Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

longthizzz

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 1, 2011
just got my mbp and i have been read mix things about shutting down the mac

i went to the apple store m and they said i should shut it down while others say they never shut it down since they brought it

idk im a newbie mac user

glenthompson

macrumors demi-god
Apr 27, 2011
Virginia
When at home and docked I leave it on all the time. When traveling I usually turn it off unless I'm going to be using it again within a day. This is change from before I had a SSD as the startup and shutdown time was too large. Since it now boots in 15 seconds I turn it off.

simonsi

Contributor
Jan 3, 2014
Auckland

i went to the apple store m and they said i should shut it down while others say they never shut it down since they brought it

idk im a newbie mac user

Those response plus those here probably indicate it doesn't really matter....I tend to shut mine down only when it needs it, i.e. a sw install/update or I suspect an issue.

Scott7975

macrumors 6502
Oct 18, 2013
I bought mine in October. I have not shut it off yet except for the quick shut downs during updates, or reboots to swap between win 7 and osx. It stays in standbye when not in use.

longthizzz

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 1, 2011
I bought mine in October. I have not shut it off yet except for the quick shut downs during updates, or reboots to swap between win 7 and osx. It stays in standbye when not in use.
yah that what i was planning on doing for mines

does anyone see a downside on it

applehead12

macrumors member
Nov 2, 2013
Only when needed. Which usually means it stays on or in standby mode for 90+ days at a time.

Jnesbitt82

macrumors 6502
Oct 21, 2013
Ohio