Frequently Asked Questions About NVIDIA PC (non-EFI) Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Asgorath, Sep 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.
  1. StoneJack, Jul 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2015

    StoneJack macrumors 65816

    StoneJack

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #2251

    its a P8P67 Asus main board, 10.10.1 and 10.10.4. Web drivers were new. Asus GTX 750 2 GB GDDR5.
    If I boot with nvda_drv=1 then either stuck on apple boot or signal lost. I don't have onboard graphics.
     
  2. StoneJack macrumors 65816

    StoneJack

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #2252
    thanks for answers!
    Choosing MacPro 3.1, installing latest Webdrivers somehow made it work, don't ask me why and how :) Enjoying for the moment
     
  3. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #2253
    StoneJack,
    Would you please list, from start to finish, the steps you took to successfully update from 10.10.3 to 10.10.4 with the GTX 750 installed?
     
  4. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #2254
    For future reference, you probably want to go to one of the various Hackintosh forums for help with this.
     
  5. StoneJack macrumors 65816

    StoneJack

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #2255
    I had to reinstall Yosemite;
    boot with nv_disable=1
    never installed any CUDA drivers as I thought they were useless
    first updated the Yosemite to 10.10.3, tried the web drivers, no go.
    then updated to 10.10.4, installed the new web drivers 346.01.03f01
    rebooted with web drivers nvda_drv=1
    was on official drivers; but had the control panel in menu bar;
    from there I chose again web drivers and rebooted and it was it.
    it was native supported.

    I did it while I had installed GTX750Ti, I got one GTX750 1Gb exchanged for GTX750Ti OC 2Gb.
    I didn't test with GTX 750; that card will go to Windows PC.
     
  6. StoneJack macrumors 65816

    StoneJack

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #2256
    Your suggestion: "You do realize that nv_disable=1 means you're running with software rendering, right? It's expected that this will be very slow, but the whole point is that it'll let you boot the machine and install the latest web drivers. Once you've installed the web drivers for the OS, you can switch from nv_disable=1 to nvda_drv=1 to enable the web drivers and get full acceleration." was a key to success. Thanks!
     
  7. Studio K, Jul 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2015

    Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #2257
    Thanks for your reply.

    So, to boot to the desktop with the Maxwell GPU installed, you entered the nv_disable=1 boot flag?

    I've got a GTX 750 to install, and I want to be sure I understand the procedure for updating to 10.10.4. That means knowing how to reach the desktop after the update so that the web drivers can be installed.
     
  8. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #2258
    Perhaps you should read the OP, because this is explained in #24:

    24) I have a newer card that isn't supported by the Apple drivers, how do I install the web drivers that enable it if I can't even boot?
     
  9. StoneJack macrumors 65816

    StoneJack

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    #2259

    Basically, yes. Definition is MacPro 3.1
     
  10. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
  11. m4v3r1ck, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2261
    Hi MacVidCards!

    Any updates on your Quest to find a reliable partner in the EU for us to buy your Flashed NVidia Cards? I really do need a GPU power-upgrade & to free up a PCI slot in my cMP 5.1 (2012).

    TIA & Cheers
     
  12. Upgrader macrumors regular

    Upgrader

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #2262
    This would be good to know. The import charge pushes an MVC card out of my reach here in the UK.

    Unless any trustworthy US based forum regulars want to help me with a purchase and ship it across as a gift, I'm screwed. (I'd provide all costs up front obviously! :))
     
  13. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan, Jul 12, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2015

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #2263
    To save import charges you have it shipped as a 'used gift from a friend'

    Right now my concern is El Capitan drivers before considering my next upgrade. I want to be optimist and think that if drivers are not comin Nvidia would have told us already so that people would not be buying the official Mac edition cards they licensed
     
  14. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2264
    Our Duty & Customs rules here in The Netherlands are very tight and will not be easily fooled. I just want a ligit solution for buying a card from MacVidCards with no hassle.

    Cheers
     
  15. mwhybark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    #2265
    Hi, thought it might be beneficial to share experiences slotting a GTX 960 in a Mac Pro 4,1 late '09.

    First, as well-documented here, I had to install Yosemite to get any video out on the 960. Vanilla Yosemite provided video out even prior to installing the Nvidia web drivers, but not at my monitors' optimum resolution. I don't recall what the available resolutions were but they were all higher than the 3x 1080p I wanted; the video was scaled and usable if ugly. With the web drivers installed, 1080p was available. I have not tried installing the web drivers on the extant Mavericks boot volume and do not expect that to succeed but intend to try it for the sake of completeness.

