High Sierra on cMP (4,1 flashed to 5,1)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by LightBulbFun, Jun 5, 2017.

  1. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #126
    I had no trouble at all. firmware update and High Sierra install both ran flawless...
     
  2. Squuiid macrumors 65816

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #127
    I think there is something else at play here, specific to your cMP.
    I had no issues whatsoever installing it on my 2009, nor did many others.
     
  3. suderman macrumors newbie

    suderman

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    #128
    Count me in as another 2009 Mac Pro user who upgraded to High Sierra successfully.
     
  4. s.m.t. macrumors regular

    s.m.t.

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #129
    I was able to upgrade as well... 4,1 flashed to 5,1 using a macvideocards flashed 980Ti

    I do see a block of text at the boot screen which appears to include something about APFS, it goes by really quick
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #130
    ^^^^You aren't the only one to see that block of text:oops:

    Lou
     
  6. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #131
    Upgrade went smooth for me, took out my rx 460 and left my gt 120 in for the update. Only thing i notice is boot up time is much slower then before. My specs are base quad 2.66ghz flashed to 5,1 48GB of DDR3 ram, usb 3.1 card, gt 120 and rx 460 4gb. Other then the odd slow boot the mac performs perfectly. My SSD os drive (only drive in it currently) is connected to the system via pcie for max speed.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #132
    I will say the overall boot time is more or less the same, however, the boot sequence is not.

    In 10.12.6, with a non flashed card, the loading bar shows up shortly after POST. And clearly can see it takes 1-2 seconds more to finish menu bar / icons loading after boot to desktop. But with 10.13, I never see the loading bar, black screen during loading, and once I can see the screen, it reach the desktop in 1-2 second, and everything is loaded.

    I didn't use a timer to time if there is any difference. But can the "whole process" (from press power button to all items completely load) cost more or less the same time.
     
  8. s.m.t. macrumors regular

    s.m.t.

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #133
    Managed to snap a pick...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. karsten macrumors 6502a

    karsten

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #134
    Unfortunately RAID must not be implemented yet for APFS it wouldnt let me format a RAID-0 as APFS, and refused to install on a HFS raid >< . at least the 1050 Ti is working well with the nvidia drivers
     
  10. Horselover Fat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #135
    Successfully updated my MacPro (4,1->5,1, GTX 680) from El Cap to HS yesterday. No worries so far.
     
  11. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #136
    Is your GTX680 flashed or the Mac Edition card?
    --- Post Merged, Sep 28, 2017 ---
    I have the exact same card (flashed), so I think I'll use a Nvidia 8800GT Mac Edition card (I have laying around thankfully) when I try the High Sierra installation. I'm glad I saw your post, thanks.

    I may be wrong but it's starting to seem that not all cards were flashed the same way, and some are failing to allow the firmware update for High Sierra. So if an OEM Mac Edition card is on hand, best to use it. Better safe than sorry.
     
  12. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #137
    No "brick report" so far (I mean firmware level, not OS installation fail), no need to worry too much.

    At beta stage, clearly all Mac EFI GPU can perform the firmware upgrade without issue. Only the official one has problem now (that's why I recommended all cMP users upgrade their firmware ASAP at the beta stage). Apple may actually insert more artificial limitation for this official release firmware update, how knows?

    Anyway, if you want to make the firmware upgrade more "smooth", better disable SIP, use stock Apple GPU, boot from one of the internal SATA port, and run the installer from there. All these "procedures" are NOT mandatory, but just lower the chance of having trouble.
     
  13. Horselover Fat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Location:
    Germany
    #138
    I flashed the card myself. It was a standard EVGA GTX 680 PC card.
     
  14. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #139
    I have an unflashed Geforce 980 in slot 1 and a Geforce 120 in slot 2. If I connect only the 120 to a display, will the HS firmware update succeed? Or do I have to remove the 980?
    Currently this Mac had only a Tempo Pci-card from OWC with a Samsung EVO 850 and a Neptune OWC SSD in bay 2.
    Could this be a problem? I hear that OWC Aura is not compatible.
    I will buy a Kingston Predator in the future.
     
  15. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #140
    My 4,1 -> 5,1 worked fine, first try, no issues.

    Boots from Kingston PCIe SSD, USB 3.1 and 10G card did work fine as in beta, primary 270X flashed for the upgrade, secondary RX480 both working fine after. Now swapping in a flashed 1070 again plus probably another 1070 or the 480.
     
  16. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #141
    Told you before, that is a MUCH better solution than OWC
     
  17. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #142
    Honestly, I would remove just to eliminate all possibility for the installation failing due to the "unsupported" 980
     
  18. flehman macrumors 6502

    flehman

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    #143
    I am seeing that block of text as well on a 4,1->5,1 with a MVC-flashed 980. Did some googling to no avail. Ran disk first aid, no change. It appears if I boot from the HS drive, or if I hold Option/boot or boot into recovery mode.

    WARNING: I attempted to zap PRAM and the machine got stuck in a boot loop when attempting to boot from that drive, even in safe mode. I reformatted the drive (EVO 950) back to Extended instead of APFS and am rolling back to 10.12.6 for the time being. The text was gone when I booted from the 10.12.6 backup.
     
  19. Celeste.ch, Sep 28, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017

    Celeste.ch macrumors newbie

    Celeste.ch

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2017
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #144
    Seeing the same text snippets here on boot and right before the apple appears... had the same with 10.12 once running filevault (different text)... anyone knows more?
     
