Does Apple Still Run Diagnostics before AppleCare Purchase?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Nintendo64, Mar 23, 2018.

  1. Nintendo64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #1
    I purchased AppleCare+ on Apple's website for my MacBook and iMac just a few days short of the 60 day time limit. After purchasing I realized Apple hadn't run any remote diagnosis on either of my Macs. Is this normal? I thought this was a requirement before being allowed to purchase.
     
  2. Endorphine88 macrumors 6502

    Endorphine88

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #2
    From my experience they don't always do it. I had to run the diagnostics myself when I was purchasing AppleCare online for my iPad recently, but I went into a store yesterday to buy it for my watch and they didn't check the watch at all.
     
  3. Nintendo64 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    #3
    Awesome, thanks :)
     
  4. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #4
    For macs you actually have a year to add AppleCare. For iOS devices it's 60 days
     
  5. Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
  6. Truefan31 macrumors 68040

    Truefan31

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    #6

Share This Page