    Using Bootcamp to install a Win 7 boot volume has also succeeded, although the process was hairy and took several days of troubleshooting to master. I went through two complete clean installs of Windows before I could get the Nvidia installer to successfully implement the current drivers for the 960. I was able to get the correct drivers (.5330) for the 960 both by using Windows Update and by using the Nvidia installer in the end.

    However, there are some major issues that remain unresolved.

    First, the stock GT 120 (or GT 9500, the OEM EFI card), *must* be removed prior to booting into Windows or Device Manager will become confused and direct video out ONLY the GT 120. Disabling and/or uninstalling either card in Device Manager does not affect this; Device Manager can report either card as active and the other as disabled and the only video out is the 120. On reboot, one of the two cards will be reported as functioning normally while the other is yellow-triangle halted with, I believe, Code 43. It does not matter which card is shown flagged, there will only be video out from the 120. The only way I have noted to get video out of the 960 is to unseat the 120, which makes booting back and forth between Mac and Windows less than convenient.

    Second, the Bootcamp / Win 7 audio issue which is customarily resolved by reinstalling the Realtek drivers under Windows does not successfully restore normal audio operability. I have been able to implement an audio solution by plugging in an external USB audio in/out module. This is actually an acceptable long-term solution for me even though it's inelegant.

    Hope this helps others running similar configuration experiments.
     
  16. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #2266
    I can't speak for Win 7 but on 8.1 the Windows issue is easily prevented by not allowing Windows Update to install any Nvidia driver for the GT120. If you allow it to do that it will install an older Nvidia package with 9400/9500 driver that is not compatible with the GTX 980. Your older card will be enabled but the newer card will be disabled. You have to keep an eye always that Windows Update doesn't install it in the future. The GT120 must run only on the generic Microsoft driver.
     
  17. mwhybark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    #2267
    SoyC, that sounds like a worthwhile experiment. There were definitely some versionitis issues happening with both cards slotted (one would get .533x and the other would get .4xxx, then vice versa, and so forth). WU, interestingly, was actually more reliably delivering .533x than the Nvidia installer. I suppose probably that means that the Nvidia package was trying to limit the driver to a best-fit option for both and fighting with Windows Update.

    Running Bootcamp repair off the thumb drive was also restoring the 120 to a reported status as a 9500, presumably also an older driver.
     
  18. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #2268
    How do you discover beta drivers? When I use Nvidia's site it doesn't show any beta drivers even if I choose the option to see them.
     
  19. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2269
    @flowrider is our beta driver watchdog! ;-) (THNX!)

    He allways posts the links here.

    Cheers
     
  20. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #2270
    MVC can ship it to my Army mailbox then I can ship it from my German address to the UK. That makes it US to US and EU to EU
     
  21. Upgrader macrumors regular

    Upgrader

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    #2271
    Great idea and thank you for the kind offer!

    I’ve been doing a lot of forum reading over the weekend though and I’ve reached the conclusion that an unflashed card will be fine for me. It connects at PCIe 2.0 speeds via the web drivers and I can leave my GT120 in slot 3 if I ever need to boot to the recovery partition. I don’t use bootcamp/Windows and as far as I can tell, openCL and Cuda all work fine. So there’s no point in me paying the extra £230 just to see an Apple logo, which is essentially what I’d be paying for.
    Unless anyone can point out something I’m missing, I’m going unflashed with a GTX980Ti.
     
  22. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #2272
    That's what I'd do also.
     
  23. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #2273
    Think Different! ;)

    Cheers
     
  24. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Location:
    Geneva
    #2274
    Please guys share how to do this. I want to sort out this El Capitan situation or at least hear some kind of official word about it
     
  25. Asgorath thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    #2275
    There are no El Capitan drivers from NVIDIA yet, beta or otherwise. Last time, NVIDIA made available drivers for the Yosemite Developer Preview and Public Beta builds, but we haven't seen those appear for El Cap yet.

    Edit: And to be clear, I wouldn't call these "officially supported" anyway -- they weren't on the website, and they had a beta version number (e.g. b01 instead of f01).
     
Thread Status:
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

Share This Page