Cog 2016

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by vivo, Dec 31, 2015.

Tags:
  1. vivo, Dec 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2016

    vivo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #1
    Happy new year all....

    Here is my Cog 2016 version for OS X 10.10 & 10.11

    Changelog:

    - Uses much less CPU due to new output routines
    - Apple AU Effect can be inserted (and bypassed)
    - New (Pre/Post) level meter
    - Status bar displays Current Time & BitDepth & Samplerate

    EDIT: http://www13.zippyshare.com/v/WsKqyOUD/file.html
    (Found 2 small bugs and are fixed now)
     
  2. SmokingPixels macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    #2
    Happy new year to you too, vivo! :)
    Thanks a lot for the new version and your hard work!
    Can't wait to try it but this will be only after a few days :(
     
  3. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #3
  4. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #4
  5. bear24 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2015
    #5
    That's cool now, thanks a lot! And a happy 2016 to yourself as well!
     
  6. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #6
  7. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
  8. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #8
  9. nimapourkarimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #9
    Hi vivo, first of all thanks a lot for your efforts on Cog, it's much appreciated.
    Sadly there is a bug in your newest versions that makes it almost unusable for me, it gets the Apple Lossless tags completely wrong, mp3 files are ok but Apple Lossless files are useless.

    here is a screenshot: http://grab.by/N56o
    track 1 to 13 are Apple Lossless, 14 to 26 are mp3, i checked in iTunes and old versions of cog, and my apple lossless files tags are totally correct.

    thank you very much.
     
  10. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #10
  11. nimapourkarimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #11
    Oh thanks a lot vivo, it works perfectly now. By the way , very beautiful UI. thanks again.
     
  12. nimapourkarimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #13
    another bug report: Time doesn't show up in it's place in the toolbar in your latest version: http://grab.by/N5ps
     
  13. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #14
    What osx version is that? Maybe try deleting /users/you/library/preferences/org.cogx.cog.plist
     
  14. nimapourkarimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #15
    i'm using OSX Yosemite 10.10.5 and deleting the plist file didn't fix it
     
  15. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
  16. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #18
    Can you open /Applications/Font Book and see if you have Menlo font ?

    Cannot reproduce this....
     
  17. nimapourkarimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #19
    Yes I have Menlo font, by the way i don't have this problem with your earlier version 2016(5)
     
  18. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #20
    Last thing i can think of is delete /Users/you/Library/Caches/org.cogx.cog

    deleting the .plist and this caches requires that Cog has been fully quit!.
     
  19. nimapourkarimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #21
    No, didn't fix it. i guess i'll stick with this version in spite of this bug till your future updates, thanks anyway vivo.
     
  20. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
  21. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    Beauty not a bad little player I am not a fan of black design but most times I will never see it anyways so no real worry about the eye strain it causes. One thing though on the blackness when you have the Show File Tree selected the black letters on black background is making it unusable to see what is selected the grey that is there before you make selection works. While I am think about selected item would be nice if the selected item would always remain in the display if changing the sorting of the songs as it is it disappears from sight when you change the sorting. On the sorting any way to have it actually sort by a to me logical way for instance if you have artist selected it sorts all songs by that artist by alphabetical order not album or track within the album. So is there anyway to have this secondary sorting done the way I prefer ie. artist selected then alphabetical album order with the songs in the album in numerical order.

    Searching is there no way to search within the program itself the Spotlight search option does not seem of much use to me. I usually have my entire collection loaded in a player and an option to add a song to the playlist seems a little redundant in that case as it will already be there plus I see no way to actually play that song found when using that search a double click and the song plays would be nice to have there. On the collection it seems to find ten extra songs than a quick grep of my music directory with a wc -l added onto it finds.

    One more quick item the time of the song you have option of count up and count up plus countdown display options any chance of third option only countdown. Anyways that is all for now in my quick few minutes of playing with it thanks for the effort and making it compatible for us users of older systems, I am on Mavericks it works great.
     
  22. nimapourkarimi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    #24
    sadly it still doesn't work , time doesn't show up!!
     
  23. vivo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    #25

Share This Page