I need serious help NOW

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by adamvk, Jan 16, 2009.

  1. adamvk macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    I freaking hate windows, it broke my MacBook Pro.....

    I was trying to install XP in bootcamp, when it reboot itself. I figured it was done installing. Next thing I know a message comes out saying "Disk Error, Press any key to restart."

    I hit restart, nothing happens.

    I reboot, the same screen comes up

    I hit eject Disk, the disk does not come out..

    Am I screwed? GOD I HATE WINDOWS

    What should I do, is there a way to get the disc out somehow?

    I NEED HELP PLEASE
     
  2. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    have you tried holding the option key as it boots, then selecting OS X?
     
  3. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    Which ones the option key? (This is my first mac and I got it today)
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    The one that says Option on it. It's where Alt used to be.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Holding the mouse button down while it boots will eject the disc, and holding x down during boot will force boot OS X.
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
    It may also say Alt on it
     
  7. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #7
    Thanks guys :)

    Im glad Apple has a way to get around it. I'm not booting back into Leopard. :D

    Now to figure out why Windows didnt install....
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Helpful idea from Forum Rules:
     
  9. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Sorry, I was just upset thinking I may had lost everything on my disk :)
     
  10. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    You left Windows for many reasons. This was one. Now, if you have to have Windows and want security, use a virtualization software like Fusion or Parallels.
     
  11. sehnsucht77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #11
    a program will install incorrectly from time to time, OSX has done it to me as well. wipe the drive clean and reinstall. griping about a product that installs as a result of instructions to be carried out does not ALWAYS happen well 100% of the time because of, say, disk errors which might be due to a bad sector, a defect in the HD writing surface that prevents the software from carrying out its install task. this has nothing to do with the software itself and you could be installing windows, linux, OSX or whatever else and they would all do the exact same thing. dissect your problem to the deeper cause and provide a more exact explanation of your problem so people here can help you better. a vague and unfounded statement where tons of other people have no problem carrying out on their machines ain't gonna produce much material for us to work with...
     
  12. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #12
    Virturalization isnt powerful enough for some things.


    Anyways I'm installing XP again. What option should I do? I'm kinda clueless on this one


    Format using NTFS
    Format using NTFS (Quick)
    Convert to NTFS
    No change (FAT32) (This is what I did the first time)
     
  13. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    FAT32, it's better as you can use your Mac partition to read/write to it. NTFS can only be read by OS X.
     
  14. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    Well, it depends, if you want to write to the windows side from OS X, then pick FAT32, if not, NTFS.
     
  15. sehnsucht77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #15
    backup everything first then you wouldn't have had to worry before trying out something you've never tried on your machine before.
     
  16. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    I would use Format using NTFS, if you have Parallels or Fusion to move files around, if you don't use Fat32 (doesn't work as well) because then OS X can read and write that XP partition (as long as it's less than 32GB.)
     
  17. sehnsucht77 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    #17
    please be aware that OS X can't write to NTFS but can only read it
     
  18. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #18
    But fat32 didn't work the first time.

    Should I do convert to ntfs or format to ntfs?
     
  19. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #19
    Format
     
  20. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #20
    everyone else agree before I try again?

    Btw thanks everyone for your help, you've all been very helpful.
     
  21. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #21
    Yeah, format. convert is only if you have files on that partition that you want moved.
     
  22. adamvk thread starter macrumors 65816

    adamvk

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #22
    Well XP went through the whole installation process, and then a blue screen came up, and the cursor is frozen on it. Do you think its doing something or it just froze?
     
  23. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #23
    Sounds like XP just doesn't want to go onto your computer.
     
  24. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #24
    If the cursor is frozen, I'd say give it 5 min, after that ...
     
  25. MacHappytjg macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Location:
    Winnipeg
    #25
    i really need to read the whole thing instead of quoting in the middle.
     

Share This Page