Installing Older OSX Onto High Sierra Partition

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by volTaro, Oct 13, 2018.

  1. volTaro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    #1
    Trying to install OSX 10.5.2(Leopard) from original install discs onto a separate partition. However, no luck as it just reboots to main partition. I'm not sure if there's any other way to get the install disc to run. Anyone know how I can get around this large gap in OS versions?
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    What computer do you have?
     
  3. volTaro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
  4. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    That computer won’t be able to run Leopard whatsoever.
     
  5. volTaro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    #5
    That stinks. Thanks anyway. BTW, how do you know this?
     
  6. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    It’s never been possible to install an operating system on a Mac that predates what came on that particular model Mac originally.
     
  7. volTaro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    #7
    Ahh, the digital age. Where makers can control when their products become obsolete. Thanks again.
     
  8. Funsize93 macrumors regular

    Funsize93

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Look at it this way. Its like restoring iOS 5 on an iPhone XS. No way that will be happening as the iOS 5 software is not compatible with the new advanced hardware inside the device, it wouldnt even know how to use the CPU, Face ID hardware and other new tech etc. Its the exact same when you are trying to install an OS which predates the hardware and tech of your newer iMac. No gonna happen.

    Another analogy excluding the "digital age": Its like trying to install the engine of a Ford Model T inside of a Ford mustang GT......not gonna happen.
     
  9. pippox0 macrumors member

    pippox0

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    #9
    The older OSX you can install is Snow Leopard ..
     
  10. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #10
    A 2.3 GHz i5 iMac is probably a 2017, so even that won’t work if it’s that new.
     
  11. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #11
    Seems to me that you can install a "virtual machine" (such as Parallels, VMWare Fusion, or Virtual Box), and then run older versions of the OS that way... ("within" the virtual machine)

    But you can't BOOT FROM a version of the OS that predates the Mac you're using.
     
  12. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #12
    Yeah, you can install 10.5 or 10.6 in a VM, although only the server version will work in a VM without modification.
     
  13. volTaro, Oct 14, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2018

    volTaro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    #13
    Hey, if that's possible that would rock hard since I have a couple thousand invested in (old)software that works perfectly fine for my needs. Thanks for the info on VM's, BTW.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 14, 2018 ---
    Quick question. Parallels, VMWare Fusion, and Virtual Box seem to be tailored for Windows. Anyone know if I can anticipate running into issues?
     
  14. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #14
    They're not actually. I've got both parallels 13 and VMware 8.5 on my Mac Pro. Both support OS X and Linux guests. Parallels 13 is almost twice as fast as VMware is, but I'm using the new parallels vs the old VMware, I can't run VMware 10 on my CPU.
    Virtualbox is a dog compared to both; but still a great option considering its free. It also supports OS X guests.
    You won't get graphics acceleration with either one with an OS X guest. But it's still usable for basic things.
     
  15. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #15
    OP:

    The "virtual machine" approach IS "your solution" if you really want to do this.
    I would suggest "Snow Leopard Server" (10.6.8) as the software to use.
    You can still buy this from Apple on a DVD, I believe.

    Don't worry about the "server" part.
    You can just turn off the server apps and once that's done it runs the same as "regular" Snow Leopard.

    BTW, I believe you MUST use Snow Leopard Server when running a VM, because the "regular" version WON'T work.
     
  16. volTaro thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2018
    #16
    Thanks, Project Alice. I figured there would be concessions. Better than nothing, though.

    Thanks, for the tip Fishrrman. I'll look into the DVD too. Small price to pay to get my setup back.
     

Share This Page

15 October 13, 2018