iCloud Drive lacks a standalone app on iOS 8?

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Cscottrun, Oct 13, 2014.

1. Cscottrun macrumors 6502

How is this even possible? So I can't collectively view all of my files stored in iCloud Drive at once from my phone without going to iCloud.com? If I want to simply browse my files, I'd have to open each app that supports a certain file type, and browse iCloud Drive that way?

Edit: Just some background info...I'm a student, just purchased a retina macbook pro, but decided on the 128gb model. As a result, I plan on using cloud storage for almost everything, especially documents. I've used dropbox for years, as well as one drive (which lags behind dropbox), but since Apple finally implemented true (or so I thought) cloud storage, and because I have an iPad, iPhone 6, Apple Tv, and a Mac, my thought process was to transfer everything over to iCloud drive.

2. macduke macrumors 604

macduke

Yeah, I'm using it in addition to Dropbox until they get it figured out. Apple takes this cloud stuff slowly, so probably don't expect an app until at least iOS 9. They used to have an iDisk app back in the day! But iDisk was slow as balls so it didn't really matter. Even being able to search documents in iCloud Drive from Spotlight would be a huge improvement.

3. Cscottrun thread starter macrumors 6502

How is that even acceptable though? They don't have an app on their own phone for a new service they are touting to compete with other major cloud service providers.

As far as I'm concerned, thats pretty unacceptable.

4. macduke macrumors 604

macduke