iMac 2012 Stuck in Windows Recovery Screen

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Learningtheropes, Jun 10, 2018.

  1. Learningtheropes macrumors newbie

    Learningtheropes

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #1
    Hello, I have an 2012 21.5" iMac which recently had the drive fail. I purchased a new drive on eBay and popped it in the computer, expecting to boot off of an external drive to format the disk and install macOS. Unfortunately, the computer instead booted to the copy of Windows 10 which was installed on the new HDD I had purchased. At this point, the computer stopped showing the apple logo or responding to any normal commands such as holding option on the chime or booting into safe mode etc. I was using a wired keyboard before you ask so the bluetooth connection was not an issue. At that point, I removed the windows disk, wiped it using my MacBook Pro and installed high sierra, the put the disk back into the iMac. Instead of booting to the disk, however, it boots to a Windows recovery screen, which has the code 0xc0000225, which is pertaining to not finding system files for booting. Go figure. Still cannot use any apple commands on boot. Any advice? There doesn't seem to be any real resources online for this.
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
  3. Learningtheropes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Learningtheropes

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #3
    I did try that as well; same result. Im considering using a windows recovery disk to reinstall windows and try to go from there
     
  4. borgranta macrumors 6502

    borgranta

    Joined:
    May 9, 2018
  5. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #5
    Sounds like you still have a Windows partition on the disk. You might try formatting the disk for FAT first ... then immediately reformat it for OS X. That might clear off the offending tracks.

    How did you install High Sierra? Fresh download and install, clone from your MacBook Pro, or network install?
     
  6. Learningtheropes thread starter macrumors newbie

    Learningtheropes

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    #6
    Not likely. I keep a boot disk with a copy of yosemite and when that was installed the results were not different.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 11, 2018 ---
    It might be possible, but highly unlikely that there is a residual partition. I wiped the entire disk using diskutil and installed a fresh copy of high sierra. I haven't fished it out to ensure it hasn't corrupted, but I doubt the disk is the problem. Potentially worth noting is that the computer, while it still chimes on boot, no longer displays an apple logo before booting into windows; I'm wondering if somehow the UEFI is to blame? Any insight would be appreciated.
     

Share This Page