrating. On a 2012 rMBP for perspective
     
  3. mikecwest macrumors 6502a

    mikecwest

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    #3
    It worked for me on early 2011 MBP, however I did have to download it and run it twice. The first time, a 3GB download and it appeared to do a firmware update, and after reboot, it offered another beta 5 update of 2.5GB. It update again, and no firmware update the second time around. I have not done much yet, but so far no issues for me.
     
  4. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #4
    Is there a way out of this, or is it a reinstall using recovery mode?
     
  5. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #5
    I’m trying a reinstall right now - but not a clean reinstall (all my files should still be there if it works)
     
  6. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
  7. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #7
    Still hanging on 100% gray screen :(
     

    Attached Files:

  8. mmomega macrumors 68030

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
  9. bradhs macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    #9
    2016 MBPtb wont update, reboots about 10% into the update process. No issues though, just stuck on DP4.
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #10
    The legendary Apple quality control.

    There are people in the news forum stating macOS is the greatest thing ever and these update and install issues never happen.
     
  11. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #11
    So no one has a solution as to what to do? Install from scratch? Reformat, install?
     
  12. ryxn macrumors regular

    ryxn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #12
    Did you have APFS installed or was it non-APFS beta?
     
  13. KUKitch macrumors 6502

    KUKitch

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #13
    Mine is on non-APFS beta 4 and I came home to it failing to update as well... tried to reboot and restart a couple times and it continued to fail (though it threw up an error which I am failing to remember currently) and I was finally able to restart via recovery into the OS and cancel the update attempts - I have not tried again and am on a retina 2012 MBP
     
  14. ryxn macrumors regular

    ryxn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #14
    Interesting. Is your HDD or SSD the same as it came with, or third party?
     
  15. oscarodas macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #15
    I had the same issue on an iMac 2011, but the second time installed ok, even fixed some problems I had like being unable to open .dmg files and also was able too convert two external hard drives to Apfs.
     
  16. tarsins macrumors 6502a

    tarsins

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Location:
    Wales
    #16
    Shocking, isn't it? You'd swear it was beta software.
     
  17. KUKitch macrumors 6502

    KUKitch

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #17
    I've got the factory SSD included with the system
     
  18. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #18
    I have the original SSD in my MacBook Pro, and it is NOT updated to APFS. Fails at process bar 100%, and the old tricks, like hitting enter, etc. does not work...
     
  19. Superhai macrumors 6502

    Superhai

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #19
    I had bless errors on earlier betas similar to this, and then the solution was to go into Startup and chose the disk to startup as that is "re-blessing" it. There is also an install log to check out.
     
  20. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #20
    Unfortunately this didn't work for me. Still get stuck on 100%. Well this is really annoying and I might actually have to schedule a genius bar appointment now
     
  21. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65816

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #21
    Apple Genius won’t touch a machine running a beta. They will send you home with instructions on how to downgrade. It’s in the terms and conditions of beta testing. For future refeeence, I use CCC to image my drive. I do this before installing the latest beta. Issues like yours can be resolved by restoring the last image.
     
  22. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #22
    Interesting. The dilemma I'm facing right now is that my backup TB drive is at a storage facility at my University.. so I guess I can buy a new one and backup in recovery mode, and then downgrade and restore backup? That seems like the best way to do it
     
  23. LarryJoe33 macrumors 65816

    LarryJoe33

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2017
    Location:
    Boston
    #23
    Yeah you are going to have to be creative. Do you have an image on that drive? Do you use time machine? I have been where you are on my first beta try. I retired a 9 month old image. Since then I have cloned and time machined everyday to both an external hard drive as well as a 250gb thumb drive. Good luck.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 8, 2017 ---
    Although since you can’t boot at all maybe try the genius and don’t tell them about the beta? They can sure get a fresh install on your drive. If there is evidence of High Sierra they aren’t supposed to touch it but your MMV?
     
  24. King Shady macrumors 6502

    King Shady

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Princeton, NJ
    #24
    Yea I've got a 5 month old backup on that drive lol. I'm thinking Ill just buy a new backup drive today and then backup through Disk Utility in Recovery, then downgrade to Sierra, and then restore from backup
     
  25. Killerbob thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    #25
    I can’t get the system back via Recovery Mode/Reinstall macOS. That only gets me back to the progress bar at 100% (I tried that).

    So, what if I boot from a thumbdrive with High Sierra beta 4, can I reinstall macOS from that, i.e. on top of the current beta 4 / beta 5 installation, without loosing all?
     

Share This Page