How to remove DRM from .wma files?

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by admbmb, Nov 26, 2017.

  1. admbmb macrumors newbie

    admbmb

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    #1
    Hello,

    About 15 years ago I recorded a bunch of songs with an old band of mine. I still have the files, but they are .wma format. The problem is that at some point, Microsoft put DRM protection on these files, even though they're my own songs. Now I'm trying to convert them because they're the only copies of these songs to exist, and I'd really like to have them in a modern format so I can go down memory lane every now and again.

    I have been hunting for a way to get rid of the DRM protection so that I can convert these to a modern format, but I can't find anything of use. Does anybody have any advice on how I can do this? Thank you.
     
  2. Jjayf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #2
    Why and how on earth would Microsoft put DRM on media files you own?

    Anyway. There are lots of DRM removal tools available on the interwebs.
     
  3. admbmb thread starter macrumors newbie

    admbmb

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    #3
    So I've used a substantial amount of Google-fu and haven't been able to find software that works. I've tried at least 3 options but they didn't work. Do you know of something that works? Thanks

    Edit: And for the first question, I have absolutely no idea. I only discovered this recently.
     
  4. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
  5. admbmb thread starter macrumors newbie

    admbmb

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    #5
    Because when I try to use a converter to turn the .wma into an mp3 or other modern file format, the converters always say they can't convert because of DRM protection.
     
  6. Jjayf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #6
    Browse these. Specifically the wma to mp3 converter and drm remover.

    https://www.aimersoft.com/itunes-drm/wma-drm-removal-freeware.html
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I can only guess at the reasons (requests from the music industry?) but there was definitely a period where Windows Media Player would add DRM by default. The "15 years ago" timeframe given by the OP sounds about right.
     
  8. Jjayf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #8
    I do remember having issues ripping some CDs back in the day. I always thought that was a function of the CD coding itself. Huh. Damn you Microsoft.
     
  9. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9
    Windows user for 30-years and don't recall anything like that at all.
    Regardless -- why is discussion of violating Microsoft's TOS allowed when all discussion of violating Apple's TOS gets shot down?
     
  10. Jjayf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    #10
    Because these files are (supposedly) owned and created by OP, and some bloated nanny state megacorp has decided to restrict his rights to his own property for the crime of paying them money to use their software. And it’s 2017.
     
  11. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    That's just such nasty behavior by software.
     
  12. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #12
    OP:

    Something to try (may or may not work):
    - Download "ALL2mp3" (free)
    - Launch ALL2mp3
    - "Drag n drop" one of the problem wma files into ALL2mp3's window, follow instructions.

    Do you still get a "DRM" error?
     
  13. cuwickliffe macrumors member

    cuwickliffe

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    #13
    If you have the option to burn to CD, just do that and then rip the CD.
     
  14. spcoorlas macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2018
    #14
    Dealing with literally the exact same issue here. Recorded songs with my band. Trying to play old files, but apparently they are all "Protected" files now. Are there retro versions of these media players that would allow the content to play based on year it was created?
     
  15. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #15
    "Recorded songs with my band. Trying to play old files, but apparently they are all "Protected" files now."

    These are .wma files?
    Or... some other format?
    Are they "playable" on the Mac (even if not "copyable")?

    If you can get them to play on the Mac, you could use something like Audio Hijack to "capture" the audio (as it's being played) -- into a "new" file that will be editable...
     
  16. Juliagulia55 macrumors newbie

    Juliagulia55

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2019
    #16
    Heya,

    Did you ever find a solution to this? I’m having exactly the same issue. I’ve tried loads of the free software that says it removes DRM but they don’t actually work. I’m happy to pay for software as long as i’m sure it will work.

    Thanks,

    Julia
     
  17. jagolden macrumors 6502a

    jagolden

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    #17
    Easiest way is to burn the files to an audio disc an then rip them back in.
     
  18. endoped macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2019
    #18
    One of the numerous reasons I absolutely despise microsoft. Same thing happened to me. I recorded some original songs about 15 or so years ago. At some point when I had a windoze box, they were either saved as or converted to .wma where they were automatically drm protected...now I can't even listen to them.
     

Share This Page

17 November 26, 2017