Frequently Asked Questions About NVIDIA PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Asgorath, Sep 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4001
    Especially since that OS has been out of beta for more than a year. You should update to the latest official version of Sierra ASAP, as you're missing a ton of updates (including security updates) if you're still on a beta version of 10.12.
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4002
    ^^^^Not really. Looks like the Security Beta listed was released on 10/10/17. So if you're a Beta site OK to install. However, if you have a Maxwell or Pascal Card, NOT OK to install.

    Lou
     
  3. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4003
    Oh never mind, I thought you said he was running the Sierra beta, not a beta security update for the most recent version of Sierra. Yeah, NVIDIA doesn't do driver updates for beta security updates, only when they actually go live.
     
  4. Earl Urley macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    #4005
    Just installed this on a Mac Pro 4,1 with a GTX 770 and HS/SU, seems to be working fine.

    Now just waiting for nVidia to hurry the hell up and update CUDA for High Sierra, both the last version of 8.0 and the first 9.0 don't work for me.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4006
    ^^^^As reported previously, Cuda Driver 8.0.90 is still working for me. But, Nvidia please get the Cuda 9 Driver out:eek:

    Lou
     
  6. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #4007
    Given the supplemental update saga wasted a good 12 hours of my life, I'm keen to avoid doing the same again. If I want to install Windows on a BootCamp partition, will the Windows installer load a driver for my non-EFI graphics card (i.e. I don't have to switch back to my old GTX 680 to install Windows)? Historically, Windows shows boot screens so it seems like a safe assumption that it will load a generic VGA driver for the installation process, but I just want to be sure.
     
  7. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #4008
    Thanks Lou,
    I was minutes away from putting R9 280X back in when i found your post. CUDA 8.0.90 works in 10.13 for me too.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 18, 2017 ---
    Yes, Windows will load VGA drivers so you can go through installation process. If you're installing from Bootcamp Assistant or from DVD you don't need EFI card at all. In first case Bootcamp Assistant will select CD as Statrup Disk, and in second case just hold C and Mac will boot from DVD.
     
  8. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #4009
    Thanks for confirming!
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
  10. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #4011
    Some new and impressive (especially nMP) eGPU results here. These results are with High Sierra, and the new CUDA driver.
     
  11. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #4012
    Anybody else get a prompt to update to 378.10.10.10.15.120? I ran the update and it stuck me in a boot loop. Once I deleted the startup kext it booted fine but the nVidia pref pane told me the driver was incompatible. This is on High Sierra with the supplemental update.
     
  12. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4013
    ^^^^No, I don't get an update prompt. But, I did notice this morning that Nvidia's web site has rolled the Web Driver back to 378.10.10.10.15.117. I don't know why they did this???? I'm planning on leaving the .120 Web Driver installed for now.

    http://www.nvidia.com/download/driverResults.aspx/125512/en-us

    Lou
     
  13. Theophany, Oct 21, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2017

    Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #4014
    At this point I'm considering rolling back to Sierra as every single nVidia driver so far has trashed my system.

    Even rolling back to 117 I can't get it working. I can remote in to the desktop or I can fudge into Windows, but this is broken as hell.

    Edit: I did a total driver wipe and reinstalled .117 through a screen share and I'm back online now but the nVidia driver prefs pane is still pestering me to update to .120, which I am not doing. Part of what seemed to have caused the boot loop issue was the fudge I was using to reset the boot parameters to get out of BootCamp and back into MacOS by doing a PRAM reset (unflashed 980Ti, so no boot screens).
     
  14. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4015
    The 120 driver page is here:

    https://www.geforce.com/drivers/results/125874

    Not sure why you think they rolled it back? Both versions are still available for download, as expected.
     
  15. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4016
    ^^^^Because they did - But, seems it's been changed back again.

    Lou
     
  16. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #4017
    Anybody else noticing that a PRAM zap on .117 causes a boot loop? Means you have to delete the NVWebStartup kext, remote in to the desktop, uninstall the web drivers and reinstall to get a display back.
     
  17. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4018
    There's been an ongoing issue with the stock Apple drivers panicking if you have a Maxwell or newer card installed. You need to disable acceleration using the nv_disable=1 NVRAM variable, per FAQ #24 in the OP.
     
  18. juaganmu macrumors newbie

    juaganmu

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2017
    #4019
    It's the same for me. Tried with the driver 378.10.10.10.15.117 and 378.10.10.10.15.120 with no success. SIP enabled. In "About this mac", NVDAStartup and NVDAStartupWeb extensions appears as not loaded. Any ideas?
     
  19. Theophany macrumors 6502a

    Theophany

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Location:
    NW London.
    #4020
    But won't a NVRAM/PRAM reset undo that variable and leave me in the boot loop?
     
  20. Asgorath, Oct 23, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2017

    Asgorath thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #4021
    Yes. You'll have to find some way to set that variable. This is why everyone recommends having some kind of EFI card around so that you can swap it in if you ever get into this situation.

    Edit: For reference, I had thought that panic issue was fixed in Sierra, but there's some kind of new issue (possibly related) in High Sierra. Yes, it sucks, and hopefully NVIDIA will fix it soon. Deleting NVDAStartupWeb.kext is considered the best workaround for now.
     
  21. Synchro3 macrumors 68000

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #4022
  22. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4024
    Wow - That's the third Web Driver for that build??? Thanks for the link.

    Lou
     
  23. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #4025
    It's great to see Nvidia actively trying to improve the web drivers. This should put to rest the conspiracy theories that Nvidia has a skeletal staff working on Mac drivers and that they don't care about Macs at all.
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page