Do you have a PASSCODE?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by EarthNeutron, Jan 20, 2012.

  1. EarthNeutron macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #1
    I do but I wish I didn't cause it just causes me trouble. From errors while syncing with iTunes to wasting time unlocking it.
     
  2. kingdLo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #2
    I don't, but I also know where my phone is at all times. If I'm out somewhere and I think I could be at risk of losing it i'll put one on and turn on find my iphone just in case.
     
  3. Givmeabrek macrumors 68040

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #3
    That's pretty silly. :confused:

    What if you don't think you are at risk and you lose it? :eek:
     
  4. verwon macrumors 68030

    verwon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
  5. Dweez macrumors 65816

    Dweez

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Down by the river
  6. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #6
    Absolutely. There's way too much important information on my phone to not have one. I'm curious, how does having a passcode turned on cause problems when you're syncing your phone?
     
  7. edk99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    FL
    #7
    ALWAYS have a passcode on my phone. I accidentally left my phone on top of my car when I got gas and it fell off when I left the gas station. I did not realize I lost it till 1/2 hr later when I needed to use it. Ended up using a friends phone to call my phone and someone answered it and was kind enough to return it to me. Luckily I got it back but knowing that I had a passcode on it makes it well worth the 2 seconds it takes to unlock it.
     
  8. EarthNeutron thread starter macrumors regular

    EarthNeutron

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Location:
    Earth
    #8
    Well I always get an error that iTunes lost connection to my iPhone, when it's syncing and locked. So I have to unlock it/disable the passcode to sync it wirelessly
     
  9. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone 4: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I do, but have it to lock after 5 minutes so I don't have to be constantly entering it
     
  10. cambookpro macrumors 603

    cambookpro

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    Same. 5 minutes is the sweet spot.
     
  11. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #11
    It causes me trouble to lose a device that has a lot of personal info on it. At least a passcode will delay getting into it hopefully long enough for me to do a remote data wipe.
     
  12. cynics macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #12
    I have mine lock in 15 minutes. My thought is by the time I lose it or it's stolen 15 minutes will have elapsed. And it doesn't bug me when I'm using it.
     
  13. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #13
    Yep, I have one, and I'm also forced to have one. My company requires the use if I want to access the exchange servers for my work email.
     
  14. tigress666 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Washington State
    #14
    Cause you know, people plan on losing their phone or know when they are going to lose it ;).
     
  15. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #15
    Absolutely. I'm not interesting in sharing my data. Feel free to do whatever works for you.
     
  16. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #16
    I have a passcode and have never had to unlock it for it to sync with iTunes.
     
  17. chrisvee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #17
    Non-Simple passcode with 5 minutes before auto-lock here! No problems syncing or anything.
     
  18. Zxxv macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A406 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Only when I leave the house. Set to one minute though instant is safer as if someone gets it they can just keep playing with it if within the minute.
    wish it would auto lock when I leave the house, and stay unlocked when I return home and unlock it. ie be able to set up safe areas using the gps or even better wifi routers.
     
  19. kingdLo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #19
    It's really simple if you think about it. I don't go anywhere without 3 things; my car keys, my wallet, and my phone. 90% of the time if i'm out the phone is in my pocket.
     
  20. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #20
    No passcode here.
    Slide to unlock and that's it. :D
     
  21. rwilliams macrumors 68040

    rwilliams

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    #21
    Same here. We use Google Apps for Education for our work email, and we're forced to have a passcode longer than the standard 4-digit code in order for the mail client to connect to Google's servers. But even before that rule went into effect, I had a 4-digit code, because I keep too much information on this thing for just anyone to have access to.
     
  22. AustinIllini macrumors demi-god

    AustinIllini

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #22
    Same here. I don't necessarily like it, but I'm getting over it.

    ----------

    what about that other 10%?! :)
     
  23. haleigh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #23
    i do! i have the auto-lock set for 2 minutes though, it's easier for when i'm texting someone :)
     
  24. MrKennedy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    #24
    I don't have one set. It's beyond annoying having to type those 4 digits every time I want to use my iPhone.

    I get that I'm taking the risk of having my personal data compromised if my phone is stolen, but I've always been very good about keeping my personal effects close by.
     
  25. nutmac macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    #25
    I use it for 2 reasons:
    1. My company's Exchange server forces 1-hour (or less) passcode.
    2. Find My Friends. Without passcode, Find My Friends app requires iCloud password entry after short period of inactivity. Not so with passcode.
    My only quibble with passcode is slide to unlock. If you have a passcode set and your device is in a lockdown, it shouldn't require slide to unlock gesture.
     

Share This Page