  20. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #145
    Am I seeing things or is sierra much quicker in response? I really never took much notice before so I might be imagining it.
     
  21. devon807 macrumors 6502

    devon807

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Location:
    Virginia
    #146
    I've noticed this as well. Also, HS uses up a little more VRAM shown in iStat menus.
     
  22. William Payne macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Location:
    Wanganui, New Zealand.
    #147
    High sierra I meant to say, things seem to happy just that little bit more quickly. I notice it easily in safari.
     
  23. s.m.t., Sep 29, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2017

    s.m.t. macrumors regular

    s.m.t.

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #148
    anyone have issues getting iMessage to activate after the upgrade?

    My console errors during login attempt...

    Code:
    fault    17:41:29.097024 -0400    opendirectoryd    Authentication failed for <private> with ODErrorCredentialsInvalid
    error    17:41:29.908157 -0400    akd    Server auth response did not contain CK.
    error    17:41:29.908192 -0400    akd    Server auth response did not contain PRK.
    error    17:41:30.320255 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:30.335088 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:30.348789 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:30.493706 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    fault    17:41:30.668135 -0400    opendirectoryd    Authentication failed for <private> with ODErrorCredentialsInvalid
    error    17:41:31.464367 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:31.478338 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:31.530073 -0400    WindowServer    [ERROR] - Unknown CGXDisplayDevice: 0x41dc9d00
    error    17:41:31.753576 -0400    accountsd    "<private> is trying to verify account credentials for account: <private>"
    fault    17:41:31.774169 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:31.774356 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-client-cert-access' for <private>
    error    17:41:32.080182 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:32.096211 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:32.115449 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:33.477361 -0400    accountsd    [AOSAccounts] : -[MMDelegatePluginManager invokeDelegatesWithAuthenticationResponse:account:accountStore:withDispatchGroup:context:completion:]_block_invoke : Queuing plugin com.apple.private.ids for async execution on queue: <OS_dispatch_queue: com.apple.delegatePluginManager.com.apple.private.ids>
    fault    17:41:33.478748 -0400    accountsd    Unhandled server key: alert
    error    17:41:33.493044 -0400    accountsd    [AOSAccounts] : -[MMDelegatePluginManager invokeDelegatesWithAuthenticationResponse:account:accountStore:withDispatchGroup:context:completion:]_block_invoke : com.apple.private.ids setup: completed (0.016 seconds)
    error    17:41:33.643304 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:33.657622 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:33.676533 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    fault    17:41:34.538044 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:34.539177 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-connection-initiate' for <private>
    fault    17:41:34.540210 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:34.541329 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-connection-initiate' for <private>
    fault    17:41:34.542467 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:34.543575 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-connection-initiate' for <private>
    fault    17:41:39.383390 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:39.384510 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-connection-initiate' for <private>
    fault    17:41:39.385564 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:39.386683 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-connection-initiate' for <private>
    fault    17:41:40.598764 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:40.600557 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-connection-initiate' for <private>
    fault    17:41:40.602980 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.secure-apsclient' for <private>
    fault    17:41:40.604665 -0400    apsd    Failed entitlement check 'com.apple.private.aps-connection-initiate' for <private>
    fault    17:41:40.615634 -0400    identityservicesd    Registration failed for <private>   (Error: 36)
    fault    17:41:40.618231 -0400    identityservicesd    Failed, denied by server => Disabling service
    fault    17:41:40.618284 -0400    identityservicesd    Server denied registration
    fault    17:41:40.619161 -0400    identityservicesd    Needs deletion: NO (<private>)
    error    17:41:40.732009 -0400    Messages    Account registration failed (<private>). Failure reason: 24
    error    17:41:40.952973 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:41.183685 -0400    sharingd    Remote LTK list is empty (remote ltks (null), list (null))
    error    17:41:41.194378 -0400    sharingd    Remote LTK list is empty (remote ltks (null), list (null))
    error    17:41:41.212777 -0400    sharingd    Remote LTK list is empty (remote ltks (null), list (null))
    fault    17:41:41.307855 -0400    opendirectoryd    Authentication failed for <private> with ODErrorCredentialsInvalid
    error    17:41:41.332383 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:41.332458 -0400    Messages    account registration failed, deactivating (<private>)
    error    17:41:41.346874 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:41.360855 -0400    mds    ====^^^^ QUERY CLIENT _showAllExtensions:0
    error    17:41:42.976732 -0400    symptomsd    No report format passed in event EventDescription sb at 0x7ffac5c1d470 from pid 514 Core Sync SYMPTOM 0x6767001  flags 0x0 qual0 0x0 qual1 0x0 key 421889 additional quals {
    }
    
     
  24. JedNZ macrumors 6502

    JedNZ

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Deep South
    #149
    I too had no problems upgrading my other cMP (2009 4,1>5,1 Hexa-core 3.33GHz, 16GB Ram, Apple ATI Radeon HD 4870, Samsung 850 EVO plus other HD spinners) to HS 10.13. Less than 30mins including the firmware upgrade - only use it as a media server anyway, so didn't have many apps or User data. Will wait to upgrade my primary cMP (see my sig) when 10.13.1 comes out and/or if I get answers to this post which asks about my NVMe blade that's in a Fusion Drive with a HD spinner etc.
     
  25. fabriciom macrumors 6502

    fabriciom

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid, España
    #150
    Can I upgrade my 2009 with 2 ssd drives in a Sonnet Tempo SSD card at raid0 using APFS?
     

Share This Page